Friedlander Construction

4.22 |53 Verified Ratings
Write a Review

Friedlander Construction

4.22 | 53 Verified Ratings
Write a Review


64 N Putt Corners Rd
New Paltz, NY 12561
Your use of our services is governed by our Terms & Conditions

Friedlander Construction

Affordable Professionals

Friedlander Construction was started in 2003 by David Friedlander, a native to the Hudson Valley looking to enhance the world around him. Our team's mission is to turn ideas into reality. We are committed to building long-lasting relationships with our clients and community through our efficient, high quality and reliable services. Over the last 15 years, the Friedlander Construction team has maintained a high level of professionalism, integrity, honesty, and fairness in our relationships with our suppliers, subcontractors, and clients. Going forward we plan to continue our expansion by exceeding our client's expectations and gaining their trust through exceptional performance by every member of our construction team.


Learn how HomeAdvisor screens and approves their pros.

Service Area

  • Poughkeepsie
  • Kingston
  • Wallkill
  • New Paltz
  • Ellenville
  • Woodstock
  • Pine Bush
  • Rosendale
  • Saugerties
  • Shandaken
  • Lake Katrine
  • Hyde Park
  • Marlboro
  • Cragsmoor
  • Highland
  • See All >

Services Offered

Additions & Remodeling
Architects & Engineers
Brick & Stone
Disability Services
Garage & Garage Doors
Septic Tanks & Wells
Sheds & Enclosures
Tennis or Game Court

Areas of Expertise

  • Hardscaping
  • Water Features
  • Masonry
  • Excavation

Product Brands Used

  • Boulder Creek Stone Products
  • Pavestone
  • Quickrete
  • Robinson Brick Company
  • Firestone Liner
  • Toro
  • Kohler

Quick Facts

Business Hours
8:00 AM to 4:00 PM
8:00 AM to 4:00 PM
8:00 AM to 4:00 PM
8:00 AM to 4:00 PM
8:00 AM to 4:00 PM
(Please call to confirm)
  • Small Jobs Welcome
  • Free Estimates
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • Bilingual


In Business Since: 2008
Memberships & Affiliations
  • American Institute of Architects (AIA)
  • Minority Business Enterprise
Green Certifications
  • Our goal is to use renewable resources in hopes of a brighter and greener tomorrow.
  • 2014 Best of Homeadvisor
HomeAdvisor Screened. View Details

HomeAdvisor allows Service Professionals to post information about themselves and their business on their profile. HomeAdvisor does not review or verify the information or representations set forth in those profiles, as they are self-reported by the Service Professional.

HomeAdvisor verifies state-level licensing where applicable - note: some states require local or county level licensing and you should verify whether or not your pro is properly licensed.

Business Overview

Community Involvement

Touch-a-Truck fundraiser for New Paltz Rotary Club and International Giving

How We Got Started

I chose to work in this industry because of my commitment to helping others and my need to enhance the world around me.

We started in this industry in 2003.

We describe our business as Family owned and operated


Friedlander Construction

My Work
18 Projects
HomeAdvisor: The nation's largest network of screened and rated pros.

Ratings & Reviews
Friedlander Construction

Real feedback from real homeowners.
Learn more about this pro by reading the ratings and reviews below.
Write a Review
Showing 1-10 of 53
  Page 1 of 6
Sort by newest   Date ▼   Rating  
0.5   |  04-26-2018
Review by Patricia K. in Kerhonkson, NY
Project: Install, Spread or Scrape Gravel or Loose Fill Paving
I was assured that the stone would set and become a hard surface driveway. It never did, and I've spent the last 3 years having someone come and rake loose stone after a winter of plowing. This month I just had my driveway black topped. Could kick myself for not doing that 3 years ago.
Response by Friedlander Construction: We are very sorry you were unsatisfied with the work you received. You are always welcome to call the office to get anything you need straightened out!

