Stephen Canales Painting and More

HomeAdvisor screened and approved seal

HomeAdvisor Screened & Approved

This service professional has passed the HomeAdvisor screening process.

Learn about our screening process
Learn about our screening process

88% Recommended

8 Years In Business

Company Details

Contact

See Phone Number
323 Main Street
Sandown, NH 03873

Hours

  • Mon: Open 24 Hours
  • Tue: Open 24 Hours
  • Wed: Open 24 Hours
  • Thu: Open 24 Hours
  • Fri: Open 24 Hours
  • Sat: Open 24 Hours
  • Sun: Open 24 Hours
View All Details & Credentials

Achievements

Service Details

    Areas of Expertise

    • Painting 1-2 Rooms
    • Painting 3-4 rooms
    • Painting 5+ rooms
    • Drywall repair Homes and Businesses
    View All Offerings and Cities Served

    Cost Information

    • Free Estimates
    • Credit Cards Accepted

    Ratings

    4.5
    26 Verified Reviews
    • 5
      22
    • 4
      1
    • 3
      0
    • 2
      0
    • 1
      3

    Highly rated for

    Showing 1-10 of 26 reviews Showing 0 reviews
    5.0 Bambi T. Derry, NH
    10/10/2019

    Stephen was hired to paint the ceilings as a last minute project before my hardwood floor restoration. Painted ceilings turned into a second project to restore the surrounding trim on my skylight (from wood to drywall). Stephen provided a prompt and fair estimate for both jobs and a timeline for the work, which accommodated my schedule. Throughout the process, Stephen kept communication clear and concise- and was very honest about the possibilities of the outcome with my skylight. My ceilings look great, and the skylight came out beautiful! Better than I imagined. This guy takes great pride in his work and it shows. I would definitely hire him again.

    1.0 Sue C. Plaistow, NH
    8/13/2019

    Stephen is an indoor painter but took the job of painting my deck and putting in a new screen. He did not finish the job last summer (2018) he said because of the weather. I had to follow up with him this year and he said he would come a specific week, never showed, never called. I have texted him twice more and no reply, it is the middle of August and it is the second summer I have not been able to use my porch. Very disappointed. Lesson learned - do not hire someone for anything other than what they say they do, his reason for taking this job was so no one else came in and basically took work away from him.

    Response from Company:

    As every one knows here in new England we had a very humid summer last August witch followed by constant rain as everyone in new England knows we had a very rainy spring and beginning of summer.cant paint if it's to humid and sure can't paint when it rains I did the best I could for sue.shes a wonderful lady wish thing had gone to plain but as we all know exterior depends on weather

    5.0 Paula P. Pelham, NH
    4/8/2019

    Stephen did an amazing job painting my halls, kitchen and family room . He completed the job in 4 days and even brought me a dozen fresh eggs from his chickens. Bonus!

    5.0 Marie B. Hampton, NH
    9/21/2018

    Stephen was excellent!! His estimate both time and cost were right on. He made recommendations that actually saved me money - unheard of today! He has a great work ethic and takes pride in his work. He did an amazing job putting up new sheet rock and painting 4 + ceilings. Everything was spotless when he finished. I am looking forward to working with him again in the spring and if he's busy - I'll wait for him!

    0.50 Sue C. Plaistow, NH
    8/9/2018

    Stephen is an indoor painter but took the job of painting my deck and putting in a new screen. He did not finish the job last summer (2018) he said because of the weather. I had to follow up with him this year and he said he would come a specific week, never showed, never called. I have texted him twice more and no reply, it is the middle of August and it is the second summer I have not been able to use my porch. Very disappointed. Lesson learned - do not hire someone for anything other than what they say they do, his reason for taking this job was so no one else came in and basically took work away from him.

    Response from Company:

    And it's funny how sue retracted her 5 star rating for the interior work and redoing the garage ceiling people are funny when they don?t get there way.some people have know idea the experience of a professional . Did what I felt was right.and I'm ok with it

    1.0 Heather D. Amesbury, MA
    12/21/2017

    painted bathroom. obviously wrong paint. as oil was dripping off the walls from steam of shower. put light/ fan back in after replacing ceiling. was humming and buzzing (vibrating) had to help try to "jimmie" into place still not right.

