Out of Network

Garbo's Heating & Cooling, LLC

Find screened and approved pros

This professional is out of network

Let’s find you the best HomeAdvisor screened and approved professionals.

Learn more about HomeAdvisor’s screening and approval process.

11 Years In Business

Company Details

Is this your business? Claim it and provide customers with your most up-to-date information.

Contact

136 McAlpine Street
Duryea, PA 18642
www.garbohvac.com

Hours

  • Mon: Open 24 Hours
  • Tue: Open 24 Hours
  • Wed: Open 24 Hours
  • Thu: Open 24 Hours
  • Fri: Open 24 Hours
  • Sat: Open 24 Hours
  • Sun: Open 24 Hours
View All Details & Credentials

Service Details

    Areas of Expertise

    • Heating
    • Cooling
    • Air Conditioning
    • Plumbing
    View All Offerings and Cities Served
    Deals

    Cost Information

    • Warranty Offered
    • Credit Cards Accepted

    Ratings

    4.6
    22 Verified Reviews
    • 5
      20
    • 4
      0
    • 3
      0
    • 2
      0
    • 1
      2

    Highly rated for

    • Quality
    • Value
    • Customer Service
    Showing 1-10 of 22 results
    5.0 Karen K. Scranton, PA
    2/24/2020

    On time. Very nice. Showed me pictures of the problem. Told me what had to be done.

    5.0 Shane K. Null, PA
    8/29/2019

    Lou came to service my boiler. Did an extremely thorough job. Above and beyond what the guy previously did. And fixed a few issues. Not to mention, I noticed a leak from one of the pipes late at night. He called me back almost immediately (was around midnight) and said he will be there to fix it. He did a great job fixing it. Cleaned up afterwards. Stands by his work. Would recommend him to anyone.

    0.50 Daniel N. Thornhurst, PA
    8/18/2016

    Back in April 2016, I hired Lou Garbo to diagnose and repair my heat pump problem. Lou diagnosed the problem as a bad compressor and he would have to order a new one. During this visit, Lou changed the wiring in our thermostat and the heat strips and left. Later that day, one of the 2 circuit breakers for the heat strips kept tripping and 2 days later, the other circuit breaker kept tripping. I immediately contacted Lou and he came back 6 days later. Lou had much difficulty trying to repair the wiring issue and eventually overcharged me for work performed and some materials he used. I have since disputed the credit card payment to him and I would not recommend that he do any work for anyone as he is somewhat messy and quick to bill for his lack of knowledge.

    Response from Company:

    I was the 3rd contractor you had work on the system. It was never wired correctly, until I rewired it. You had an unsafe situation with indoor romex, running underground to the system. Once I was finished rewiring it, you admitted the electric backup heat was never as warm as it was when I was finished. Yes there was a polarity issue, that was taken care of. You were not overcharged for anything, this was industry standard billing. Yes you did dispute the credit card charge, and it was awarded in my favor. You disputed the charge even after I issued a partial refund, and let's not forget that your son took the check that was mailed to you.

    5.0 Joellen B. Falls, PA
    7/24/2016

    I spoke with Adrian when I called and she set it up for Lou to come the next morning. I had expected to have a wait time but was pleasantly surprised at how quickly they made time for me. His work is exemplary and I would definitely use his services again and will recommend him to all my friends and family. Thank you Lou.

    Response from Company:

    Thank you, it was my pleasure to help. Your review is greatly appreciated!

    5.0 Gregory B. Tunkhannock, PA
    6/6/2016

    Lou and company very proffessional, and on time very clean and neat. And quickly fixed problem. Now have a happy wife with a happy life. Thanks Lou

    Response from Company:

    Thank you, it was my pleasure!

    4.5 Peter I. Pittston, PA
    11/15/2015

    Garbo's was prompt with his service. Explained everything that was being done. Very reasonably priced.

