AFM Inspections & Engineering, PLLC

HomeAdvisor screened and approved seal

HomeAdvisor Screened & Approved

This service professional has passed the HomeAdvisor screening process.

Learn about our screening process
Learn about our screening process

13 Years In Business

Company Details

  • Verified Licenses

Contact

204 Jericho Turnpike, Suite R
Floral Park, NY 11001
http://afminspections.com

Hours

  • Mon: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
  • Tue: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
  • Wed: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
  • Thu: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
  • Fri: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
  • Sat: Closed
  • Sun: Closed
View All Details & Credentials

Achievements

Service Details

    Areas of Expertise

    • Structural, Architectural and Civil Engineering.
    • Inspections. Structural Evaluations. Exterior Evaluations.
    • Beams, Framing, Water, Foundation, Settlement Problems
    • NYC DOB Filing.
    • Consulting.
    View All Offerings and Cities Served

    Cost Information

    • Credit Cards Accepted

    Ratings

    4.8
    253 Verified Reviews
    • 5
      222
    • 4
      24
    • 3
      3
    • 2
      1
    • 1
      3

    Highly rated for

    • Quality
    • Value
    • Customer Service
    Showing 131-140 of 253 results
    5.0 Lisa T. West Babylon, NY
    8/28/2015

    Tony was professional, knowledgeable and kind. I liked the fact that he was not in a rush, he was very though, and willing to explain any question. I will use his services again! Thank you HomeAdvisor.

    8/27/2015

    Anthony was prompt and courteous. Answered all my questions and even went above and beyond to look at other parts of my home. Thank you. Would recommend to others.

    8/26/2015

    Anthony was prompt, professional, honest and knowledgeable. I would recommend him and use his services again.

    5.0 Jeremy D. Brooklyn, NY
    8/19/2015

    I would use tony again

    5.0 James H. Far Rockaway, NY
    8/18/2015

    Mr. Marmo is a very honest and straight forward person, i would highly recommend his services to anybody needing an structural engineer, he's a true professional.

    8/9/2015

    Because of the serious nature of his findings, we are getting a second opinion before embarking on extensive renovations, so it is impossible yet to say whether his findings were accurate. But he was professional and got us our report in reasonable time for an acceptable fee. No-nonsense which we appreciated.

    5.0 Robert D. Pleasantville, NY
    8/9/2015

    Tony came to my house on time. He was very nice and knowledgeable. Answered all of my questions and put together a timely report outlining all of the changes that had to be made to my kitchen to keep it from sagging.

    5.0 Ross T. Albertson, NY
    7/21/2015

    Anthony was excellent. He was very responsive and very professional. He was honest in the work that needed to be done and went out of his way to accommodate my every need. Anthony worked closely with my contractor and came back several times(I am local) to inspect and made sure the work that he recommended was done properly and professionally. I would highly recommend using Anthony and would use him again.

    7/18/2015

    I wanted Anthony to do a structural analysis and report on settlement that had occurred in my garage. The settlement had been in place when I bought the house six years ago, and had not gotten worse, but I wanted to know if this was a symptom of a more serious problem and what remedial options were available to me. Over the phone, I described the situation to Anthony and asked him what his service fee would be. He said $450. He also said that in addition to looking at the garage floor he would want to look at the basement to see if there were any other settlement areas to be concerned about. I asked if this would be included in the $450 fee and he said it would. He agreed to come out the following day. Anthony arrived on time and was professional and thorough, taking photographs and measurements with an electronic laser measure. He described possible reasons for the settlement and the options I could choose for getting the garage floor flat again. He examined the basement and confirmed there were no further settlement issues and the problem was confined to the garage area. He said he would email me his written report within a few days. Time taken: 30-45 minutes. When we were finished I said I would give him a check now for his fee of $450 as stated on the phone the previous day. He replied that the fee was $550 and that he had it written down on his notes. I replied that I had it written down in my notes too and it was $450. Anthony's response was that he could not charge $450 for a location "this far out" and he was sorry if I had misunderstood what was said. He would split the difference with me and charge me only $500! This struck me as very unprofessional way of establishing a fee and my "far out" location is well within the defined service area described on Home Advisor so I would not expect to pay a location premium for being in the defined service area. I reluctantly wrote a check for $500. About an hour after he left I went into the garage and noticed that he had left behind his electronic laser measure, something I was sure he would want back quickly. I emailed him to ask how he would like to retrieve the measure. He asked me to wrap up the laser measure in bubble wrap and mail it back to him, and he would reimburse me for the postage. He obviously did not want the inconvenience of coming back to my house to pick up his measure, but did not mind putting me to further inconvenience to solve his problem. I found packing materials, carefully wrapped the laser to avoid damage, drove to the post office , stood in line and mailed the laser back to Anthony. I then emailed Anthony confirming the laser was on its way back to him and attached a copy of the USPS receipt and tracking info. About an hour out of my day doing all of this. A few days later I received Anthony's written report on his analysis and solutions by email. He attached a note confirming he had received the laser measure safely and he would send me a check fo

