Affordable Basement Waterproofing, Inc.

HomeAdvisor screened and approved seal

HomeAdvisor Screened & Approved

This service professional has passed the HomeAdvisor screening process.

Learn about our screening process
Learn about our screening process

85% Recommended

21 Years In Business

Company Details

  • Verified Licenses
  • Bilingual

Hours

  • Mon: 7:00 AM - 10:00 PM
  • Tue: 7:00 AM - 10:00 PM
  • Wed: 7:00 AM - 10:00 PM
  • Thu: 7:00 AM - 10:00 PM
  • Fri: 7:00 AM - 10:00 PM
  • Sat: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
  • Sun: Closed
View All Details & Credentials

Achievements

Service Details

  • Residential Work
  • Commercial Work
  • Small Jobs Welcome

Areas of Expertise

  • Foundation Waterproofing
  • Interior & Exterior Drainage Issues
  • Sump Pump Installations
  • Structural Repairs
  • Indoor Air Quality Mold Testing
View All Offerings and Cities Served

Cost Information

  • Free Estimates
  • Warranty Offered
  • Credit Cards Accepted

Ratings

4.3
73 Verified Reviews
  • 5
    49
  • 4
    12
  • 3
    4
  • 2
    4
  • 1
    4

Highly rated for

Showing 1-10 of 73 reviews Showing 0 reviews
5.0 Richard C. Gaithersburg, MD
3/1/2021

The entire Affordable Basement Waterproofing team are exceptional. From Monica and Kelly in the office to the Inspector, Ken, and the 3 exceptional gentlemen who came to our house to fix our Basement Foundation Leak; this is one of the most professional, helpful home repair / improvement teams that have ever done work on our home. Thanks a million Affordable Basement Waterproofing.

1/7/2021

We have been working with Affordable for a couple of years now. To put it lightly, we have the basement from hell. When they arrived, we had some water in the basement and they quoted us based on their normal pricing. Once the concrete came up, we couldn't believe what we were dealing with. It is a constant flow of water that required two sump pits and an insane amount of work to install our drainage system. Every time they tried to dig a pit it would backfill with sand and water- they had to dig this up painstakingly- foot by foot. We thought for sure we were in for additional costs, but they stuck by the original estimate. Since then, any time we have had an issue or a question, they are quick to answer. Poor Kelly and Bobby probably recognize our number on the caller ID but whenever we make a call or send an email, we always get a response- usually with a visit on the same day. We highly recommend this company for their honesty, customer service, and quality work.

2.0 Taylor R. Temple Hills, MD
12/18/2020

Horrible experience. Definitely would not hire them again. Chose them because they were the cheapest but didnâ t realize their estimate didnâ t include taking the discharge lines to the street. When they came to demo I asked if they were going to take everything off like they had in the pictures in the pitch. They werenâ t going to and when they finally covered some stuff they used some of my paint drop cloths that I had without even asking me. The overall process was like pulling teeth. Several occasions someone was scheduled to come do work and no one showed up or called to let me know what was going on. When the job was over they used my broom to sweep dust up again without asking. And it was still a dusty mess when they left. They are extremely hard to get information out of regarding your project. This situation was already stressful and instead of them making it easier or giving me some peace of mind they made it more stressful. Once you factor in the cost of taking the lines to the street theyâ re just as expensive as the other companies. Once you fact one the horrible customer service and lack of professionalism itâ s definitely not worth going with them. Safe yourself the stress.

Response from Company:

Hi Taylor, When we spoke on Friday about the pop ups and Miss Utility I wish you expressed some of these issues you are mentioning. I will agree there were several occasions our company did not communicate properly while we were short staffed, death within the office staff and the office could not handle the call volume due to the rainfall we did fall short but we both had addressed these issues on Friday when we spoke. You had a lot of drywall demolition and a large install. Though we strive to clean up as if it were our own home and broom sweep and clean up to the best of our ability this is construction project work. We have spoke on several occasions and I wish you would have brought this up to me or my staff. I would have certainly addressed this with my demo team and my install team. I know you just bought your home and it has been a very stressful time for you but if you recall when you were told from a plumber your entire main line needed replaced I told you I would help you with the labor even though it had nothing to do with our company to help your situation and that pushed our install date back three weeks from the miscommunication on their end. I also stated to you that I thought it was best that we cancel our agreement at that point that maybe it was not a good fit for both parties and you did not want to do that. Concerning the discharge lines I'm sorry your neighbors are giving you a hard time because of all the water pumping out both discharge lines for this is the request you asked of our company to help rectify the situation by burying the lines to the street. I also "offered" in house financing to you at "cost" over 6 months interest free to help in any way possible. In addition we also paid for the engineer reports. I?m sorry for your poor customer experience and we have for the most part addressed these concerns last week. I feel we have exhausted all efforts internally and externally. Due to the constant changes concerning COVID regulations most of the time our staff has been working from home and though we don't always have the answers right then and there, we will continue to stand behind our work always, continue to communicate with our clients and pride ourselves to make our customers happy. We have a scheduled date sometime the week of December 28th for your final inspection. Lastly, I am willing to send a professional cleaning crew to your home if you wish? I ask you to accept my abject apology. I hope this situation will not become a stumbling block in our relations, and know you can turn to our company for any questions, information or concerns you have in the future. Please know all warranties are in effect and if you need anything from me you have my personal cell phone number. Sincerely, Kelly