    Response from Company:

    Heather thank you for your reveiw.funny I did your job 3 years ago.and now you write a reveiw.i told you I would get materials but you chose to buy your own .I told you exactly what needed to be done,to do the job correctly.but you choose to do it your way to save money.so sorry your plain did not work out for you. stephen

    5.0 Barbara B. Derry, NH
    12/19/2017

    Steve has a great work ethic. He did a great job on the rooms that had been painted. Very knowledgeable. Would hire again!

    11/17/2017

    Steve was responsive and completed the scope as agreed. Takes pride in his work! Would recommend his services.

    5.0 Cindy A. Kingston, NH
    8/31/2017

    Stephen painted all our ceilings and painted the entire inside of our home. He did an excellent job. He was conscientious and worked quickly and thoroughly to minimize any inconvenience to us. He fixed any cracks or divots in the walls and made our 30 year old home look much better. I would highly recommend him and his work. I will hire him again for redoing my kitchen cabinets

    5.0 James H. Atkinson, NH
    5/18/2017

    Stephen did a superb job in painting rooms, refinishing cracks, and touchups in preparation for our upcoming home sale and move. He not only did what we asked but also found and quickly corrected problems we were unaware of. Stephen was a pleasure to interact with. His personable manner and sense of humor put us at ease during a stressful time. Great job!

    Showing 1-10 of 26 results Showing 0 of 0 results
    Page 1 of 3

    Photos

    8
    New drywall ceiling and w
    13
    Refinish garage
    7
    repair holes and paint
    6
    new bath ceiling and fan

    HomeAdvisor allows Service Professionals to post information about themselves and their business on their profile. HomeAdvisor does not review or verify the information representations set forth in those profiles as they are self-reported by the Service Professional.

    HomeAdvisor verifies state-level licensing where applicable - note: some states require local or county level licensing and you should verify whether or not your pro is properly licensed.
    To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Licensing Requirements page.

    Seal of Approval

    What is the screening process that Service Professionals go through in order to become members of the HomeAdvisor network?

    1. Verify Trade License
      HomeAdvisor checks to see if the business carries the appropriate state-level license.
    2. Verify Insurance
      As a part of our screening process, we encourage professionals to carry general liability insurance. We require coverage for hundreds of services.
    3. Verification of State Business Filings
      For business types that require a Secretary of State filing, we confirm that the business is in good standing in the state in which it is located.
    4. Criminal Records Search
      HomeAdvisor uses 3rd party data sources to conduct a criminal search for any relevant criminal activity associated with the owner/principal of the business.
    5. Sex Offender Search
      We confirm that the owner/principal is not listed on the official state Sex Offender web site in the state in which the owner/principal of the company is located.
    6. Bankruptcy Search
      We use 3rd party data sources to check the history of the principal/owner of the business for bankruptcy filings by or against them.
    7. Legal Search for Civil Judgments
      We use 3rd party data sources to check the principal/owner of the business for state level civil legal judgments entered against them.
    8. Liens Search
      We use 3rd party data sources to check the principal/owner of the business for liens placed against them.
    9. Identity Verification (SSN)
      HomeAdvisor verifies the social security number(s) of the owner/principal for identity check purposes. This check applies primarily to smaller business entities.
    10. Identity Verification (Reverse Phone Lookup)
      We conduct a reverse business phone lookup to identify records matching the phone number information provided by the business.



    NOTE: Member service professional information confirmed as described above may change or expire over time; while HomeAdvisor attempts to maintain accurate and up-to-date information, and confirms changes when notified, we cannot guarantee that profile and screening information is accurate. Therefore, we recommend that before working with a service professional you verify that information presented is still current and/or acceptable to you.
    Please see HomeAdvisor's Terms and Conditions for a full description of how we screen Service Professionals

    **Only for U.S. service professionals

    Final Step - Confirm Your Appointment:

    Confirm your appointment with on , - Change


    Required
    Required
    Required
    Required
     
     
     

    By clicking Confirm Appointment, you affirm you have read and agree to the HomeAdvisor Terms & Conditions, and you agree and authorize HomeAdvisor and its affiliates, and their networks of Service Professionals, to deliver marketing calls or texts using automated technology to the number you provided above regarding your project and other home services offers. Consent is not a condition of purchase.