Balboa & Sons Handyman Service - Unlicensed Contractor

HomeAdvisor screened and approved seal

HomeAdvisor Screened & Approved

This service professional has passed the HomeAdvisor screening process.

Learn about our screening process
Learn about our screening process

90% Recommended

21 Years In Business

Company Details

  • Bilingual


239 North Lazard Street
San Fernando, CA 91340


  • Mon: Open 24 Hours
  • Tue: Open 24 Hours
  • Wed: Open 24 Hours
  • Thu: Open 24 Hours
  • Fri: Open 24 Hours
  • Sat: Open 24 Hours
  • Sun: Open 24 Hours
View All Details & Credentials


Service Details

  • Residential Work
  • Commercial Work
  • Small Jobs Welcome

Areas of Expertise

  • Handyman
View All Offerings and Cities Served

Cost Information

  • Free Estimates
  • Trip Charge May Apply
  • Credit Cards Accepted


39 Verified Reviews
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1

Highly rated for

  • Quality
  • Customer Service
Showing 1-10 of 39 reviews Showing 0 reviews
4.5 Margaret S. Los Angeles, CA

They were on time and did a very professional job of installing my shed. I was very impressed with how they leveled the ground and put paves down before the shed was installed. I would recommend them

5.0 Liz C. Sylmar, CA

Great work on time very happy with what was done great prices

5.0 Cindy G. Sherman Oaks, CA

Extremely professional and very prompt. The handyman Carlos was very thorough and worked efficiently. A 10!


Did not finish the jobe

Response from Company:

The job was done, after it, he asked if I could patch where he had removed a door where the hinges were, just so he won't see the where the hinges were. I said ok, I'll patch them, I explained to him **you are going to need to sand after it dries**. I let him know that he should do it In a day or two when it was dry. That was a favor for him, just to patch it. He expected something different. I don't work for free.

5.0 Nicole B. Burbank, CA

Great experience! Very happy!

0.50 Fritz M. Simi Valley, CA

We bought our house and closed escrow in August 2019. Carlos was recommended to us. At first, he did well and was able to do various jobs at the old house we sold. Because of that, we decided to use him for other improvement projects in our new house. He did various jobs such as electrical, recessed lights, doors, switches, etc. We ended up paying him all the agreed costs ahead of time before he finished all the agreed jobs. As soon as he was able to get all the money agreed upon, he was gone!!!! He would not return calls, jobs we agreed to get done is not done! He would not return our calls, and he took off with all the money!!! DO NOT USE HIM! HE AND HIS SONS ARE A LIE!!! They may know how to do handy jobs, but THEY CANNOT BE TRUSTED!!! THEY WILL LIE TO YOU OF YOUR AND LEAVE WITH THE MONEY!!! Check his YELP reviews! He did it someone else! I was not the only victim!

Response from Company:

Sorry you feel that way, customers might think that when we discussed an idea they put in their mind that we are going to do it. we finish all we were pay for. if any other project you had in mind we talked about it, we didn't agree to do it at any time, we always finish all our projects in a timely manner, sorry you had a wrong thought about any other project. I understand it must be the wrong impression in your mind.

0.50 Jorge R. California City, CA

Balboa & Sons Handyman Services out of San Fernando,CA. Run the other way !!!! I used Carlos for many months after a client of mine hired him on Home Advisor. I'm a real estate agent who manages properties and would use Carlos for many different jobs for my clients and even used him for one of my houses. Well it all went left when I hired him to do a remodel of a rental that I had purchased. We agreed on what he was going to do and agreed on a set price and time frame. I purchased the house 11-22-19 and he advised me that he would be able to be done by 1-1-2020. Well fast forward to 2-10-2020. He was 75 % done and 100% paid and he completely walked out on the job. I gave him an opportunity to finish what we had agreed on and even resorted to treating him to take him to court and he still didn't show. I paid him over $15,000.00. Worst part is that he knew that my new tenants were moving on 2-1-2020. He left without installing the backsplash in the kitchen ,charged me for the dishwasher and never bought it, on top of other things he didn't finish . Learning lesson for me. Don't pay in full until job is done. Everytime he would ask for another payment I would Zelle it to him with no hesitation. I just hope this doesn't happen to anyone else. If this review prevents it from happening to anyone else. I have done my job.

