HomeAdvisor screened and approved seal

HomeAdvisor Screened & Approved

This service professional has passed the HomeAdvisor screening process.

Learn about our screening process
Learn about our screening process

95% Recommended

35 Years In Business

Company Details

  • Verified Licenses
  • Bilingual


4038 East Sweetwater
Phoenix, AZ 85032


  • Mon:
  • Tue:
  • Wed:
  • Thu:
  • Fri:
  • Sat:
  • Sun:
View All Details & Credentials


Service Details

    Areas of Expertise

    • Concrete Steps, Porches, Driveways
    View All Offerings and Cities Served

    Cost Information

    • Free Estimates


    37 Verified Reviews
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1

    Highly rated for

    Showing 1-10 of 37 reviews Showing 0 reviews
    0.50 G T. Phoenix, AZ

    Avoid!!!! Avoid!!!! Avoid!!!! I'm filing a complaint with the City of Phoenix, Better Business Bureau and the Attorney General! I hired this guy to pour a driveway. We dug it out specifically to be below the existing grade of our garage and slope it away from the house. He flat out refused to pour the driveway lower than the garage and he poured it level so now it floods every time it rains. I'm going to have to go through considerable expense to have it all done again. I've had several other jobs done by this man, always quality problems, but this just takes it! I asked him to bust out and re-do it, he just laughed at me. I'm so pissed! Avoid at all costs!

    Response from Company:

    Gaylen, At least you left out the extreme profanity and name calling that you left on our voicemail. 1. Lets get to the point. It hasn't rained since the project was completed.. We had you point your hose towards the doorway in question. I agreed with you that water was pooling in that area and told you we would take care of it. The other 99% of the driveway was satisfactory, as you commented upon completion. My crew came back and addressed the situation and water does NOT Pool any longer in your doorway. All the rest of water drains away from house. 2. Your existing side walk is 1" higher than your doorway opening and is less than 3 feet away. I let you know this prior to even pouring the new concrete. I responded promptly to your concerns and I explained if we could make water run uphill, we both would be rich, and chuckled. If you call that laughing at you, you are incorrect. I run a complaint free business and always have complied with any customers concerns, including removing the sections and repairing them, which I told you that I would do also! I WAS NOT going to replace the entire driveway. 3. Why would you use someone AGAIN after you accuse them of poor quality. I obviously missed any criticism on your prior projects? I have responded to all of your calls, including the profanity laced and vulgar name calling. I have saved them in case you have forgotten what you actually said. I am not sure if your anger is with the City having a hearing regarding you setback violation and you claiming its a garage?? You did tell me you were going to have to put a stem wall under the existing framing in the area of your issues with our concrete. I also know you want to enclose that room once your zoning hearing is complete, so it can be rented out. I hope this is not the underlying issue. I have drove by numerous times and it seems like you are using it daily. I will drive by the next time it rains and if there is water running into your garage, we will replace that section, as I have offered. I also have your public hearing with the City on my calendar to make sure I understand why you are so irate with me who completed your job in a professional and timely manner, as I did all of your previous projects. I also returned your calls and met with you 2 times personally after your concerns. I am sorry that nothing I suggested to solve this issue was adequate to you. Clay Clays Concrete Inc.

    5.0 Aaron M. Phoenix, AZ

    I was very impressed with Clay's Concrete. Clay was very professional and showed up each time and day he said he would be there (my project took 3 days). I shouldn't have to say that, but I can't tell you how many contractors I've had that delay the day they're supposed to come out or just show up whenever they want without warning. As far as bids, I tried to get bids from 6 concrete guys. 3 no showed to the bid (even after me calling several times to confirm); 1 just threw a low number out while he was at my project; and the last bid seemed high to me. Anyway, Clay showed up, took my measurements and emailed me the bid the next day. He put all the sq ft he measured, the cost per sq ft he charges (which was very reasonable) and any extras he thought he could possibly run into (didn't run into any on my project). He also coordinated timing with my plumber since this was for a new addition. He was spot on with everything (according to my blue prints and my inspector) and was very professional. HIGHLY RECOMMEND

    3.5 Eric G. Peoria, AZ

    As a handicap veteran I never know what to expect from a contractor. Clay said he would be happy to work with me.


