HomeAdvisor screened and approved seal

HomeAdvisor Screened & Approved

This service professional has passed the HomeAdvisor screening process.

Learn about our screening process
Learn about our screening process

9 Years In Business

Company Details

  • Verified Licenses

Contact

1046 Menoher Blvd
Johnstown, PA 15905

Hours

  • Mon:
  • Tue:
  • Wed:
  • Thu:
  • Fri:
  • Sat:
  • Sun:
View All Details & Credentials

Achievements

Service Details

  • Residential Work
  • Commercial Work

Areas of Expertise

  • Basement Waterproofing
  • Structural Repair
View All Offerings and Cities Served

Cost Information

  • Free Estimates
  • Warranty Offered

Ratings

4.7
73 Verified Reviews
  • 5
    62
  • 4
    6
  • 3
    3
  • 2
    0
  • 1
    2

Highly rated for

  • Quality
  • Value
  • Customer Service
Showing 1-10 of 73 results
3.0 Lisa W. Altoona, PA
10/22/2023

Ehhh. Most of the job they completed seems fine. We have not had any major issues yet. There is still one smaller issue they have yet to resolve. I reached out and the owner said he would let us know when they could send someone but it has been several weeks now and we have not heard from them. The biggest issue has been communication, which is awful! When we initially met with with owner, he seemed great. He was down to earth and explained things well. After they started there was zero communication. We had no idea what was going on. Suddenly they stopped coming. They did not tell us they were done or explain anything about the new sump pump they installed. We were avoiding parts of the house they had closed off and we were keeping our animals locked in rooms for a few days without them showing. I had to call the owner to find out what happened. The workers also somehow got access to my garage through a code which we had never used and did not know. I personally saw someone get into my house that way instead using the front door. When I asked the owner about it, he basically called me a liar. So again although the job seems fine, the experience was not a good one. I would not use them again.

Response from Company:

We were never informed of any issues, so I'm not sure what they are referring to. They chose not to be home when we did the work which is fine they were at work but I'm not sure why they expected. Our guys were finished in the middle of the afternoon to stand there and wait for them for hours to explain to them, that the sump pump was plugged in and it will turn on and off as needed when they were already told that and that it was maintenance free, and worked on its Own, when we already explained all that to them when we were at their home the first time to show them the product, we never had any such code for a garage door that would be impossible. We have explained this to them numerous times. All it need was the cord pull which we came back there a day because they insisted we broke the garage door and we came back just to pull the cord on the garage door

5.0 Paulette M. Hollidaysburg, PA
10/5/2023

These guys were awesome. They worked so hard and had the job done in two days not four like projected and the basement was so clean. They cleaned everything so well...highly, highly recommend these guys

5.0 Kelly W. Indiana, PA
9/17/2023

Well done

5.0 Tim C. Duncansville, PA
8/25/2023

We hired Braken to solve a water issue in our basement and patio. Dan did a great job explaining what we needed, giving us an estimate. John and his crew were very professional, efficient, and completed the project for the price and time quoted. Very pleased with the results.

5.0 David T. Du Bois, PA
7/10/2023

We chose Dan based on his knowledge of the work that needed done. Repaired bowing walls in the basement, installed a french drain around the perimiter of the basement, installed two sumps and replaced a water damaged sill beam at the top of the foundation. The sill beam damage was caused from an outside patio sloping toward the house. The solution was to remove a portion of the patio (not the entire patio), which provided access to the sill beam and rim joist. Replacing the sill beam required jacking the basement joists up to repair the sag in the floor and install the new sill beam. The patio concrete was repaired neatly with a strip seal drain against the house to catch any water draining toward the house. Nice solution to the the problem. Dan provided the most economical solution to my bowing wall problems, carbon fiber straps for the areas where the wall bowing was less severe and steel beams where the wall bowing was much worse. In comparison to other companies quoted, Dan provided the most repair work for the money and in one case 1/3 less. Dan was able to start work within a week, not months like some companies, and finished the work as indicated, could not have asked for more. When the job was complete the area was cleaned up nicely and the concrete work and sill beam replacement looked great. We are very happy with Dan and would recommend him to anyone needing waterproofing work, most economical, fair, upfront, does what he says and completes the job quickly not over a long period of time.

5.0 Julieanne R. Altoona, PA
7/6/2023

Don't hesitate to hire. Great work. Great company. Always follows through. Responds same day to phone calls.

