1st Choice Home Improvements, Inc.

HomeAdvisor screened and approved seal

HomeAdvisor Screened & Approved

This service professional has passed the HomeAdvisor screening process.

Learn about our screening process
Learn about our screening process

25 Years In Business

Company Details

  • Verified Licenses

Hours

  • Mon: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
  • Tue: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
  • Wed: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
  • Thu: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
  • Fri: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
  • Sat: Closed
  • Sun: Closed
View All Details & Credentials

Achievements

Service Details

  • Residential Work

Areas of Expertise

  • Installation of Three or More Replacement Windows
  • Hurricane Protection
  • Siding
  • Bathroom Remodeling
  • Sunroom/Screenrooms
View All Offerings and Cities Served

Cost Information

  • Free Estimates
  • Warranty Offered
  • Credit Cards Accepted

Ratings

4.1
92 Verified Reviews
  • 5
    60
  • 4
    13
  • 3
    6
  • 2
    5
  • 1
    8
Showing 1-10 of 92 results
3.0 Gail N. Gulf Shores, AL
9/30/2023

Was really impressed with the communication to begin with but communication fell apart once project started. No one on the project spoke English. Due to some mishaps the project took longer than expected and required multiple visits.

0.50 Scott S. Panama City Beach, FL
12/21/2022

Customer service is horrible. Took our down payment in Sept 2021 and still not close to being finished in December 2022. No follow up on trim stucco that was damaged during installation. Windows were installed in April 2022 and still waiting for finish work. One of the windows was cracked and new ordered but still waiting. Would definitely not recommend this company. Scott and Karen PCB Florida

5.0 Sarah F. Pensacola, FL
7/28/2022

Chuck knew just what I wanted. It will take a while for the siding to get in, but I am looking forward to seeing it done.

1.0 Gary C. Milton, FL
5/19/2022

I had new windows installed several months ago and I am still waiting for the inspection of the work that was performed. I paid in full and I expect the job to be finished. Very poor service and would not recommend to anybody. Called their office over 10 times and nothing but lip service.

1.0 Nikki E. Niceville, FL
1/29/2022

Wanted $26,000 for half a bath remodel and that wasn't including new vanities, demo, flooring or removing a wall that we were paying for and not included in our bath remodel project. They only wanted you to buy tile from them and $3sqft extra to install your tile. Free standing bath tub also wasn't included in the price. Our bathroom is separated into 2 room so the big area with the vanities wasn't even part of the quote. Extremely disappointed

3.5 James r R. Milton, FL
6/17/2021

Great app.

1.0 Sylvia G. Pensacola, FL
11/5/2020

The never called me back whit an Estimated. I called them twice and there always just Past-fide me saying the will call me back. To this day I have not heard from them!!!!!!

5.0 Scott W. Pensacola, FL
7/15/2020

Great

Response from Company:

Thank you for the feedback, Scott!

0.50 Richard H. Pensacola, FL
3/27/2020

I signed the contract contract for 23 new windows with 1st Choice on 02-May-2019. Seven months later I was finally able to get them to finish the job and another month to get the county inspection. The skill of the people sent to my home and the quality of their workmanship was poor. I went for months with picture windows on the south side unsealed with 1 inch gaps open to the rain for 3-4 months. They ignored daily phone call contacts with the receptionist for 2 months in a row. They fired her for telling them she was embarrassed by the way they ignored their clients. I have pictures of the poor workmanship and texts with employees. Seven long long to get rid of them and it cost me $6,000.00 more than a similar job done by Window World with my neighbors. Both houses done within 3 days. These people are a contractor nightmare!!!