    5.0 Joshua M. Hanover Township, PA
    10/9/2015

    Lou was on time, had the problem determined quickly & fixed just as fast. On the spur of the moment we asked him about a digital thermostat, having one on the truck he hooked us up on the spot. I also showed him some work we were thinking of for the future. He spotted some other issues, told me what it would need, took my info to send me a full estimate. Friendly & thorough - his card is on the cupboard door, we have what we need in one guy, why go elsewhere?

    5.0 Mary e D. Pittston, PA
    9/28/2015

    Mr. Garbo was business-like yet personable. We were so satisfied that we asked him to get back to us with an estimate for an additional plumbing project.

    5.0 David H. Pocono Lake, PA
    8/6/2015

    very happy with the work. Great service.

    5.0 John P. Lake Winola, PA
    7/28/2015

    I found a broken sewer pipe in my basement at 7:30 pm and called him for help. He was at my home in one hour with everything he needed to make a very difficult repair. I would recommend him to anyone who needs fast reliable and professional service at a fair price. I will definitely use his services in the future and recommend him to anyone in need of a true professional.

    Response from Company:

    Thank you very much!

    Photos

    Garbo's Heating & Cooling, LLC
    2
    Gas Boiler Replacement
    2
    Heat Pump Replacement
    2
    Oil To LP Gas Conversion
    4
    Gas Furnace & AC Replacem
    Tankless Gas Water Heater
    2
    Oil Boiler Replacement

    HomeAdvisor allows Service Professionals to post information about themselves and their business on their profile. HomeAdvisor does not review or verify the information representations set forth in those profiles as they are self-reported by the Service Professional.

    HomeAdvisor verifies state-level licensing where applicable - note: some states require local or county level licensing and you should verify whether or not your pro is properly licensed.
    To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Licensing Requirements page.

    Seal of Approval

    What is the screening process that Service Professionals go through in order to become members of the HomeAdvisor network?

    1. Verify Trade License
      HomeAdvisor checks to see if the business carries the appropriate state-level license.
    2. Verify Insurance
      As a part of our screening process, we encourage professionals to carry general liability insurance. We require coverage for hundreds of services.
    3. Verification of State Business Filings
      For business types that require a Secretary of State filing, we confirm that the business is in good standing in the state in which it is located.
    4. Criminal Records Search
      HomeAdvisor uses 3rd party data sources to conduct a criminal search for any relevant criminal activity associated with the owner/principal of the business.
    5. Sex Offender Search
      We confirm that the owner/principal is not listed on the official state Sex Offender web site in the state in which the owner/principal of the company is located.
    6. Bankruptcy Search
      We use 3rd party data sources to check the history of the principal/owner of the business for bankruptcy filings by or against them.
    7. Legal Search for Civil Judgments
      We use 3rd party data sources to check the principal/owner of the business for state level civil legal judgments entered against them.
    8. Liens Search
      We use 3rd party data sources to check the principal/owner of the business for liens placed against them.
    9. Identity Verification (SSN)
      HomeAdvisor verifies the social security number(s) of the owner/principal for identity check purposes. This check applies primarily to smaller business entities.
    10. Identity Verification (Reverse Phone Lookup)
      We conduct a reverse business phone lookup to identify records matching the phone number information provided by the business.



    NOTE: Member service professional information confirmed as described above may change or expire over time; while HomeAdvisor attempts to maintain accurate and up-to-date information, and confirms changes when notified, we cannot guarantee that profile and screening information is accurate. Therefore, we recommend that before working with a service professional you verify that information presented is still current and/or acceptable to you.
    Please see HomeAdvisor's Terms and Conditions for a full description of how we screen Service Professionals

    **Only for U.S. service professionals

    Final Step - Confirm Your Appointment:

    Confirm your appointment with on , - Change


    Required
    Required
    Required
    Required
     
     
     

    By clicking Confirm Appointment, you affirm you have read and agree to the HomeAdvisor Terms & Conditions, and you agree and authorize HomeAdvisor and its affiliates, and their networks of Service Professionals, to deliver marketing calls or texts using automated technology to the number you provided above regarding your project and other home services offers. Consent is not a condition of purchase.