5.0 Gloria T. Baltimore, MD
11/11/2020

Very Efficient company, very flexible with your schedule and I havenâ t seen any more water

8/31/2020

You get what you pay for and do not be wowed by a lifetime warranty. They will try to deflect responsibility when you call them for warranty work. Check the BBB. These guys do not even use hydraulic cement for the simplest of repairs. They present themselves well with jackhammers and nice but watch out for the results. This year has been perfect for testing waterproofing strategies. Beware, you have been forewarned!

5.0 Mike W. Fallston, MD
8/16/2020

Affordable Basement Waterproofing did a fantastic job! Vince and Jerry are the "A TEAM," and we were so lucky to have them complete our basement waterproofing! I highly recommend this company. They go above and beyond to ensure your satisfaction.

5.0 Tammy F. Temple Hills, MD
7/18/2020

I am a new homeowner and I purchased the property with the warranty of the previous owner. I needed new batteries for the sump pump and window well cleaning, I recieved immediate service and the warranty was honored. The technicians were very knowledgeable and courteous. I am very impressed with the work that they did in my basement. I would highly recommend this company to anyone needing water proofing. The did a great job.

5.0 Stevew S. Silver Spring, MD
3/3/2020

I had underground water coming into my basement from an unknown source. The men dug a trench along the back wall and put in a French drain that went to a sump pump that they installed. They cleaned all of the work area and dried all of the water on the floor. My home was well protected from all work generated dirt and refuse. I am very impressed and I give them my highest recommendation. I would definitely hire this company again. The sales rep was knowledgeable and explained what needed to be done leaving no questions unanswered.

5.0 Aki W. Waldorf, MD
9/24/2019

Service from top to bottom was wonderful. The project manager (Ken) visited to give us a estimate and he was very thorough in his explanation of what we needed. Jai the project coordinator assisted us in getting our date changed and kept us informed throughout the process. The Prices were fair and the guarantees that they offer makes them hard to match.

Showing 1-10 of 73 results Showing 0 of 0 results

Photos

Affordable Basement Waterproofing, Inc.
13
Interior Waterproofing
18
Past Projects
44
Waterproofing

HomeAdvisor allows Service Professionals to post information about themselves and their business on their profile. HomeAdvisor does not review or verify the information representations set forth in those profiles as they are self-reported by the Service Professional.

HomeAdvisor verifies state-level licensing where applicable - note: some states require local or county level licensing and you should verify whether or not your pro is properly licensed.
To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Licensing Requirements page.

Seal of Approval

What is the screening process that Service Professionals go through in order to become members of the HomeAdvisor network?

  1. Verify Trade License
    HomeAdvisor checks to see if the business carries the appropriate state-level license.
  2. Verify Insurance
    As a part of our screening process, we encourage professionals to carry general liability insurance. We require coverage for hundreds of services.
  3. Verification of State Business Filings
    For business types that require a Secretary of State filing, we confirm that the business is in good standing in the state in which it is located.
  4. Criminal Records Search
    HomeAdvisor uses 3rd party data sources to conduct a criminal search for any relevant criminal activity associated with the owner/principal of the business.
  5. Sex Offender Search
    We confirm that the owner/principal is not listed on the official state Sex Offender web site in the state in which the owner/principal of the company is located.
  6. Bankruptcy Search
    We use 3rd party data sources to check the history of the principal/owner of the business for bankruptcy filings by or against them.
  7. Legal Search for Civil Judgments
    We use 3rd party data sources to check the principal/owner of the business for state level civil legal judgments entered against them.
  8. Liens Search
    We use 3rd party data sources to check the principal/owner of the business for liens placed against them.
  9. Identity Verification (SSN)
    HomeAdvisor verifies the social security number(s) of the owner/principal for identity check purposes. This check applies primarily to smaller business entities.
  10. Identity Verification (Reverse Phone Lookup)
    We conduct a reverse business phone lookup to identify records matching the phone number information provided by the business.



NOTE: Member service professional information confirmed as described above may change or expire over time; while HomeAdvisor attempts to maintain accurate and up-to-date information, and confirms changes when notified, we cannot guarantee that profile and screening information is accurate. Therefore, we recommend that before working with a service professional you verify that information presented is still current and/or acceptable to you.
Please see HomeAdvisor's Terms and Conditions for a full description of how we screen Service Professionals

**Only for U.S. service professionals

Final Step - Confirm Your Appointment:

Confirm your appointment with on , - Change


Required
Required
Required
Required
 
 
 

By clicking Confirm Appointment, you affirm you have read and agree to the HomeAdvisor Terms & Conditions, and you agree and authorize HomeAdvisor and its affiliates, and their networks of Service Professionals, to deliver marketing calls or texts using automated technology to the number you provided above regarding your project and other home services offers. Consent is not a condition of purchase.