Mountain Home Stove & Fireplace, LLC

HomeAdvisor screened and approved seal

HomeAdvisor Screened & Approved

This service professional has passed the HomeAdvisor screening process.

Learn about our screening process
Learn about our screening process

93% Recommended

19 Years In Business

Company Details

Contact

1890 Loggers Lane, Unit H
Steamboat Springs, CO 80487
www.mountainhomestove.com

Hours

  • Mon: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
  • Tue: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
  • Wed: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
  • Thu: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
  • Fri: 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
  • Sat: Open 24 Hours
  • Sun: Open 24 Hours
View All Details & Credentials

Achievements

Service Details

  • Residential Work
  • Commercial Work

Areas of Expertise

  • Brick and Stone Fireplace Installation/Repair, Gas/Non Gas
  • Pre Fabricated Fireplace Installation/Repair, Gas/ Non Gas
  • Gas, Pellet and Wood Stove Installation/Repair
  • Chimney Cleaning and Inspecting - Currently on hold till spring!
  • Out Door Kitchen Installation
View All Offerings and Cities Served

Cost Information

  • Credit Cards Accepted

Ratings

4.7
15 Verified Reviews
  • 5
    14
  • 4
    0
  • 3
    0
  • 2
    0
  • 1
    1

Highly rated for

  • Quality
  • Value
  • Customer Service
Showing 1-10 of 15 reviews Showing 0 reviews
12/10/2020

Robert came out right on time! He was professional and efficient. He did a wonderful job cleaning and servicing our gas fireplace! I would highly recommend this company to any of my family or friends! Thanks Robert and thanks Mountain home Stove and Fireplace!

5.0 Paul C. Yampa, CO
8/27/2020

I had Mountain Home Stove and Fireplace replace my wood insert with a pellet insert and it looks great. Professional's from the start of the idea to the finish. Rob Rowe lead the install and was awesome! Stove looks great and works!

2/11/2020

I had a chimney sweep preformed by Josh and he went above and beyond. Not only did he sweep the chimney, he disassembled the unit, cleaned the catalytic, vacuumed out all the nooks, replaced work gaskets, and left our house clean. He was very professional and took the time to explain what he was doing. I would recommend this company and customer service to anyone. Thanks guys!

5.0 Karen sue T. Steamboat Springs, CO
10/25/2019

I called MHSF for a chimney cleaning and they scheduled me quickly - for the following week. As promised, Josh called on the way to my home, and he showed up exactly on time. Josh was pleasant, knowledgeable, and easy to communicate with. He didn't waste any time and protected my living room - while professionally and thoroughly cleaning the chimney and wood stove. He point checked my entire system and had a few suggestions, along with cheerfully answering all my questions. Super nice guy! I will continue using him every year to be sure I'm safe burning wood. Thanks so much Josh!!!

5.0 Sandra T. Craig, CO
10/4/2019

Josh Peaslee did an excellent job and was easy to deal with. Would like him to come back next year. Thank You

Response from Company:

Thanks Sandy for the positive feedback! We think Josh is pretty great too!

10/2/2019

Jeremy was excellent and professional!

Response from Company:

Lisa, thanks for the kudos. Jeremy will be happy with the great feedback. Always a pleasure to help out you and Doug!

5.0 Alex S. Keene, ON
12/18/2018

Mountain Home Stove & Fireplace installed our fireplace on time and on budget - we will definitely use them again. Alex & Lorraine

12/12/2017

Good Job and done on timeline as promised

Response from Company:

Thank you for taking the time to review Mountain Home Stove & Fireplace. We appreciate the feedback from our customers and look forward to serving you in the future.

Bottom line they took my money and ran and never completed the project. I paid for a $40 dollar piece of sheet metal to cover a hole in the ceiling they left, I had to put my stove on blocks to access the clean out in the T and the very worst!! they left me with a leaking chimney. I have a 1 and 2.5 year old that sleep at the top of the stairs right next to the pellet. stove and when house fills with smoke cause of the leaky chimney. They've taken my money and endangered my family!