5.0 Thomas M. Ebensburg, PA
6/17/2023

Some of the big companies charge an exorbitant amount to waterproof your basement. Bracken was very fair and reasonable with their price, as one company wanted 4x more for the same work. Dan was very professional and communicated well throughout the project. Bracken completed the job in the quoted time frame and the work was nicely done. Our basement is now completely waterproof with an interior French drain along the perimeter, carbon fiber straps to reinforce the wall that is bowing, and the downspouts to our gutters rerouted to a dry well. We are very happy with the value, professionalism, and quality of work that Bracken provided. Our family highly and enthusiastically recommends Bracken Waterproofing!

5.0 Erik D. Ebensburg, PA
11/12/2022

A fourth of the price than another quote that I received. Same exact job and solution. Longer warranty. Did it in one day instead of two. Very pleased! Tropical storm yesterday, basement completely dry.

5.0 Marianne S. Huntingdon, PA
7/7/2022

Fantastic job. Dependable. They are super honest and skilled. I am a senior woman age 72, and this basement waterproofing challenge was daunting for me, but Dan B. and his crew put my mind to rest. So glad. Thanks so much!!

5.0 Dave Q. Lewistown, PA
5/9/2022

Had 3 water floods in my basement prior to Brackens internal french drain and sump pump construction. This system has totally eliminated any water evidence in my basement. This past weekend we had 5 inches of rain which in the past before Brackens construction would have meant approximately 10 hours of vacuuming and removing water from my basement. I am totally amazed at how this system has totally removed any water problems in my basement. The crew who did the job were very professional, efficient, and responsible in the construction and cleanup during their time at my house. The money spent on this system has eliminated the stress which my wife and I felt when we were experiencing bad weather which constantly caused basement flooding. It has also eliminated the pain and agony experienced by an old body removing water from a basement for 10 hours. THANK YOU BRACKEN'S WATERPROOFING!!!!!!!!!!!

Photos

10
Basement waterproofing
7
Basement waterproofing
2
internal french drain

HomeAdvisor allows Service Professionals to post information about themselves and their business on their profile. HomeAdvisor does not review or verify the information representations set forth in those profiles as they are self-reported by the Service Professional.

HomeAdvisor verifies state-level licensing where applicable - note: some states require local or county level licensing and you should verify whether or not your pro is properly licensed.
To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Licensing Requirements page.

Seal of Approval

What is the screening process that Service Professionals go through in order to become members of the HomeAdvisor network?

  1. Verify Trade License
    HomeAdvisor checks to see if the business carries the appropriate state-level license.
  2. Verify Insurance
    As a part of our screening process, we encourage professionals to carry general liability insurance. We require coverage for hundreds of services.
  3. Verification of State Business Filings
    For business types that require a Secretary of State filing, we confirm that the business is in good standing in the state in which it is located.
  4. Criminal Records Search
    HomeAdvisor uses 3rd party data sources to conduct a criminal search for any relevant criminal activity associated with the owner/principal of the business.
  5. Sex Offender Search
    We confirm that the owner/principal is not listed on the official state Sex Offender web site in the state in which the owner/principal of the company is located.
  6. Bankruptcy Search
    We use 3rd party data sources to check the history of the principal/owner of the business for bankruptcy filings by or against them.
  7. Legal Search for Civil Judgments
    We use 3rd party data sources to check the principal/owner of the business for state level civil legal judgments entered against them.
  8. Liens Search
    We use 3rd party data sources to check the principal/owner of the business for liens placed against them.
  9. Identity Verification (SSN)
    HomeAdvisor verifies the social security number(s) of the owner/principal for identity check purposes. This check applies primarily to smaller business entities.
  10. Identity Verification (Reverse Phone Lookup)
    We conduct a reverse business phone lookup to identify records matching the phone number information provided by the business.



NOTE: Member service professional information confirmed as described above may change or expire over time; while HomeAdvisor attempts to maintain accurate and up-to-date information, and confirms changes when notified, we cannot guarantee that profile and screening information is accurate. Therefore, we recommend that before working with a service professional you verify that information presented is still current and/or acceptable to you.
Please see HomeAdvisor's Terms and Conditions for a full description of how we screen Service Professionals

**Only for U.S. service professionals

Final Step - Confirm Your Appointment:

Confirm your appointment with on , - Change


Required
Required
Required
Required
 
 
 

By clicking Confirm Appointment, you affirm you have read and agree to the HomeAdvisor Terms & Conditions, and you agree and authorize HomeAdvisor and its affiliates, and their networks of Service Professionals, to deliver marketing calls or texts using automated technology to the number you provided above regarding your project and other home services offers. Consent is not a condition of purchase.