1 of 2 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful?  
0.5   |  09-27-2017
We are very unhappy with the work (which is NOT) completed by Friedlander Construciton and by David Friedlander. He is not an honest business man and does not match action to his words. At first he will seem very nice and we (me and my Fiancee) were very happy to have found him and be able to have a champion to fix our dream house. However some of our friends pointed out discrepancies in the original estimate (materials were way too high - 10K for some electrical cables?) but we figured that perhaps it would be washed out in the labor costs (which were separate) and as he said we would have a functional house at the total cost we lt it slide. Our agreement was we would give him the money and he would give us the house as we agreed upon. That was the first problem - trusting him to honor the agreement. I will be fair here... he did complete SOME of the work. But only enough to get a large check and then leave the house unfit for inhabitation. We have gotten no real movement in MONTHS now. If you want to over pay for materials (and I am talking by 2-10X) then use him. If you want to have your 2 month project take 6+ and counting now - with no end in sight, then use him. If you want to have your dream house left in shambles while he tries to collect money from anyone else that will hand it to him - then use him. If not I would never hire this company and especially the owner David Friedlander. We aren't the only ones he has ripped off. There are others and probably way more than we even know about. He also uses FAKE reviews and on Yelp has his WIFE Dina T there to set people up. I would say most of these good ones here are also probably fake. I'll go into detail here since we are getting SO SCREWED by this guy (David Friedlander) and have lost the entire summer with our Dream House while he takes whatever money he can with these fake reviews. We just don't want other people to get ripped off like we are. 1. He does not complete the work. AT ALL. We hired him in February and he said this would be completed in 2 months. It is end of September now and we barely have one working toilet. Half the house still does't have electric and heating system is sitting there. It has been over 8 months and we still can't even use the place to wash our hands while we just pay mortgage, taxes and bills on a useless house. 2. He doesn't return calls/texts. The only satisfaction has been honestly some of his workers because I think they feel sorry for us and want to finish the job even though David himself has shown no real interest in completing the work he agreed to. 3. He uses phony materiel numbers in his estimate and took a BIG piece of the payment based on them. This is something that a buyer should be aware of and NEVER give this guy any money in advance until the WHOLE project is completed. We are now finding out that things were not completed that he has been paid fo
Response by Friedlander Construction: We are so sorry you feel this way and would like to better understand what we can do to fix the issue. Feel free to contact our office at any time and allow us to help you!

2 of 3 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful?  
0.5   |  09-20-2017
Review by Elizabeth ann L. in Wallkill, NY
they are not experts at kitchen renovations I had to had additional professionals come in to redo the work that they completed. I would never recommend them to any one.
Response by Friedlander Construction: Betty, Sorry you feel that way. Not sure what happened after we completed your Kitchen. You were happy, paid in full... even had some of the staff over to go swimming! I suppose its less invasive and easier to just write a quick negative review than to call and ask us to fix something. What about the 2 bathroom remodels we did? No good there either... All the best.

2 of 3 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful?  
5.0   |  
Review by in New York, NY
I have an old barn in town that I wanted to upgrade to a living space. Wanted to convert a large space into an insulated room with a cathedral ceiling by removing the ceiling and joists along with installing lighting, fans, etc. Also needed to have an old cracked slab of concrete removed and re-poured. Also, needed a drainage system installed along one side of the house. It went great. I couldn't be happier. The quality of the work was outstanding and exceeded what I was imagining. From general discussion it was clear that they got what I was looking for, and the results were even better than I expected. The workmanship was great, and the quality of materials they chose were perfect for what I wanted. It was way quicker than I expected--the whole process from first finding them to the closeout walk-through was under a month. This was my first major renovation project, and I've always heard tales of them dragging on forever, but this was the exact opposite. They handled the permits and inspections, which was critical to me. Emily in the office kept things moving. The materials they selected were good quality--no issues there. Changes that came up throughout the project were handled quickly and didn't impact the overall timing. For example, after they'd opened up the ceiling, put in collar ties, and removed the joists, my gut was that the roof structure wasn't strong enough without the old joists. The engineer had designed it and speced it, but my gut said it needed more (I'm no engineer or builder, so it was nothing more than a feeling). After a quick discussion and consult with the engineer, they doubled up all the collar ties AND added a cable/turnbuckle across the widest span to keep the walls plumb under any conceivable load. It was done in a matter of days without impacting the schedule. We both agreed that the cable was more to help me sleep than to keep the roof on, but I really appreciated it. Minor details like updating the 3-way light switches to meet code, or installing a shutter-fan were handled well. In short, the whole renovation was smooth and fast.
Response by Friedlander Construction: Thank you for the 5.0 star review, Andy! We love having valued customers like you!

