CJX Construction and Design, LLC

HomeAdvisor screened and approved seal

HomeAdvisor Screened & Approved

This service professional has passed the HomeAdvisor screening process.

Learn about our screening process
Learn about our screening process

25 Years In Business

Company Details

  • Verified Licenses

Contact

7604 standifer gap road Pto 209
chatanooga, TN 37421

Hours

  • Mon:
  • Tue:
  • Wed:
  • Thu:
  • Fri:
  • Sat:
  • Sun:
View All Details & Credentials

Achievements

Service Details

  • Residential Work
  • Commercial Work

Areas of Expertise

  • Additions and Remodels
View All Offerings and Cities Served

Cost Information

  • Free Estimates

Ratings

4.6
15 Verified Reviews
  • 5
    13
  • 4
    0
  • 3
    1
  • 2
    0
  • 1
    1

Highly rated for

  • Quality
  • Value
Showing 1-10 of 15 results
5.0 Lori K. Chattanooga, TN
5/15/2020

I needed to expand the existing deck. They contacted me to come see the project within 2 days, and then 2 days later showed up to do the estimate and began the work two days after that. All in all the entire contact, estimate and work were all completed in exactly one week. I found them to be very affordable compared to other companies and their work was perfect. I was concerned that my yard is on a hill and that the deck expansion would not be level with the existing deck because of that. I was very wrong - it is perfectly level. In addition, they pointed out that whoever had built the existing deck (prior to my purchasing the home) had left out quite a few screws and there were boards loose in a number of places. They spent an extra 30 minutes reinforcing the existing deck boards and did not charge me anything additional. I highly recommend them and will definitely use them again for future projects.

5.0 Daphany H. Chattanooga, TN
11/11/2019

It was very easy working with Anthony. He listened to what was needed with our project and offered additional advice to what would make the porch repair even better. CJX was quick to respond to our concerns. Project was completed expeditiously and turned out better than anticipated. Looking forward to working with the CJX team on a future project.

5.0 Michelle C. Chattanooga, TN
10/6/2019

Honest hard working team. Always available by phone, always kept the area clean. They advise you as to every aspect of the project. The addition came out great they did the design got all the permits took care of the inspections and subcontractors. I recommend them very highly to all of my associates and friends.

2.5 Fred A. Redbank, TN
4/20/2019

GOOD WORK BUT THEY GOT NEW PROJECTS AND STARTED PUTTING US OFF, SO WE TOLD EACH OTHER BYE AND I FINISHED THE PROJECT MYSELF TONY AND THE CREW WERE NICE, DID GOOD WORK BUT THEY GOT TO BUSY.

1.0 Mike M. Sale Creek, TN
10/2/2017

If you hire them put a time is of the essence clause in the contract. I was told 8 weeks to build our addition and at just short of six months the job was still not complete. I had to negotiate a reduction in price so I could get them out and get the job finished properly. The quality of work was poor and when there was an issue they would say that is the way it is supposed to be or blame the issue on ma the customer. I made a page on Facebook called East Tennessee Contractor Nightmares that show pictures of the bad quality work and how they turned my yard into a garbage dump for 6 months damaging my yard. I recommend you get a very strict contract if you hire them. I would not recommend this company.

Response from Company:

Mike, We are very sorry you were not happy with our services provided to you as we do strive for a 5-Star rating on every project. When we were almost finished with the project we asked you for a punch out list to make it perfect for you and you told us you wanted 10% off. We were stunned and told you that would not be possible. Then you asked us what can you do if you give me something off we're good and everything is great feeling sorry for him and thinking he did not have enough to pay for it also it's 50 miles one way to his project we gave him $4,500 off he said great thanks and we're all good. I did not have the total amount due because I was not prepared to close the project out we relied on his figures. He did it two times and wrote a check when we got to the office I refigured the total due with the file and found out he was almost $1500 off. I texted Mike to let him know and told him we already gave him the $4500 the he needed to pay the balance due of $1500. He sent me a text back and said it looks good will get you a check in the mail and thanks again. Next Friday, I called him because we never received his check this went on for approx. 5 more weeks every Friday I would call and he would tell me Oh sorry will put it right in the mail. Finally we did receive it. After that he started all the bad publicities: lies and pictures of the project. Before we had finished he took pictures during construction and none at the end of the project. We did a great job and we were all very disappointed in Mike to act like this. I guess some people you can't make happy just like trip advisory ratings, you can take a 5-Star resort and there will someone to give a bad review.

