HomeAdvisor screened and approved seal

HomeAdvisor Screened & Approved

This service professional has passed the HomeAdvisor screening process.

Learn about our screening process
Learn about our screening process

24 Years In Business

Company Details

Contact

204 MacCleran Street
Schenectady, NY 12304
http://zioscontractinginc.com

Hours

  • Mon: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
  • Tue: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
  • Wed: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
  • Thu: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
  • Fri: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
  • Sat: 10:00 AM - 3:00 PM
  • Sun: 10:00 AM - 3:00 PM
View All Details & Credentials

Achievements

Service Details

  • Residential Work

Areas of Expertise

  • Gutter
  • Roofing
  • siding
  • shingles, flat roof
  • brick work and concrete work
View All Offerings and Cities Served

Cost Information

  • Free Estimates
  • Trip Charge May Apply

Ratings

3.9
57 Verified Reviews
  • 5
    35
  • 4
    8
  • 3
    3
  • 2
    1
  • 1
    10
Showing 1-10 of 57 results
0.50 Kathryn K. Saratoga Springs, NY
8/31/2022

Their work was terrible. They used the wrong nails and the joist spacing was too far apart. Said we did not need a permit, but we did need one. Inspector basically said we had to rip it up and start over. Told the owner and he responded they would fix it but we would have to buy the wood again. The deck cost 6800. We decided not to spend 1200 more dollars hoping they would fix it right. We are going to try to go to court to get some of our money back. Basically blamed us for their bad work by saying they did not know they had to follow the deck building code. One of the workers shot a nail through his finger during the job. I do not think they had insurance since the owner insisted we had to get the permit in our name and not to name them on the permit. The landing is now 2 inches below where it should be and is pulling a portion of our roof down. The 4x4s holding up the stairs do not touch the deck. There are screws and nails sticking out of a ton of the boards but not stuck into any wood. The staircase into the yard is pulling part of the handrails down because there are no pilings under it. They did not clean up with magnets and we are finding nails, screws and used blades all over our yard. Do not use them. Also, their website is now zioscontracting.com, probably went bust and registered company under new name. Buyer beware.

5.0 Mona S. Schenectady, NY
10/30/2021

Very efficient ,on time â ¦did what they said they were going to do they took before and after pictures it was a great professional experience having my roof repaired

1.0 Derreth H. Wynantskill, NY
1/9/2021

In November 2018 I had my roof replaced by Xios. The were very quick to get the job done at a fair price. On my contract it stated they would pressure wash my desk and seal it in addition to the roof install. This was never done. In April 2020 my roof started to leak. I have been trying to get John to come to my house and look at it and fix the leak. To date he has not done this. It is still leaking. He says he has been here to seal it but there in no evidence that he ever did. My contract says the work in guaranteed for 10 years.. less than 1.5 years and it is leaking. I do not recommend using this company.

5.0 Jimmy B. Albany, NY
12/11/2020

Amazing

1.0 Debra B. Schenectady, NY
12/10/2020

So I did write a bad review. He responded by saying if he knew I was dissatisfied he would have returned. That's b.s. He never returned he was supposed to return. Never did. Very poor job not finished won't last the winter. Don't be fooled by his response. I wish I could down load pictures here to show

Response from Company:

I never heard from you so i can come back again to redo the things that made you dissatisfied but, I never heard from you so I thought everything was ok! cause I did come back and redo it the 2nd time and you said it was ok! I had told you that I could come in the spring time to fix the concrete on the platform! But anyway the platform as i see in my contract it wasn't in my contract but did it anyway I didn't mind at all!

5.0 Tom G. Albany, NY
11/12/2020

Very fast quote, and John got the roof repair started the next day! So appreciative of how quickly he got this done for me. The roof was leaking around our chimney, but it seems to be fixed now.

0.50 Frank W. Schenectady, NY
11/7/2020

Estimated a two day job, three weeks later we parted company after finding out he had no insurance and refused to get a building permit.

Response from Company:

PETER WE DIDNT DISCUSSED ABOUT ANY PERMITS IF I KNEW IT FROM THE BEGINING I WOULD REFUSE THE JOB! AND I DIDNT CHARGE YOU ALOT ALL THE MONEY YOU GAVE ME WENT FOR MATERIALS & PAYROLL PLUS I DID DEMO THE OLD PATIO! YOU PUT YOUR SELF IN TROUBLE BY DOING SIDEWALK WITHOUT A PERMIT! BUT THANKS FOR THE COMMENT & GOOD LUCK!

