Cedar Mill Fence Company

4.44 |30 Verified Ratings
Write a Review

Cedar Mill Fence Company

4.44 | 30 Verified Ratings
Write a Review

312-267-2664

1805 Ashley Road
Morris, IL 60450
 
Share
Your use of our services is governed by our Terms & Conditions

Profile
Cedar Mill Fence Company


At Cedar Mill Fence Company, we strive to provide the highest quality workmanship, customer service and overall satisfaction on every job we are awarded. We pride ourselves in being a fourth generational business and strive to continue the same quality. Customers are always in good hands working with "Our Family". Thank you for the opportunity to service your request.

Achievements

Learn how HomeAdvisor screens and approves their pros.

Service Area

  • Gary
  • Aurora
  • Joliet
  • Carol Stream
  • Hammond
  • Naperville
  • Shorewood
  • Elgin
  • Downers Grove
  • Bensenville
  • Plainfield
  • Valparaiso
  • Oak Brook
  • Lockport
  • Glen Ellyn
  • Hinsdale
  • Batavia
  • Crown Point
  • Wheaton
  • Glendale Heights
  • Dyer
  • Bolingbrook
  • Oak Lawn
  • Crest Hill
  • Park Forest
  • Saint Charles
  • Wood Dale
  • Homer Glen
  • Merrillville
  • West Chicago
  • Bloomingdale
  • Mokena
  • Plano
  • Shelby
  • Darien
  • Sugar Grove
  • Lowell
  • Elburn
  • Villa Park
  • Crete
  • Momence
  • Elmhurst
  • Roselle
  • Mooseheart
  • Grant Park
  • Wheeler
  • Frankfort
  • Braceville
  • Channahon
  • Schneider
  • Coal City
  • Morris
  • Essex
  • Cedar Lake
  • Whiting
  • Hampshire
  • Lake Station
  • Pembroke Township
  • Chebanse
  • Minooka
  • Clarendon Hills
  • Romeoville
  • Beverly Shores
  • Eola
  • Chesterton
  • Geneva
  • Woodridge
  • Aroma Park
  • East Chicago
  • Wayne
  • Montgomery
  • Hoffman Estates
  • South Elgin
  • North Aurora
  • Westmont
  • Griffith
  • Addison
  • Bradley
  • Leroy
  • Willowbrook
  • Bonfield
  • Yorkville
  • Hobart
  • Chicago
  • Lombard
  • Braidwood
  • Oswego
  • Carpentersville
  • Manhattan
  • Warrenville
  • Bourbonnais
  • Saint John
  • Dundee
  • Elwood
  • Lisle
  • Wilmington
  • Peotone
  • Medinah
  • Evergreen Park
  • Portage
  • See All >

Services Offered

Fences

Areas of Expertise

  • Fences
  • Custom cedar fences
  • Professional pre staning before installation
  • Custom aluminum fences

Quick Facts

Business Hours
(Please call to confirm)
  • Free Estimates
  • Credit Cards Accepted

Credentials

In Business Since: 1974
Awards
  • BBB Accredited Business!
Screening
HomeAdvisor Screened. View Details

HomeAdvisor allows Service Professionals to post information about themselves and their business on their profile. HomeAdvisor does not review or verify the information or representations set forth in those profiles, as they are self-reported by the Service Professional.

HomeAdvisor verifies state-level licensing where applicable - note: some states require local or county level licensing and you should verify whether or not your pro is properly licensed.
 

Photos
Cedar Mill Fence Company


My Work
7 Projects
HomeAdvisor: The nation's largest network of screened and rated pros.