5.0 Kathy W. Ooltewah, TN
2/24/2017

Was always available and timely on request and responses.

5.0 Signal Mountain, TN
12/3/2016

Easy to work with

5.0 Jay D. Chattanooga, TN
10/7/2016

THE CONTRACTOR IS KNOWLEDGEABLE, ON TIME, HARD WORKING AND DOING THE RIGHT THING THE FIRST TIME. I ALREADY RECOMMENDED TO OTHER AND ALSO GOT HIM A JOB. -- JAY DESAI.

5.0 Joseph T. Soddy Daisy, TN
2/25/2016

They were fast! They came and were gone in the minimal amount of time.

5.0 John S. Harrison, TN
2/23/2016

We had a makeover of the master bath with a jetted tub, tile flooring, carpentry, painting, baseboards and crown molding. They were meticulous in detail, and attentive to every square inch. You could not ask for better workmanship. I will hire them for my next project.

HomeAdvisor allows Service Professionals to post information about themselves and their business on their profile. HomeAdvisor does not review or verify the information representations set forth in those profiles as they are self-reported by the Service Professional.

To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Licensing Requirements page. Note that some states require local or county level licensing and you should verify whether or not your pro is properly licensed.

Seal of Approval

What is the screening process that Service Professionals go through in order to become members of the HomeAdvisor network?

  1. Verify Trade License
    HomeAdvisor checks to see if the business carries the appropriate state-level license.
  2. Verify Insurance
    As a part of our screening process, we encourage professionals to carry general liability insurance. We require coverage for hundreds of services.
  3. Verification of State Business Filings
    For business types that require a Secretary of State filing, we confirm that the business is in good standing in the state in which it is located.
  4. Criminal Records Search
    HomeAdvisor uses 3rd party data sources to conduct a criminal search for any relevant criminal activity associated with the owner/principal of the business.
  5. Sex Offender Search
    We confirm that the owner/principal is not listed on the official state Sex Offender web site in the state in which the owner/principal of the company is located.
  6. Bankruptcy Search
    We use 3rd party data sources to check the history of the principal/owner of the business for bankruptcy filings by or against them.
  7. Legal Search for Civil Judgments
    We use 3rd party data sources to check the principal/owner of the business for state level civil legal judgments entered against them.
  8. Liens Search
    We use 3rd party data sources to check the principal/owner of the business for liens placed against them.
  9. Identity Verification (SSN)
    HomeAdvisor verifies the social security number(s) of the owner/principal for identity check purposes. This check applies primarily to smaller business entities.
  10. Identity Verification (Reverse Phone Lookup)
    We conduct a reverse business phone lookup to identify records matching the phone number information provided by the business.



NOTE: Member service professional information confirmed as described above may change or expire over time; while HomeAdvisor attempts to maintain accurate and up-to-date information, and confirms changes when notified, we cannot guarantee that profile and screening information is accurate. Therefore, we recommend that before working with a service professional you verify that information presented is still current and/or acceptable to you.
Please see HomeAdvisor's Terms and Conditions for a full description of how we screen Service Professionals

**Only for U.S. service professionals

Final Step - Confirm Your Appointment:

Confirm your appointment with on , - Change


Required
Required
Required
Required
 
 
 

By clicking Confirm Appointment, you affirm you have read and agree to the HomeAdvisor Terms & Conditions, and you agree and authorize HomeAdvisor and its affiliates, and their networks of Service Professionals, to deliver marketing calls or texts using automated technology to the number you provided above regarding your project and other home services offers. Consent is not a condition of purchase.