2.0 Peter K. Albany, NY
7/4/2020

I feel like there's a lot of double-talk from the contractor. He, along with his crew are very hard workers and I suspect that what they did on my roof was a good job, but, the materials they used were entirely different from any of the other rubber roof contractors. When they came to do the follow-up work that the contractor said would be necessary one year after installation, the price was astronomical. It was half again as much as the original cost of the roof. I blame myself for not asking how much it would cost but I never suspected it would be as ridiculous as it was.

Response from Company:

HI PETER ITS JOHN FIRST OF THE ALL MATERIALS WE INSTALLED IS FOR A RUBBER ROOF YOU SHOULDVE SEARCH FIRST ABOUT THE MATERIALS SINCE YOU DONT KNOW AND THE PRICE WAS REASONIBLE! THE MATERIAL IS TOP QUANITY FOR RUBBER ROOF THE OTHER MATERIAL THAT YOUR TALKING IS PROBERLY FOR COMMECIAL BUILDINGS!

0.50 Debra B. Schenectady, NY
6/26/2020

I hired this company to replace the front stairs and railings and a small amount of the concrete landing. The job was inferior, to say the least. I even had him do additional work. A child could have done a better job. I do not recommend him at all. He always said **I will be back* and had me buy more material, but never showed said he has health issues. I would post photos here but not sure how to do it I will now have to spend more money to re-do the work.

Response from Company:

DEBRA I CAME OVER I FIX IT FOR YOU BUT IF YOU DIDNT LIKE IT YOU SHOULDNT TEXTED ME SO I COULD COME AGAIN AND REDO IT FOR YOU FOR FREE SO I THOUGHT EVERYTHING WAS OK IF YOU WASNT I COULD COME IN THE SPRINGTIME OR IF THE WEATHER IS 60 DEGREES AND UP CAUSE IF WE REDO IT FOR YOU ITS GOING TO CRACK!

1.0 Davetta S. Schenectady, NY
4/1/2020

they did more sitting around than the work

Photos

Zios Contracting, Inc.
7
PORCH INSTALLATION 40FT
4
roof installation
5
stairs installation of de
7
installed new deck
11
remodeled batrhroom
2
kitchen remodeled
2
Door Repaired
3
california stucco

HomeAdvisor allows Service Professionals to post information about themselves and their business on their profile. HomeAdvisor does not review or verify the information representations set forth in those profiles as they are self-reported by the Service Professional.

HomeAdvisor verifies state-level licensing where applicable - note: some states require local or county level licensing and you should verify whether or not your pro is properly licensed.
To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Licensing Requirements page.

Seal of Approval

What is the screening process that Service Professionals go through in order to become members of the HomeAdvisor network?

  1. Verify Trade License
    HomeAdvisor checks to see if the business carries the appropriate state-level license.
  2. Verify Insurance
    As a part of our screening process, we encourage professionals to carry general liability insurance. We require coverage for hundreds of services.
  3. Verification of State Business Filings
    For business types that require a Secretary of State filing, we confirm that the business is in good standing in the state in which it is located.
  4. Criminal Records Search
    HomeAdvisor uses 3rd party data sources to conduct a criminal search for any relevant criminal activity associated with the owner/principal of the business.
  5. Sex Offender Search
    We confirm that the owner/principal is not listed on the official state Sex Offender web site in the state in which the owner/principal of the company is located.
  6. Bankruptcy Search
    We use 3rd party data sources to check the history of the principal/owner of the business for bankruptcy filings by or against them.
  7. Legal Search for Civil Judgments
    We use 3rd party data sources to check the principal/owner of the business for state level civil legal judgments entered against them.
  8. Liens Search
    We use 3rd party data sources to check the principal/owner of the business for liens placed against them.
  9. Identity Verification (SSN)
    HomeAdvisor verifies the social security number(s) of the owner/principal for identity check purposes. This check applies primarily to smaller business entities.
  10. Identity Verification (Reverse Phone Lookup)
    We conduct a reverse business phone lookup to identify records matching the phone number information provided by the business.



NOTE: Member service professional information confirmed as described above may change or expire over time; while HomeAdvisor attempts to maintain accurate and up-to-date information, and confirms changes when notified, we cannot guarantee that profile and screening information is accurate. Therefore, we recommend that before working with a service professional you verify that information presented is still current and/or acceptable to you.
Please see HomeAdvisor's Terms and Conditions for a full description of how we screen Service Professionals

**Only for U.S. service professionals

Final Step - Confirm Your Appointment:

Confirm your appointment with on , - Change


Required
Required
Required
Required
 
 
 

By clicking Confirm Appointment, you affirm you have read and agree to the HomeAdvisor Terms & Conditions, and you agree and authorize HomeAdvisor and its affiliates, and their networks of Service Professionals, to deliver marketing calls or texts using automated technology to the number you provided above regarding your project and other home services offers. Consent is not a condition of purchase.