Carpenter Costin Tree Service

HomeAdvisor screened and approved seal

HomeAdvisor Screened & Approved

This service professional has passed the HomeAdvisor screening process.

Learn about our screening process
Learn about our screening process

85% Recommended

75 Years In Business

Company Details

  • Bilingual

Hours

  • Mon:
  • Tue:
  • Wed:
  • Thu:
  • Fri:
  • Sat:
  • Sun:
View All Details & Credentials

Achievements

Service Details

    Areas of Expertise

    • Tree Care Service
    • Tree Removal
    • Landscape Design & Construction
    View All Offerings and Cities Served

    Cost Information

    • Free Estimates
    • Credit Cards Accepted

    Ratings

    4.3
    27 Verified Reviews
    • 5
      20
    • 4
      2
    • 3
      3
    • 2
      0
    • 1
      2

    Highly rated for

    Showing 1-10 of 27 reviews Showing 0 reviews
    4.0 Neil G. Bradford, MA
    9/22/2020

    Had trees that were touching house removed within two days. I was told someone from the office would call me to schedule a time but they just showed up and took down the trees. Other companies were a month out.

    5.0 S M. Peabody, MA
    8/25/2020

    This company did an excellent job removing a large tree from my yard, as well as, trimming back large bushes. All workers were very professional. I would hire them again!

    2.5 Bob C. Gloucester, MA
    8/14/2020

    I hired them to cut down three trees and trim several large branches from two others. The cutting went well enough until one of their guys used the last 9 ft. section of the trunk as a battering ram on my gate and fence because he was too lazy to have a colleague guide the trunk through. (I watched this from a window and took pictures of the damage). I had to replace a piece of trim and one of the post caps. I still need to use filler on the gouges in the wood. Cleanup was OK for the front yard trees but in the back yard they made no attempt to clean the numerous pieces of wood under two inches in diameter and several branches until I went out with a rake and shamed them into it, and they still left quite a bit. I contacted their supervisor by email and he promised to send a couple of guys to clean up, which never materialized.

    5.0 Marie P. Lynn, MA
    6/16/2020

    Professional knowledgeable courteous exceptional. Would recommend this company to anyone in a heartbeat.

    5.0 Priscilla D. Haverhill, MA
    6/28/2019

    I'm not much for marketing gimmicks but but using your service proved me wrong. Thank you.

    5.0 Paul R. Byfield, MA
    10/31/2018

    They took care not to damage my home or pool while working in close quarters. Cleared all the debris away. Good professional job.

    0.50 Stella C. North Andover, MA
    6/21/2018

    I asked to protect the tree and the job was poorly executed. After I asked to come back and fix the issue, for over 2 months they promised to get it done, and never did. I will never hire again, poor professionalism, no customer service, low expertise, waste of my time and money.

    Response from Company:

    A certified arborist met with Stella C. and made several recommendations. One was the removal of a badly split tree and a significant amount of other work which came to more than a day's work. Stella C wanted to keep the cost of all work to only 1 day. Instead of removing the split tree as the arborist recommended, the tree was cabled to reduce cost. Due to the split, the cable failed and further splitting made the tree unsafe. Our recommendation, again, is to take the tree down at this time.

    0.50 Brendan L. Wakefield, MA
    12/19/2017

    This was the worst decision I’ve made for work at my home. I paid them 3 weeks ago and they have only completed half of the work. I hired Carpenter Costin who gave me a quote to remove 3 trees, grind all stumps, and remove all wood. The work was supposed to be completed at the end of November. They came out and cut down two trees on November 30th. When they finished for the day they asked me for the check (which I foolishly gave them) and they cashed that on December 4th. They left half the wood. After several calls they at least came back and took that away a week later. Today is December 19th and 1 of the trees is still standing and the stump work has not been completed. After calling them 3-4 times a week and being fed excuses like re on the list're shooting to be there tomorrow our stump guy has't shown up and we don't know where he is They finally informed me they would not be able to complete the work and offered me a $300 refund. A $300 refund, for the 3 stumps and 1 tree they didn't cut down and for lying to me for three weeks. Thanks. I wish home advisor let me upload pictures so I could show you what my yard looks like and the quote they sent me. This is the first tree work I've ever had done so I don't have anyone to compare this to. Even so I would highly recommend you never use this company for anything. I now need to find another company to come out and finish the work that Carpenter Costin couldn't handle.