1 of 3 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful?  
5.0   |  

1 of 3 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful?  
5.0   |  
Review by in Modena, NY
Project: Build an Addition
I was very impressed with Friedlander Construction from start to end. the crew was courteous and punctual and were wonderful to work with. I'd highly recommend Friedlander Construction to anyone!
Response by Friedlander Construction: Thank you for your review Ashlee, it was a pleasure working with you as well!

1 of 2 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful?  
5.0   |  
Review by in New Paltz, NY
The crew and office staff were amazing. They said and did everything they were supposed to do. A great finish to a high end restoration.
Response by Friedlander Construction: Thank you for the kind words, Kip! We're so glad you had a great experience with us!

1 of 2 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful?  
4.5   |  
Review by in West Park, NY
Project: Build or Replace a Deck or Non-Masonry Porch
Very professional, great service. Positive attitude to your project and very friendly. Workers are professional and do the work to your expectations. I was very happy with my new outside deck, I would hire them again for any other projects I have. Most of all they do their best to work within your budget offering the highest quality.
Response by Friedlander Construction: Thanks for the great review, hopefully we can work together in the future again!

1 of 2 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful?  
2.0   |  
Review by in Highland, NY
They sent us two workers that were awful. The project was to be completed in two weeks, but they spent most of their time either away from the job or taking cigarette breaks. Most of what they did had to be redone. They were finally fired. We had placed a call to the company that went unanswered. The pipes in the shower were put in backwards........they still need to hang a screen door as per our contract. When I went over the final bill, the workers had charged us for chips and sodas and a $300 tool at Lowes. The paint job was done so poorly that we had to paint over the walls and ceiling. If you have this need to watch what they do closely.
Response by Friedlander Construction: Patricia, we are sorry you feel this way. The subcontracted company/workers were fired and we finished the job how we always do. Upon final payment everyone at your house was ecstatic. What happened. ? Please call the office. If there is a refund due please contact office to rectify this immediately. Additionally: after relaying this review to crew. You were so pleased that you tipped two workers $300 +$200!? You had to have been satisfied. What happened?

3 of 4 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful?  
0.5   |  08-15-2017
Review by Muhammad S. in Poughkeepsie, NY
I paid them a lot of money, and now they seem completely disinterested in the work.
Response by Friedlander Construction: We are very sorry you feel this way, be sure to contact the office if you need anything cleared up!

2 of 3 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful?  
Showing 1-10 of 53
  Page 1 of 6

Seal of Approval

What is the screening process that Service Professionals go through in order to become members of the HomeAdvisor network?

  1. Verify Trade License
    HomeAdvisor checks to see if the business carries the appropriate state-level license.
  2. Verify Insurance
    As a part of our screening process, we encourage professionals to carry general liability insurance. We require coverage for hundreds of services.
  3. Verification of State Business Filings
    For business types that require a Secretary of State filing, we confirm that the business is in good standing in the state in which it is located.
  4. Criminal Records Search
    HomeAdvisor uses 3rd party data sources to conduct a criminal search for any relevant criminal activity associated with the owner/principal of the business.
  5. Sex Offender Search
    We confirm that the owner/principal is not listed on the official state Sex Offender web site in the state in which the owner/principal of the company is located.
  6. Bankruptcy Search
    We use 3rd party data sources to check the history of the principal/owner of the business for bankruptcy filings by or against them.
  7. Legal Search for Civil Judgments
    We use 3rd party data sources to check the principal/owner of the business for state level civil legal judgments entered against them.
  8. Liens Search
    We use 3rd party data sources to check the principal/owner of the business for liens placed against them.
  9. Identity Verification (SSN)
    HomeAdvisor verifies the social security number(s) of the owner/principal for identity check purposes. This check applies primarily to smaller business entities.
  10. Identity Verification (Reverse Phone Lookup)
    We conduct a reverse business phone lookup to identify records matching the phone number information provided by the business.

NOTE: Member service professional information confirmed as described above may change or expire over time; while HomeAdvisor attempts to maintain accurate and up-to-date information, and confirms changes when notified, we cannot guarantee that profile and screening information is accurate. Therefore, we recommend that before working with a service professional you verify that information presented is still current and/or acceptable to you.
Please see HomeAdvisor's Terms and Conditions for a full description of how we screen Service Professionals

**Only for U.S. service professionals

Final Step - Confirm Your Appointment:

Confirm your appointment with on , - Change