Barker Home Inspection & Service

HomeAdvisor screened and approved seal

HomeAdvisor Screened & Approved

This service professional has passed the HomeAdvisor screening process.

Learn about our screening process
Learn about our screening process

2 Years In Business

Company Details

Contact

20549 Hancock Avenue
Caldwell, ID 83605

Hours

  • Mon: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
  • Tue: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
  • Wed: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
  • Thu: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
  • Fri: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
  • Sat: Closed
  • Sun: Closed
View All Details & Credentials

Achievements

Service Details

  • Residential Work
  • Commercial Work
  • Small Jobs Welcome

Areas of Expertise

  • Handyman for multiple small projects
  • Home Inspection
View All Offerings and Cities Served

Cost Information

  • Free Estimates
  • Credit Cards Accepted

Ratings

4.8
25 Verified Reviews
  • 5
    21
  • 4
    4
  • 3
    0
  • 2
    0
  • 1
    0

Highly rated for

  • Quality
  • Value
  • Customer Service
Showing 1-10 of 25 results
5.0 Paul S. Star, ID
10/26/2023

He was on time and cleaned workspace when done

5.0 Paul M. Boise, ID
10/6/2023

******

5.0 Donna S. Meridian, ID
9/23/2023

Ken B. was prompt and knowledgeable and accomplished the job I had quickly and he did a good job.

5.0 Jim D. Boise, ID
9/22/2023

A very professional experience.

4.0 Mary M. Boise, ID
9/22/2023

He does a great job of listening to what a customer wants and then makes it happen

4.5 Jason G. Meridian, ID
9/5/2023

Barker fixed delivered what we asked for at a reasonable price.

Response from Company:

..

4.0 Jason & ella C. Meridian, ID
8/21/2023

Ken was very friendly and was on time when he came out to my home to install 3 storm doors for us. My only issue was after we obtained our quote, and having explained that we needed to possibly have one of the door frames widened due to the new door was a little bit wider and taller the the door that was removed. He measured the door frame and told us that it would only need to be widened about 1/2 in. After we hired him and once he had completed one door and was starting the 2nd door, we were told that he miss measured and the frame would need to be widened more than he initially said and that there would be more labor cost then what we were initially quoted due to this error. He suggested using a smaller storm door which would have narrowed the door by 2 in. which we didn't want. Because of this error we had to pay him an additional $450 above what he had initially quoted us. I feel that minimally he should have offered to only charge us 1/2 of the labor or not charged us at all for the extra work due to the error was his. Had I known the cost of hiring Ken would uld be so high, I probably wouldn't have went with him. We had another contractor quote us about $200 less and was also going to install a small area of vinyl siding that we needed to have done. Ken said that he didn't do vinyl siding work but we went with Ken due to his initial quote was aver $200 less than his competition was quoting us. He did great work but I feel that he should have handled the situation differently where the error was his. I might try him again for other projects around our home, but with the understanding that unless we add additional work that was not discussed during the estimate, that the work would be completed without additional charges and any errors on his part wouldn't cost us more.

Response from Company:

Jason, Thank you for the review! The door frame in question was extremely out of square. The top, middle and bottom did not measure the same. When this issue was found, I quickly communicated the issues and gave options to remedy the issue at hand. You authorized the change order and I proceeded with work. The task took longer than expected, cutting through all the nails and screws and having to fix the door frame. I had about 2 hours extra that I did not bill you for as a courtesy. I want all my customers to be happy and feel comfortable with the prices charged. Thank you for the feedback.

5.0 Chris D. Eagle, ID
7/22/2023

Ken did a great job mounting our new TV on the wall! We've already made arrangements to use him again on another home project. He's hardworking, experienced in many areas and reliable!

Response from Company:

Thanks Chris!

5.0 Kris H. Nampa, ID
7/19/2023

Iâ ve had Ken do several projects at my home. He does excellent work. He has the skills needed to get the job done correctly. He also good at problem solving and cleans up when he is done.

Response from Company:

Thanks, Kris!

5.0 Dianne J. ID
7/17/2023

Ken has excellent communication skills, he arrived exactly on time for our 8am appt, and did an excellent job installing tub & shower grab bars for me. I'll hire him again!

Response from Company:

Thank you, Dianne!

Photos

Barker Home Inspection & Service
8
Home Inspection Donts
2
Gutters
TV Mounting
3
Laundry Room Remodel

HomeAdvisor allows Service Professionals to post information about themselves and their business on their profile. HomeAdvisor does not review or verify the information representations set forth in those profiles as they are self-reported by the Service Professional.

HomeAdvisor verifies state-level licensing where applicable - note: some states require local or county level licensing and you should verify whether or not your pro is properly licensed.
To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Licensing Requirements page.

Seal of Approval

What is the screening process that Service Professionals go through in order to become members of the HomeAdvisor network?

  1. Verify Trade License
    HomeAdvisor checks to see if the business carries the appropriate state-level license.
  2. Verify Insurance
    As a part of our screening process, we encourage professionals to carry general liability insurance. We require coverage for hundreds of services.
  3. Verification of State Business Filings
    For business types that require a Secretary of State filing, we confirm that the business is in good standing in the state in which it is located.
  4. Criminal Records Search
    HomeAdvisor uses 3rd party data sources to conduct a criminal search for any relevant criminal activity associated with the owner/principal of the business.
  5. Sex Offender Search
    We confirm that the owner/principal is not listed on the official state Sex Offender web site in the state in which the owner/principal of the company is located.
  6. Bankruptcy Search
    We use 3rd party data sources to check the history of the principal/owner of the business for bankruptcy filings by or against them.
  7. Legal Search for Civil Judgments
    We use 3rd party data sources to check the principal/owner of the business for state level civil legal judgments entered against them.
  8. Liens Search
    We use 3rd party data sources to check the principal/owner of the business for liens placed against them.
  9. Identity Verification (SSN)
    HomeAdvisor verifies the social security number(s) of the owner/principal for identity check purposes. This check applies primarily to smaller business entities.
  10. Identity Verification (Reverse Phone Lookup)
    We conduct a reverse business phone lookup to identify records matching the phone number information provided by the business.



NOTE: Member service professional information confirmed as described above may change or expire over time; while HomeAdvisor attempts to maintain accurate and up-to-date information, and confirms changes when notified, we cannot guarantee that profile and screening information is accurate. Therefore, we recommend that before working with a service professional you verify that information presented is still current and/or acceptable to you.
Please see HomeAdvisor's Terms and Conditions for a full description of how we screen Service Professionals

**Only for U.S. service professionals

Final Step - Confirm Your Appointment:

Confirm your appointment with on , - Change


Required
Required
Required
Required
 
 
 

By clicking Confirm Appointment, you affirm you have read and agree to the HomeAdvisor Terms & Conditions, and you agree and authorize HomeAdvisor and its affiliates, and their networks of Service Professionals, to deliver marketing calls or texts using automated technology to the number you provided above regarding your project and other home services offers. Consent is not a condition of purchase.