    Response from Company:

    I am fair and treat all my clients professionally, and equally. I do not understand why Homeowner in Huntington thought my fee was $450; perhaps a poor cellular connection, or other audio related defect. It is unfortunate Homeowner in Huntington feels that he has been slighted $50, when I feel I was slighted $50. I appreciate the effort by Homeowner in Huntington to return my laser expeditiously. Thank you. And I apologize for not sending you $6 bucks. As a small business, solely owned and operated by myself, I simply forgot to send the 6 bucks. I've been busy providing my professional service, maintaining satisfied clients.

    6/25/2015

    Structural Engineer said he'd send me quick write up email, never happened. He charged $350. Said I was getting bargain. Showed up went into atic. 3 minutes. Came down said I need 2 support headers to take down 2 walls and left.

    Response from Company:

    It was nothing I did, or didn't do. Some people are cheap and want more for their service than they're willing to pay. Some people think professionals work for free, or they can tell other people/professionals how much they should charge for their service. Some people are critical, and some think they know more than everyone else. Some people are jealous of other peoples talents and the services they provide. Some people are never satisfied and they are just miserable people who try to make other people miserable,too, because they're not satisfied with themselves. Some people have all these traits, like the Homeowner in Staten Island. AFM.

    Photos

    AFM Inspections & Engineering, PLLC
    INSPECTION: Garage Roof
    INSPECTION: Fire Damage
    DESIGN: Commercial
    DESIGN: Garage Framing
    DESIGN: Retaining Wall
    2
    DESIGN:Adelphi University
    Beam Installation
    5
    Inspections and Engineering 7
    12
    Inspections and Engineering 4
    12
    Inspections and Engineering 2
    12
    Inspections and Engineering 5
    12
    Inspections and Engineering 6
    12
    Inspections and Engineering 3
    12
    Inspections and Engineering

    HomeAdvisor allows Service Professionals to post information about themselves and their business on their profile. HomeAdvisor does not review or verify the information representations set forth in those profiles as they are self-reported by the Service Professional.

    HomeAdvisor verifies state-level licensing where applicable - note: some states require local or county level licensing and you should verify whether or not your pro is properly licensed.
    To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Licensing Requirements page.

    Seal of Approval

    What is the screening process that Service Professionals go through in order to become members of the HomeAdvisor network?

    1. Verify Trade License
      HomeAdvisor checks to see if the business carries the appropriate state-level license.
    2. Verify Insurance
      As a part of our screening process, we encourage professionals to carry general liability insurance. We require coverage for hundreds of services.
    3. Verification of State Business Filings
      For business types that require a Secretary of State filing, we confirm that the business is in good standing in the state in which it is located.
    4. Criminal Records Search
      HomeAdvisor uses 3rd party data sources to conduct a criminal search for any relevant criminal activity associated with the owner/principal of the business.
    5. Sex Offender Search
      We confirm that the owner/principal is not listed on the official state Sex Offender web site in the state in which the owner/principal of the company is located.
    6. Bankruptcy Search
      We use 3rd party data sources to check the history of the principal/owner of the business for bankruptcy filings by or against them.
    7. Legal Search for Civil Judgments
      We use 3rd party data sources to check the principal/owner of the business for state level civil legal judgments entered against them.
    8. Liens Search
      We use 3rd party data sources to check the principal/owner of the business for liens placed against them.
    9. Identity Verification (SSN)
      HomeAdvisor verifies the social security number(s) of the owner/principal for identity check purposes. This check applies primarily to smaller business entities.
    10. Identity Verification (Reverse Phone Lookup)
      We conduct a reverse business phone lookup to identify records matching the phone number information provided by the business.



    NOTE: Member service professional information confirmed as described above may change or expire over time; while HomeAdvisor attempts to maintain accurate and up-to-date information, and confirms changes when notified, we cannot guarantee that profile and screening information is accurate. Therefore, we recommend that before working with a service professional you verify that information presented is still current and/or acceptable to you.
    Please see HomeAdvisor's Terms and Conditions for a full description of how we screen Service Professionals

    **Only for U.S. service professionals

    Final Step - Confirm Your Appointment:

    Confirm your appointment with on , - Change


    Required
    Required
    Required
    Required
     
     
     

    By clicking Confirm Appointment, you affirm you have read and agree to the HomeAdvisor Terms & Conditions, and you agree and authorize HomeAdvisor and its affiliates, and their networks of Service Professionals, to deliver marketing calls or texts using automated technology to the number you provided above regarding your project and other home services offers. Consent is not a condition of purchase.