Response from Company:

Customer's wanted more done aside from our discussion upon taking the job. we did 1, 1,900 sqrt of tile flooring with removal of existing floor, painted all 4 bedrooms and living, family room, kitchen cabinets painted. new vanity on 2 bathrooms, reglaced both showers. new toilets. new fans on all bedrooms. and he thought that 15,000 was enough for all of it just 1900 sqft of flooring at $10 per sqft is 19,000 he wanted all of it done for less. I'm sorry, we don't work for free. Sorry that you think that way. Try not to take advantage of people.

5.0 Jill L. Sherman Oaks, CA

Carlos is so professional. Excellent communication and always in time. His work is beautiful and so professional. Fast and neat too!

5.0 Armida T. Sylmar, CA

Contractor was very accommodating. The job was done in a reasonable time and the end product was excellent.

Showing 1-10 of 39 results Showing 0 of 0 results
Page 1 of 4


Balboa & Sons Handyman Service - Unlicensed Contractor
Siding patch
Gazebo in simi valley
Garage doos

HomeAdvisor allows Service Professionals to post information about themselves and their business on their profile. HomeAdvisor does not review or verify the information representations set forth in those profiles as they are self-reported by the Service Professional.

HomeAdvisor verifies state-level licensing where applicable - note: some states require local or county level licensing and you should verify whether or not your pro is properly licensed.
To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Licensing Requirements page.

Seal of Approval

What is the screening process that Service Professionals go through in order to become members of the HomeAdvisor network?

  1. Verify Trade License
    HomeAdvisor checks to see if the business carries the appropriate state-level license.
  2. Verify Insurance
    As a part of our screening process, we encourage professionals to carry general liability insurance. We require coverage for hundreds of services.
  3. Verification of State Business Filings
    For business types that require a Secretary of State filing, we confirm that the business is in good standing in the state in which it is located.
  4. Criminal Records Search
    HomeAdvisor uses 3rd party data sources to conduct a criminal search for any relevant criminal activity associated with the owner/principal of the business.
  5. Sex Offender Search
    We confirm that the owner/principal is not listed on the official state Sex Offender web site in the state in which the owner/principal of the company is located.
  6. Bankruptcy Search
    We use 3rd party data sources to check the history of the principal/owner of the business for bankruptcy filings by or against them.
  7. Legal Search for Civil Judgments
    We use 3rd party data sources to check the principal/owner of the business for state level civil legal judgments entered against them.
  8. Liens Search
    We use 3rd party data sources to check the principal/owner of the business for liens placed against them.
  9. Identity Verification (SSN)
    HomeAdvisor verifies the social security number(s) of the owner/principal for identity check purposes. This check applies primarily to smaller business entities.
  10. Identity Verification (Reverse Phone Lookup)
    We conduct a reverse business phone lookup to identify records matching the phone number information provided by the business.

NOTE: Member service professional information confirmed as described above may change or expire over time; while HomeAdvisor attempts to maintain accurate and up-to-date information, and confirms changes when notified, we cannot guarantee that profile and screening information is accurate. Therefore, we recommend that before working with a service professional you verify that information presented is still current and/or acceptable to you.
Please see HomeAdvisor's Terms and Conditions for a full description of how we screen Service Professionals

**Only for U.S. service professionals

Final Step - Confirm Your Appointment:

Confirm your appointment with on , - Change


By clicking Confirm Appointment, you affirm you have read and agree to the HomeAdvisor Terms & Conditions, and you agree and authorize HomeAdvisor and its affiliates, and their networks of Service Professionals, to deliver marketing calls or texts using automated technology to the number you provided above regarding your project and other home services offers. Consent is not a condition of purchase.