Ratings & Reviews
Cedar Mill Fence Company

Real feedback from real homeowners.
Learn more about this pro by reading the ratings and reviews below.
Write a Review
Showing 1-10 of 30
  Page 1 of 3
Sort by newest   Date ▼   Rating  
5.0   |  
Review by in Downers Grove, IL
Great experience from start to finish.
Was this review helpful?  
5.0   |  
Review by in Aurora, IL
Dan was great to work with and the fence went up just as planned, no problems, the fence looks great
Was this review helpful?  
0.5   |  09-14-2018
Worst business experience we ever had. The contract never lists their warranty, so it is only verbal. We hired Cedar Mill to add an additional aluminum fence next to an existing aluminum fence. They erected the fence with a few things left to be done when we realized over half the posts had paint jobs that were defective with grayish brown discolored spots, big blotches and large patches, and every post had numerous nicks, dings, scratches, scrapes, and scuffs which were not from installation. Most of the posts looked like they were dropped or dragged on gravel and none of the posts were acceptable by any standard as new posts. They either under or over poured the cement (not concrete because they never used aggregate like sand or small stone). The second day after a torrential rain that filled the holes to the top with water, they just shoveled Portland cement and 1+ inch stone into the holes mixing everything with a big rod overflowing everything into the grass. They were a foot off on one side of the fence making the adjacent side angled. And if it wasn't bad enough, every post was not acceptable, a part of the fence sections had either bad paint jobs or excessive scratches. They tied into the existing fence voiding the warranty instead of putting up a post next to it and then they defaced the existing fence by tearing off the stickers of the other company peeling away the paint. They laid the four gates with plastic on the grass for two days in 90+ degree weather burning out the grass and the plastic adhered itself to the gates which requires chemicals to remove the film. They were supposed to remove the dirt and put our handles on the fence which was in the contract, and when my wife talked to Mike, he said they don't remove dirt unless we pay for it and if we put our cheap locks (actually expensive) on their fence that he won't warranty it. I was angry that he got hostile with my wife and his comment to her was Dan only works here and I am the boss who makes the decisions. We called the salesman Dan out and he suggested they could paint all the posts which was not acceptable. When I asked him if he would accept the job at his home, he said he wouldn't. I told the salesman that it looked like they bought the fence and posts from a second hand sale. The salesman took photos telling us he would talk to the owner and get back to us with a solution later in the afternoon which never happened and by the next morning we still heard nothing from the salesman. Since we only had a $200 deposit and the fence was not yet totally finished, we fired The Cedar Mill via e-mail and certified mail requesting they remove their fence, posts, and concrete from our property, and we never heard from them again. We hired the company that did our original fence to do the job for us the correct way. In order for the other company to install the new fence we were forced to take down the Cedar Mill fence, remove 36 posts using an auger down 36 inches below ground, then digging them out by hand the rest of the way and partially removing another 18 posts so these would not interfere with the new fence install. When we removed the posts, we realized that there was something wrong and we discovered they never used an aggregate with the cement like sand and small stone which is what makes concrete. Most of the posts came out in sections as they broke quite easily as they weren't concrete. One gate post had already started to disintegrate when we were digging it out and with the poor quality of the poured cement, this fence wouldn't have lasted very long. Since they abandoned their fence forcing us to remove it and the concrete, we were forced to file a lawsuit against them for time and expenses to remove their fence since we never paid them for the fence and it was their fence. I have 2000 or more pictures of this disgusting fence. You can see some on Angie's Li...
Was this review helpful?  
5.0   |  
Review by in Naperville, IL
Installation was done quickly and the company responded quickly to any questions or concerns.
Was this review helpful?  
5.0   |  
Review by in Bolingbrook, IL
We couldn't be happier with our fence! We had 5 companies quote this project, and ended up choosing the Cedar Mill to install a pre-stained, board-on-board fence. The entire process was fantastic, Mike followed up after the quote to see if we had any questions, and worked through the process with us. The installers showed up on time, were extremely professional, their work is beautiful, and they completed the job in one day! They left our property in great shape, cleaned up the entire project, and were sure to not disturb the neighbor's yard during the install. I highly recommend the Cedar Mill!
Was this review helpful?  
2.0   |  
Review by in Bolingbrook, IL
Very disappointed! Took over a week to install. Installation of the posts were back filled with dirt by them which means it will rot quickly. They even tried to use one of my old fence posts for the new fence. They left me with no fence between my neighbor and I for five days! The installers asked if they could nail a section of fence to a tree so they wouldnt have to put a post in. Obviously thats not acceptable, and the post they installed wobbles.
Was this review helpful?  
5.0   |  
Review by in Frankfort, IL
Fence and gates look awesome.
Was this review helpful?  
3.0   |  
Review by in Plainfield, IL
Not too careful with the landscaping. Paid $200 extra to remove dirt and they just spread it around
Was this review helpful?  
5.0   |  
Review by in Bradley, IL
Cedar mill did a top notch Job on my new fence and gates, great work and quality service would definitely use again and recommend to others!
Was this review helpful?  
5.0   |  
Review by in Aurora, IL
Was this review helpful?  
Showing 1-10 of 30
  Page 1 of 3

Seal of Approval

What is the screening process that Service Professionals go through in order to become members of the HomeAdvisor network?

  1. Verify Trade License
    HomeAdvisor checks to see if the business carries the appropriate state-level license.
  2. Verify Insurance
    As a part of our screening process, we encourage professionals to carry general liability insurance. We require coverage for hundreds of services.
  3. Verification of State Business Filings
    For business types that require a Secretary of State filing, we confirm that the business is in good standing in the state in which it is located.
  4. Criminal Records Search
    HomeAdvisor uses 3rd party data sources to conduct a criminal search for any relevant criminal activity associated with the owner/principal of the business.
  5. Sex Offender Search
    We confirm that the owner/principal is not listed on the official state Sex Offender web site in the state in which the owner/principal of the company is located.
  6. Bankruptcy Search
    We use 3rd party data sources to check the history of the principal/owner of the business for bankruptcy filings by or against them.
  7. Legal Search for Civil Judgments
    We use 3rd party data sources to check the principal/owner of the business for state level civil legal judgments entered against them.
  8. Liens Search
    We use 3rd party data sources to check the principal/owner of the business for liens placed against them.
  9. Identity Verification (SSN)
    HomeAdvisor verifies the social security number(s) of the owner/principal for identity check purposes. This check applies primarily to smaller business entities.
  10. Identity Verification (Reverse Phone Lookup)
    We conduct a reverse business phone lookup to identify records matching the phone number information provided by the business.



NOTE: Member service professional information confirmed as described above may change or expire over time; while HomeAdvisor attempts to maintain accurate and up-to-date information, and confirms changes when notified, we cannot guarantee that profile and screening information is accurate. Therefore, we recommend that before working with a service professional you verify that information presented is still current and/or acceptable to you.
Please see HomeAdvisor's Terms and Conditions for a full description of how we screen Service Professionals

**Only for U.S. service professionals

Final Step - Confirm Your Appointment:

Confirm your appointment with on , - Change


Required
 
Required
Required
Required