HomeAdvisor screened and approved seal

HomeAdvisor Screened & Approved

This service professional has passed the HomeAdvisor screening process.

Learn about our screening process
Learn about our screening process

93% Recommended

9 Years In Business

Company Details

Contact

7476 Makaa Street
Honolulu, HI 96825

Hours

  • Mon:
  • Tue:
  • Wed:
  • Thu:
  • Fri:
  • Sat:
  • Sun:
View All Details & Credentials

Achievements

Service Details

    Areas of Expertise

    • Carpentry
    • Handyman
    View All Offerings and Cities Served

    Cost Information

    • Free Estimates

    Ratings

    4.7
    15 Verified Reviews
    • 5
      14
    • 4
      0
    • 3
      0
    • 2
      0
    • 1
      1

    Highly rated for

    • Quality
    • Customer Service
    Showing 1-10 of 15 reviews Showing 0 reviews
    5.0 Ernie C. Honolulu, HI
    2/15/2020

    This has been the best experience I've had with a contractor -ever, and at age 70 , I've dealt with many. Prompt, no nonsense, efficiency. And priced beyond fairly. Plan to rehire for a large carpentry job. After enduring a life time of "no have, no can, no more", what a pleasant surprise.

    5.0 Kathleen P. Ewa Beach, HI
    11/18/2019

    Very hard working, dedicated to do the job right, and very easy to work with. Friendly, courteous, very supportive and prepared! Will call on him again! He is also one of our country's servicemen actively serving in the military. Really great guy!

    5.0 Michael C. Kailua, HI
    11/9/2019

    Excellent work and customer service! Little pricey.

    Response from Company:

    Aloha and thank you for allowing me to install your new window AC unit. I am glad I was able to do multiple jobs for you and your amazing and fun family. I know that it is a huge price difference from the mainland and Oahu. I felt the same way when I first moved here. Just because I understand how that affects military families, I offer you a 10% discount on the next job or repairs you need. Mahalo to you and your family and welcome to the island.

    5.0 Gayle C. Honolulu, HI
    8/1/2019

    Efficient, courteous and on time! Did other work for me while he was here. Would definitely hire again.

    0.50 Marichris D. Aiea, HI
    7/17/2019

    Thought he was professional when he did the initial quote and seemed like a nice guy when he did the job for us. We even fed him lunch and made sure he was hydrated. But when I found out from my husband that he was not satisfied with his work, I reached out to Chipi and asked if we could get a partial refund since we were not happy with the job. I told Chipi we were gonna honor his time and was not asking for a full refund. But he declined and offered to fix what he did (although my husband took apart what Chipi did and rebuilt it himself) and I kindly told him we do not need his deck service, and then he offered to give a discount on a future job. I again, kindly noted we do not need his assistance on a future job. He did not want to compromise on a price adjustment even though we were not satisfied. I am a small business owner myself, and I am all for helping other local business owners out, so it is very unfortunate that Chipi did not want to accommodate in any way especially since the clients were not pleased.

    Response from Company:

    Please stop trying to bash my business when the job I did for your husband was purely a favor. Yes at the start, it was going to be under contract but you decided not to. After a few weeks of talking with your husband, we decided that it would only be a favor and to cut down on all. Not under my business but a vet to vet favor. He asked me to use his old materials that were rusted and warped. As a favor, he barely even helped to get it together so I did all of it on my own. He only helped to bring the supplies inside. You did not have all of the materials required and were short on flooring materials. Your husband asked me to use the lefto

    5.0 Don H. Kaneohe, HI
    5/10/2019

    Mr. Chipi did a Great job installing two dishwashers. We would hire him for most any handyman task!

    5.0 Kay L. Honolulu, HI
    3/21/2019

    He came when he said he would. Very nice guy. Quick. Polite.

    5.0 Terri L. Kaneohe, HI
    12/6/2018

    efficient and nice to work with

    5.0 Sam A. Honolulu, HI
    11/27/2018

    Chipi's was fast, efficient and courteous. Would definitely use him and home advisor again.

    Response from Company:

    Thank you Sam. It was a pleasure meeting you and I hope to continue working with you in the future.

    Showing 1-10 of 15 results Showing 0 of 0 results
    Page 1 of 2

    Photos

    Chipi's Custom Carpentry
    4
    Deck

    HomeAdvisor allows Service Professionals to post information about themselves and their business on their profile. HomeAdvisor does not review or verify the information representations set forth in those profiles as they are self-reported by the Service Professional.

    HomeAdvisor verifies state-level licensing where applicable - note: some states require local or county level licensing and you should verify whether or not your pro is properly licensed.
    To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Licensing Requirements page.

    Seal of Approval

    What is the screening process that Service Professionals go through in order to become members of the HomeAdvisor network?

    1. Verify Trade License
      HomeAdvisor checks to see if the business carries the appropriate state-level license.
    2. Verify Insurance
      As a part of our screening process, we encourage professionals to carry general liability insurance. We require coverage for hundreds of services.
    3. Verification of State Business Filings
      For business types that require a Secretary of State filing, we confirm that the business is in good standing in the state in which it is located.
    4. Criminal Records Search
      HomeAdvisor uses 3rd party data sources to conduct a criminal search for any relevant criminal activity associated with the owner/principal of the business.
    5. Sex Offender Search
      We confirm that the owner/principal is not listed on the official state Sex Offender web site in the state in which the owner/principal of the company is located.
    6. Bankruptcy Search
      We use 3rd party data sources to check the history of the principal/owner of the business for bankruptcy filings by or against them.
    7. Legal Search for Civil Judgments
      We use 3rd party data sources to check the principal/owner of the business for state level civil legal judgments entered against them.
    8. Liens Search
      We use 3rd party data sources to check the principal/owner of the business for liens placed against them.
    9. Identity Verification (SSN)
      HomeAdvisor verifies the social security number(s) of the owner/principal for identity check purposes. This check applies primarily to smaller business entities.
    10. Identity Verification (Reverse Phone Lookup)
      We conduct a reverse business phone lookup to identify records matching the phone number information provided by the business.



    NOTE: Member service professional information confirmed as described above may change or expire over time; while HomeAdvisor attempts to maintain accurate and up-to-date information, and confirms changes when notified, we cannot guarantee that profile and screening information is accurate. Therefore, we recommend that before working with a service professional you verify that information presented is still current and/or acceptable to you.
    Please see HomeAdvisor's Terms and Conditions for a full description of how we screen Service Professionals

    **Only for U.S. service professionals

    Final Step - Confirm Your Appointment:

    Confirm your appointment with on , - Change


    Required
    Required
    Required
    Required
     
     
     

    By clicking Confirm Appointment, you affirm you have read and agree to the HomeAdvisor Terms & Conditions, and you agree and authorize HomeAdvisor and its affiliates, and their networks of Service Professionals, to deliver marketing calls or texts using automated technology to the number you provided above regarding your project and other home services offers. Consent is not a condition of purchase.