HomeAdvisor screened and approved seal

HomeAdvisor Screened & Approved

This service professional has passed the HomeAdvisor screening process.

Learn about our screening process
Learn about our screening process

96% Recommended

66 Years In Business

Company Details

Hours

  • Mon:
  • Tue:
  • Wed:
  • Thu:
  • Fri:
  • Sat:
  • Sun:
View All Details & Credentials

Achievements

Service Details

    Areas of Expertise

    • HVAC
    View All Offerings and Cities Served

    Cost Information

    • Free Estimates
    • Credit Cards Accepted

    Ratings

    4.9
    27 Verified Reviews
    • 5
      26
    • 4
      0
    • 3
      0
    • 2
      1
    • 1
      0

    Highly rated for

    • Quality
    • Value
    • Customer Service
    Showing 1-10 of 27 reviews Showing 0 reviews
    5.0 David P. Bronx, NY
    10/3/2020

    Cye was great to work with. He was thorough, thoughtful in his assessment of our needs, and open to discussing different plans and price points. His team was knowledgeable, knew their specific roles for the full install, and worked diligently to complete the job ahead of schedule. Cye's customer service was great, including following up a week after the installation to ensure that everything was working to our specifications. He even came back to make some minor adjustments we needed after the hurricane hit our area at no charge to us. We were very pleased with Cye's overall service, and we would recommend Cye's HVAC to anyone looking for high quality service in this area.

    2.0 Robert D. Bronx, NY
    9/1/2020

    I wanted to like Cyes HVAC: I read the reviews before hiring him - and they were quite good. I liked that he was a military Vet and like me, he lived in the Bronx/Yonkers/Mt. Vernon area. I also learned while speaking with him, that he has a full-time job as the heating/cooling manager at CUNY (City College in Manhattan) where I once taught. So my wife and I hired him in early January 2019 to install a Daikin HVAC system (mini-split ductless): two outdoor compressors and five indoor air circulators. The price was reasonable - better than the official Daikin installers - sometimes it helps hiring a small business to do the work - and sometimes it doesnt. The installation took quite some time - Id say about seven weeks at the minimum. Part of the problem was that Cye works full-time and could only do the work at night or on weekends. He also had one assistant (his wife), who was learning the business - in other words she was able to hold a flashlight, hand Cye a hammer or drill, etc. She proved to be a problem at times: for example while using a drill she managed to drill through the frame of one of our newly installed fiberglass (Andersen) windows. We were alerted to this error by another contractor who was working on the house at the same time - both Cye and his wife did not tell us what had happened - we had to point out the problem to them they caused...Yes I understand people make mistakes - but you have to fess up to the mistakes you made - just tell the owner of the house! Anyway, based upon this and similar problems, I would not let Cyes wife into our house again - and I recommend that if you decide to hire Cye, do not let him use his wife as his assistant. I waited to write this review to see how the system Cye installed would perform over the course of two summers. I can now say this: two of the indoor air circulators Cye installed were tilted in the wrong direction. In order to properly drain condensate (as your circulator cools the room it runs air over a freon line - the cooling air releases moisture into a pan in the circulator). If the circulator is not tilted correctly, for example the angle is insufficient, the water collects in the pan and eventually overflows into the room...drip drip drip - and ruins furniture, floors etc.) Not only did Cye NOT properly install the circulator at the proper angle, HE MADE A CRITICAL ERROR (ON TWO DIFFERENT CIRCULATORS) SLANTING THEM IN THE WRONG DIRECTION. In other words, to properly drain water (condensate) to the outside of the house, these two indoor circulators needed to drain to the left. BUT CYE INSTALLED THESE TWO CIRCULATORS TO DRAIN TO THE RIGHT! A terrible, stupid mistake - that caused drip drip drip in our house...We then needed to hire someone else to fix the problem that Cye caused from a careless error...a basic error in installation. Very (very) careless on Cyes part. Indeed if there is the one takeaway from this review it is this: Cye is careless (his wife is the same). This basic error cost us an additional $750 to correct. Shame on Cye and his wife - a basic installation error! How can someone be so careless on not one but two set-ups? The bottom line is this: Cye is nice, affable, friendly - I like him a lot as a man. I am rooting for him and his business - he gets lots of nice reviews. BUT I felt it my obligation to warn other homeowners that in a big project in a private home in the Bronx, Cye and his wife failed miserably. I do not recommend hiring them for any large job in your home. Why? I experienced major delays in installation...and the job was not done properly just on a basic level. I think Cye and his wife would be fine doing small jobs that take a day or two. But please, learn from my experience: Cye and his wife are not yet up to the task of properly installing HVAC mini-split (ductless) systems.