    Finish was not smooth, trowel gouge type marks everywhere, surface not level, spatters of concrete on finished surface. The employees and owner seem well intentioned but the finished quality of their work is below industry standard. When I brought this issue to the owner he said he would correct it but how can you correct such an issue after the concrete is poured and dried? And, no he has done nothing to correct it, just let the issue go.


    Had a patio poured...they were on time, did really nice work and cleaned the site up

    0.0 Dave B. Cave Creek, AZ

    They came the day after I got my permit just like he said he would. They were in here and out in 6 days doing the footings, stem wall and slab of a 28' x 34' garage with 2 inspections.

    0.0 Randy C. El Mirage, AZ

    Clay did a good job!

    0.0 Margaret H. Glendale, AZ

    The only thing I can say is the guys that worked for Clay were a little rude that is why I only gave Customer servace 2 1/2 stars. Clay was nice but never there.

    Response from Company:

    I'm sorry that employees seemed rude, followed up and found out maybe a little issue with language and my spanish and english speaking, foreman understanding customer after I left project. Will make sure H.O is aware to call me if any questions arise after I leave site.

    0.0 Ronald G. Phoenix, AZ

    job is pending approval from HOA. I am sure Clays will do a great job

    Showing 1-10 of 37 results Showing 0 of 0 results
    Page 1 of 4


    Rear patio and walkway remodel
    flood control
    colored concrete patio
    custom spa sidewalk
    Room Enclosure
    Garage Slab
    Spa Slab
    Driveway 2

    HomeAdvisor allows Service Professionals to post information about themselves and their business on their profile. HomeAdvisor does not review or verify the information representations set forth in those profiles as they are self-reported by the Service Professional.

    HomeAdvisor verifies state-level licensing where applicable - note: some states require local or county level licensing and you should verify whether or not your pro is properly licensed.
    To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Licensing Requirements page.

    Seal of Approval

    What is the screening process that Service Professionals go through in order to become members of the HomeAdvisor network?

    1. Verify Trade License
      HomeAdvisor checks to see if the business carries the appropriate state-level license.
    2. Verify Insurance
      As a part of our screening process, we encourage professionals to carry general liability insurance. We require coverage for hundreds of services.
    3. Verification of State Business Filings
      For business types that require a Secretary of State filing, we confirm that the business is in good standing in the state in which it is located.
    4. Criminal Records Search
      HomeAdvisor uses 3rd party data sources to conduct a criminal search for any relevant criminal activity associated with the owner/principal of the business.
    5. Sex Offender Search
      We confirm that the owner/principal is not listed on the official state Sex Offender web site in the state in which the owner/principal of the company is located.
    6. Bankruptcy Search
      We use 3rd party data sources to check the history of the principal/owner of the business for bankruptcy filings by or against them.
    7. Legal Search for Civil Judgments
      We use 3rd party data sources to check the principal/owner of the business for state level civil legal judgments entered against them.
    8. Liens Search
      We use 3rd party data sources to check the principal/owner of the business for liens placed against them.
    9. Identity Verification (SSN)
      HomeAdvisor verifies the social security number(s) of the owner/principal for identity check purposes. This check applies primarily to smaller business entities.
    10. Identity Verification (Reverse Phone Lookup)
      We conduct a reverse business phone lookup to identify records matching the phone number information provided by the business.

    NOTE: Member service professional information confirmed as described above may change or expire over time; while HomeAdvisor attempts to maintain accurate and up-to-date information, and confirms changes when notified, we cannot guarantee that profile and screening information is accurate. Therefore, we recommend that before working with a service professional you verify that information presented is still current and/or acceptable to you.
    Please see HomeAdvisor's Terms and Conditions for a full description of how we screen Service Professionals

    **Only for U.S. service professionals

    Final Step - Confirm Your Appointment:

    Confirm your appointment with on , - Change


    By clicking Confirm Appointment, you affirm you have read and agree to the HomeAdvisor Terms & Conditions, and you agree and authorize HomeAdvisor and its affiliates, and their networks of Service Professionals, to deliver marketing calls or texts using automated technology to the number you provided above regarding your project and other home services offers. Consent is not a condition of purchase.