1.5 Michael B. Gulf Breeze, FL
10/22/2019

Signed contract 6/6/19 after the representative promised a team-focused production effort. We were promised a job â  startâ  in the first week of 8/19. After an amazing string of excuses by their production staff; first, on 8/8/19; next on 8/12/19; then on 8/13/19 â  ...This start date is â  written in blood,â  â  finally, demolition commenced on 8/19/19, but the workmen only stayed for the day and then disappeared (except for a tile drop off on 8/21/19) until the next Monday on 8/26/19, when 1st Choiceâ  s contractors recommenced our project demolition. The next day at 2:00pm...we had been waiting since 8:00am...the plumbing commenced. We had zero problem with the quality of the work by the skilled craftsmen, it was all first caliber work...however the production scheduling and supervisory oversight was non-existent. Often we were â  prisoners in our own homeâ  as we waited for craftsmen to arrive and then complete their tasks. Finally, the project, which we were told would take â  2 or 3 weeksâ  was completed on 9/27/19, a full 7+ weeks after it was first scheduled to be commenced. On 10/22/19, we paid 1st Choice in full for the project. There were some issues related to disconnected production oversight and logistics, which signaled to us poor internal communications at 1st Choice. First, the Design Consultant specifically told us to seek out and coordinate the tile style, colors and accents. This we did and worked with a very helpful vendor, who spent hours with us picking the very best value tile, grout, accent tiles, and Schluter. We were told that 1st Choice would purchase these materials from the hardworking vendor we worked with and we drove a value-based bargain for price. As it turns out, 1st Choice , for reasons known only to them, used another vendor...negating our relationship with the vendor we were working with to secure our tile. Not only that, 1st Choice ordered â  Bullnose Tileâ  instead of Schluter and when they ordered the missing Schluter they ordered and installed the wrong color. Additionally, more delay was incurred when Production ordered incorrect supplies of tile for the shower floor and razor-thin margins for the walls. In summation, we were promised a production concept, we did not experience that production concept. We were promised a timeline, but that timeline was wildly under-estimated. Being a prisoner in your own home waiting for workmen for three weeks is bad enough, but for seven weeks among the dust and chaos is Excessive.

Photos

1st Choice Home Improvements, Inc.
38
Bellview CoolWall Project
26
Big Lagoon CoolWall
11
Siding/Windows
13
Gulf Beach Hwy Bath
23
Pensacola Master Bath
17
Navy Guest Bath
21
East Bay Siding/Windows
36
Cantonment Master Bath
23
Big Lagoon Impact Windows
18
Milton Impact Windows
32
Roll-In Shower - FWB
20
Pensacola Screen Room
23
CoolWall Project
9
East Hill Replacement Win
25
Fairhope Sunroom
6
Justin B. - Windows
12
Home Exterior Makeover
9
Vinyl Replacement Windows
12
Tub to Shower Conversion
9
Pensacola Impact Windows

HomeAdvisor allows Service Professionals to post information about themselves and their business on their profile. HomeAdvisor does not review or verify the information representations set forth in those profiles as they are self-reported by the Service Professional.

To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Licensing Requirements page. Note that some states require local or county level licensing and you should verify whether or not your pro is properly licensed.

Seal of Approval

What is the screening process that Service Professionals go through in order to become members of the HomeAdvisor network?

  1. Verify Trade License
    HomeAdvisor checks to see if the business carries the appropriate state-level license.
  2. Verify Insurance
    As a part of our screening process, we encourage professionals to carry general liability insurance. We require coverage for hundreds of services.
  3. Verification of State Business Filings
    For business types that require a Secretary of State filing, we confirm that the business is in good standing in the state in which it is located.
  4. Criminal Records Search
    HomeAdvisor uses 3rd party data sources to conduct a criminal search for any relevant criminal activity associated with the owner/principal of the business.
  5. Sex Offender Search
    We confirm that the owner/principal is not listed on the official state Sex Offender web site in the state in which the owner/principal of the company is located.
  6. Bankruptcy Search
    We use 3rd party data sources to check the history of the principal/owner of the business for bankruptcy filings by or against them.
  7. Legal Search for Civil Judgments
    We use 3rd party data sources to check the principal/owner of the business for state level civil legal judgments entered against them.
  8. Liens Search
    We use 3rd party data sources to check the principal/owner of the business for liens placed against them.
  9. Identity Verification (SSN)
    HomeAdvisor verifies the social security number(s) of the owner/principal for identity check purposes. This check applies primarily to smaller business entities.
  10. Identity Verification (Reverse Phone Lookup)
    We conduct a reverse business phone lookup to identify records matching the phone number information provided by the business.



NOTE: Member service professional information confirmed as described above may change or expire over time; while HomeAdvisor attempts to maintain accurate and up-to-date information, and confirms changes when notified, we cannot guarantee that profile and screening information is accurate. Therefore, we recommend that before working with a service professional you verify that information presented is still current and/or acceptable to you.
Please see HomeAdvisor's Terms and Conditions for a full description of how we screen Service Professionals

**Only for U.S. service professionals

Final Step - Confirm Your Appointment:

Confirm your appointment with on , - Change


Required
Required
Required
Required
 
 
 

By clicking Confirm Appointment, you affirm you have read and agree to the HomeAdvisor Terms & Conditions, and you agree and authorize HomeAdvisor and its affiliates, and their networks of Service Professionals, to deliver marketing calls or texts using automated technology to the number you provided above regarding your project and other home services offers. Consent is not a condition of purchase.