Central Vermont Construction, Inc.

HomeAdvisor screened and approved seal

HomeAdvisor Screened & Approved

This service professional has passed the HomeAdvisor screening process.

Learn about our screening process
Learn about our screening process

32 Years In Business

Company Details


  • Mon:
  • Tue:
  • Wed:
  • Thu:
  • Fri:
  • Sat:
  • Sun:
View All Details & Credentials


Service Details

    Areas of Expertise

    • Asphalt Paving
    • Asphalt Repair
    • Asphalt Sealing
    View All Offerings and Cities Served

    Cost Information

    • Free Estimates
    • Credit Cards Accepted
    • Save 10%

      Save 10% on your estimate go to http://centralvtconstruction ...

      Claim This Deal


    18 Verified Reviews
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    Showing 1-10 of 18 results
    5.0 Linda B. South Burlington, VT

    Great communication, delays due to this summers flooding. When arrived, got it done perfectly, good price, easy to work with. Thanks

    1.0 Sharon Z. Essex Junction, VT

    I hired this contractor for a paving job in August 2022. However the job was quoted at $8,500 and I was billed $11,600. The owner said they hit a second layer of pavement and it would be more money but not much more. $3000 IS much. However, the job looked professional, so I asked the owner, Mike Hamel, to do another job. He forgot about me, but after I called him in October said he would get a crew there before winter kicked in. He send a crew of three, one who was new, one who had never paved before and a supervisor who told me he did not usually operated the large machines. He told me the owner and his wife usually did, but they were in Florida. The supervisor let one of the workers operate the machine to learn and he dumped too much pavement in the middle and on the sidewalk making a hump where the driveway used to be flat. They were supposed to remove gravel so that the pavement was even with the remaining gravel drive and spread the gravel on the gravel section and level it. They merely laid the pavement down. There is a hump in the middle and a 3 or 4 inch drop to the gravel and the pavement is 3 or 4 inches higher than the lawn. I called and texted the owner in November and he said the drop to the driveway is normal. I know it is not as I have had a driveway that was part pavement and gravel before. Also plenty of VT roads go from pavement to gravel and there is not a 3 or 4 inch different in height. For both jobs they left advertising signs in my property that I had to dispose of. The first job they put photos of my job without permission on Facebook. Telling the owner did not post photos of the 2nd crap job. The owner has not responded to me since November. Also the companys website says it is BBB accredited and has an A+ BBB rating and I just discovered its not and has a B- rating.

    1.0 Susan C. Essex Junction, VT

    I hired a Contractor to come out and remove my old driveway and put in a new one. He told me the price would be $6,000.00 or $6500.00 depending on the depth of the old driveway. I got a bill for $12,562.00 and I have puddles in the driveway. He agreed to give me some money back and haven't heard from him since. He also agreed to come and look at the puddles in the driveway and haven't heard from him since.

    Response from Company:

    The homeowner was reimbursed $3,375. Two layers of driveway was found upon initial excavation. This required more man power, more time, more wear/tear on our equipment and we incurred more cost to dispose of the old asphalt driveway to be recycled.

    5.0 Xolo B. Washington, VT

    This was amazing I love this app.

    0.50 Patty C. Colorado Springs, CO

    Not a good experience! Shoddy work, overcharging on invoices and zero integrity!

    Response from Company:

    We made an agreement with the homeowner to satisfy our commitment to finishing the work and adjusted our final invoice due to her.

    4.0 Richard T. West Berlin, VT

    They did a good job

    4.0 Peter W. Williston, VT

    Quick reply, fast estimate, soon scheduled, and done the job. Maybe too fast: the edges of the new pavement were uneven and jagged, but, on my request, they came back and fixed them. But also, with every rain, deep puddles form a few feet in front of the garage. I regret not having explicitly specified before the job that I expect the water to run off--but should I have to.

    5.0 Jeffrey j J. S Burlington, VT

    Very pleasant to deal with and the job came out great. Hard working small company who are bucking heads with the "the big boys" , for the quality and the price , I highly recommend them.

    4.0 Lilian S. West Topsham, VT

    them very very good, have good support

    5.0 Patrick H. Essex Junction, VT

    CVC provided an estimate quickly. They followed through with excellent work at a fair price.


    Central Vermont Construction, Inc.
    New Roof Worchester
    Roof Montpelier, Vermont
    Roof Montpelier, Vermont
    Stowe, Vermont
    Residential roof Stowe VT
    Residential roof
    Residential roof Barre Ve
    Residential Home Barre,Vt
    Elks Club, Montpelier,Vt
    Residential Driveway
    Grandview Condominiums
    Residential driveway
    Residential driveway
    Home Driveway
    Crossroads Beverage
    Resid. Driveway, E.Mont.
    Resid. Driveway, Stowe
    NCFCU, Colchester, VT
    Natural Foods, Waterbury

    HomeAdvisor allows Service Professionals to post information about themselves and their business on their profile. HomeAdvisor does not review or verify the information representations set forth in those profiles as they are self-reported by the Service Professional.

    HomeAdvisor verifies state-level licensing where applicable - note: some states require local or county level licensing and you should verify whether or not your pro is properly licensed.
    To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Licensing Requirements page.

    Seal of Approval

    What is the screening process that Service Professionals go through in order to become members of the HomeAdvisor network?

    1. Verify Trade License
      HomeAdvisor checks to see if the business carries the appropriate state-level license.
    2. Verify Insurance
      As a part of our screening process, we encourage professionals to carry general liability insurance. We require coverage for hundreds of services.
    3. Verification of State Business Filings
      For business types that require a Secretary of State filing, we confirm that the business is in good standing in the state in which it is located.
    4. Criminal Records Search
      HomeAdvisor uses 3rd party data sources to conduct a criminal search for any relevant criminal activity associated with the owner/principal of the business.
    5. Sex Offender Search
      We confirm that the owner/principal is not listed on the official state Sex Offender web site in the state in which the owner/principal of the company is located.
    6. Bankruptcy Search
      We use 3rd party data sources to check the history of the principal/owner of the business for bankruptcy filings by or against them.
    7. Legal Search for Civil Judgments
      We use 3rd party data sources to check the principal/owner of the business for state level civil legal judgments entered against them.
    8. Liens Search
      We use 3rd party data sources to check the principal/owner of the business for liens placed against them.
    9. Identity Verification (SSN)
      HomeAdvisor verifies the social security number(s) of the owner/principal for identity check purposes. This check applies primarily to smaller business entities.
    10. Identity Verification (Reverse Phone Lookup)
      We conduct a reverse business phone lookup to identify records matching the phone number information provided by the business.

    NOTE: Member service professional information confirmed as described above may change or expire over time; while HomeAdvisor attempts to maintain accurate and up-to-date information, and confirms changes when notified, we cannot guarantee that profile and screening information is accurate. Therefore, we recommend that before working with a service professional you verify that information presented is still current and/or acceptable to you.
    Please see HomeAdvisor's Terms and Conditions for a full description of how we screen Service Professionals

    **Only for U.S. service professionals

    Final Step - Confirm Your Appointment:

    Confirm your appointment with on , - Change


    By clicking Confirm Appointment, you affirm you have read and agree to the HomeAdvisor Terms & Conditions, and you agree and authorize HomeAdvisor and its affiliates, and their networks of Service Professionals, to deliver marketing calls or texts using automated technology to the number you provided above regarding your project and other home services offers. Consent is not a condition of purchase.