    Response from Company:

    The General Manager met with Mr. Lynch, prior to start of job and confirmed that we were taking down only 2 trees. There was never any agreement to take down 3 trees. On Thursday 11/30/17 We took down 1 enormous tree and 1 medium sized tree with a crane. On that same day we picked up 2 loads of the wood. We returned on Monday 12/4/17 and picked up the remainder of the wood. We were delayed due to snow and returned to grind the stumps on 12/20/17. We apologize for the delay in getting the stumps done. The rest of the job was done as promised at the end of November with the final load of wood picked up on Monday after the weekend.

    4.5 Chris G. Amesbury, MA
    10/25/2017

    This company was very professional and good workers. They removed some trees and trimmed some trees for me and they got done even more than they thought they would in the day. Their expertise was impressive.

    Showing 1-10 of 27 results Showing 0 of 0 results
    Page 1 of 3

    Photos

    Carpenter Costin Tree Service
    2
    Residential Design Work
    9
    Backyard Blue Stone Patio
    8
    Medford-Lawrence Estates
    5
    Navy Yard Tree Pruning
    3
    Detail Focused Patio
    3
    Stone wall/walkway/patio
    4
    Before/After Patio & Sod
    4
    Before/After Salem House

    HomeAdvisor allows Service Professionals to post information about themselves and their business on their profile. HomeAdvisor does not review or verify the information representations set forth in those profiles as they are self-reported by the Service Professional.

    HomeAdvisor verifies state-level licensing where applicable - note: some states require local or county level licensing and you should verify whether or not your pro is properly licensed.
    To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Licensing Requirements page.

    Seal of Approval

    What is the screening process that Service Professionals go through in order to become members of the HomeAdvisor network?

    1. Verify Trade License
      HomeAdvisor checks to see if the business carries the appropriate state-level license.
    2. Verify Insurance
      As a part of our screening process, we encourage professionals to carry general liability insurance. We require coverage for hundreds of services.
    3. Verification of State Business Filings
      For business types that require a Secretary of State filing, we confirm that the business is in good standing in the state in which it is located.
    4. Criminal Records Search
      HomeAdvisor uses 3rd party data sources to conduct a criminal search for any relevant criminal activity associated with the owner/principal of the business.
    5. Sex Offender Search
      We confirm that the owner/principal is not listed on the official state Sex Offender web site in the state in which the owner/principal of the company is located.
    6. Bankruptcy Search
      We use 3rd party data sources to check the history of the principal/owner of the business for bankruptcy filings by or against them.
    7. Legal Search for Civil Judgments
      We use 3rd party data sources to check the principal/owner of the business for state level civil legal judgments entered against them.
    8. Liens Search
      We use 3rd party data sources to check the principal/owner of the business for liens placed against them.
    9. Identity Verification (SSN)
      HomeAdvisor verifies the social security number(s) of the owner/principal for identity check purposes. This check applies primarily to smaller business entities.
    10. Identity Verification (Reverse Phone Lookup)
      We conduct a reverse business phone lookup to identify records matching the phone number information provided by the business.



    NOTE: Member service professional information confirmed as described above may change or expire over time; while HomeAdvisor attempts to maintain accurate and up-to-date information, and confirms changes when notified, we cannot guarantee that profile and screening information is accurate. Therefore, we recommend that before working with a service professional you verify that information presented is still current and/or acceptable to you.
    Please see HomeAdvisor's Terms and Conditions for a full description of how we screen Service Professionals

    **Only for U.S. service professionals

    Final Step - Confirm Your Appointment:

    Confirm your appointment with on , - Change


    Required
    Required
    Required
    Required
     
     
     

    By clicking Confirm Appointment, you affirm you have read and agree to the HomeAdvisor Terms & Conditions, and you agree and authorize HomeAdvisor and its affiliates, and their networks of Service Professionals, to deliver marketing calls or texts using automated technology to the number you provided above regarding your project and other home services offers. Consent is not a condition of purchase.