Response from Company:

Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are discouraged to hear of your negative experience as our main goal is to provide excellent customer service and appreciate this opportunity to respond to your comments. We will continue to focus on improving our customers experience. (1) You originally contacted us about installing a pellet stove you purchased in January 2016. We emailed you an estimate for the work based on your description and dimensions. Winter is a very busy time of year for us, and we mutually agreed to revisit the project in the summer. We completed all but a decorative trim piece in September. (2) MHSF installed a pellet stove that you purchased from an unknown source and provided. The stove's vent outlet is too low to allow the cleanout on a standard cleanout tee to open properly. We are now checking for this clearance on stoves that we do not supply. Note that the cleanout collects non-combustible ash from the exhaust process; your family was and continues to not be in danger from this product at any time. The pellet stoves that we sell have a safety control feature that shuts the stove off should the exhaust vent become blocked by this collected ash; however, we cannot speak to how this stove was designed. (3) We acknowledge that the installation of the trim collar at the ceiling took longer than anticipated, and we apologize for this. The trim collar covers an opening between the pellet pipe and an old chimney, which we stuffed with insulation to prevent air leakage. There was no opening to the outside to allow rain or snow to enter the home at any time. (4) The final cost of the installation was greater than the original estimate due to us using more vent than anticipated. The original estimate was made based upon your description of the work and distance to the roof penetration. In response to situations like this, we have technical staff visit a site before issuing an estimate with considerable vent. Also, between the time of the original estimate (January 2016) and installation (September 2016), the pricing on pellet vent increased, and we had to incorporate this into our billing. (5) Management was not aware of the two remaining issues (trim collar and inoperable cleanout) until your invoice was flagged at over 70 days past due, at which point a phone call was placed to ask for payment (11/30/16). You explained your concerns and questioned a charge for the trim collar and storm collar, which we had fabricated locally to fit the situation. An owner spoke with you after this to fully understand the issues and to request that some payment be made to cover materials and labor that this small business had paid for. The fabrication charge was indeed erroneous and a credit memo and revised invoice were issued. (6) When a small business' invoice for materials and installation on a private property are unpaid, the only legal recourse for us is a mechanic's lien. MHSF maintains our lien right

Showing 1-10 of 15 results Showing 0 of 0 results
Page 1 of 2

Photos

Mountain Home Stove & Fireplace, LLC

HomeAdvisor allows Service Professionals to post information about themselves and their business on their profile. HomeAdvisor does not review or verify the information representations set forth in those profiles as they are self-reported by the Service Professional.

HomeAdvisor verifies state-level licensing where applicable - note: some states require local or county level licensing and you should verify whether or not your pro is properly licensed.
To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Licensing Requirements page.

Seal of Approval

What is the screening process that Service Professionals go through in order to become members of the HomeAdvisor network?

  1. Verify Trade License
    HomeAdvisor checks to see if the business carries the appropriate state-level license.
  2. Verify Insurance
    As a part of our screening process, we encourage professionals to carry general liability insurance. We require coverage for hundreds of services.
  3. Verification of State Business Filings
    For business types that require a Secretary of State filing, we confirm that the business is in good standing in the state in which it is located.
  4. Criminal Records Search
    HomeAdvisor uses 3rd party data sources to conduct a criminal search for any relevant criminal activity associated with the owner/principal of the business.
  5. Sex Offender Search
    We confirm that the owner/principal is not listed on the official state Sex Offender web site in the state in which the owner/principal of the company is located.
  6. Bankruptcy Search
    We use 3rd party data sources to check the history of the principal/owner of the business for bankruptcy filings by or against them.
  7. Legal Search for Civil Judgments
    We use 3rd party data sources to check the principal/owner of the business for state level civil legal judgments entered against them.
  8. Liens Search
    We use 3rd party data sources to check the principal/owner of the business for liens placed against them.
  9. Identity Verification (SSN)
    HomeAdvisor verifies the social security number(s) of the owner/principal for identity check purposes. This check applies primarily to smaller business entities.
  10. Identity Verification (Reverse Phone Lookup)
    We conduct a reverse business phone lookup to identify records matching the phone number information provided by the business.



NOTE: Member service professional information confirmed as described above may change or expire over time; while HomeAdvisor attempts to maintain accurate and up-to-date information, and confirms changes when notified, we cannot guarantee that profile and screening information is accurate. Therefore, we recommend that before working with a service professional you verify that information presented is still current and/or acceptable to you.
Please see HomeAdvisor's Terms and Conditions for a full description of how we screen Service Professionals

**Only for U.S. service professionals

Final Step - Confirm Your Appointment:

Confirm your appointment with on , - Change


Required
Required
Required
Required
 
 
 

By clicking Confirm Appointment, you affirm you have read and agree to the HomeAdvisor Terms & Conditions, and you agree and authorize HomeAdvisor and its affiliates, and their networks of Service Professionals, to deliver marketing calls or texts using automated technology to the number you provided above regarding your project and other home services offers. Consent is not a condition of purchase.