    Response from Company:

    It is quite unfortunate that these discrepancies were not brought to my attention. Any and all installations are accompanied with a 2-year labor guarantee. These issues would have easily been addressed and resolved at no further cost to you. However, you chose to bring these issues to my attention over 18 months after the installation of the equipment was completed. In the future when dealing with a contractor please reach out so that any discrepancies can be addressed and rectified.

    5.0 Ramona D. Bronx, NY
    8/19/2020

    Quick and efficient service!

    5.0 Angel T. Bronx, NY
    8/7/2020

    Cye was recommended by a good friend ,upon arranging scheduling with him and looking at existing unit ,which he was willing to service but explained its age itâ s better to replace it was already serviced twice by another company and not holding ,so Cye gave me several options moderate price units and a higher quality unit which was and air condition and had inverted heat ,,, after me picking his brain ,several phone conversations for which he always had patience and return my calls ,I finally decided to go with the better quality unit for which Iâ m happy with his recommendations,installation went well and very professional,,,,he never skimped on material or quality of installation and products he uses on getting the job done ,,,yes I would recommend his whole team on doing the job right ,,,understand he even squeezed me in his busy schedule during the heat wave we had ,,,,,thanks Cyeâ s company and team of workers

    6/19/2020

    A perfect job from start to finish. So excited to have AC and heat.

    6/16/2020

    Cye is my go to man whenever I need anyHVAC work I live in Connecticut and Cye is in NewYork but he still services me and others nearby and is always on time and and his service and communication is top notch I highly recommend him *****

    5.0 Michael B. Tappan, NY
    5/27/2020

    Cye is my new Go To guy for anything with my Central AC. He was clear and honest and personable.

    5.0 Jose G. Bronx, NY
    5/17/2020

    Cye was great he explained my options on my Mitsubishi split unit.When he checked the inside temp when he arrived it was 72 after he made repairs it was 52. I have asthma so I don't do well with the heat. He was very experience and knowledgeable on the system. His professionalism was outstanding.

    5.0 Doris M. Yonkers, NY
    3/6/2020

    MrCye was honest precise professional; I highly recommend him.

    5.0 Kevin G. Brooklyn, NY
    12/9/2019

    Great experience overall. They took the time to get me educated about my options and ultimately ended up down-selling me on the replacement unit because it was the right one for our home. Full furnace and AC repair and 12 months later we are still loving it. Solid, honest pros - the exact kind of people you want working on your home.

    Showing 1-10 of 27 results Showing 0 of 0 results
    Page 1 of 3

    Photos

    Cye's HVAC

    HomeAdvisor allows Service Professionals to post information about themselves and their business on their profile. HomeAdvisor does not review or verify the information representations set forth in those profiles as they are self-reported by the Service Professional.

    HomeAdvisor verifies state-level licensing where applicable - note: some states require local or county level licensing and you should verify whether or not your pro is properly licensed.
    To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Licensing Requirements page.

    Seal of Approval

    What is the screening process that Service Professionals go through in order to become members of the HomeAdvisor network?

    1. Verify Trade License
      HomeAdvisor checks to see if the business carries the appropriate state-level license.
    2. Verify Insurance
      As a part of our screening process, we encourage professionals to carry general liability insurance. We require coverage for hundreds of services.
    3. Verification of State Business Filings
      For business types that require a Secretary of State filing, we confirm that the business is in good standing in the state in which it is located.
    4. Criminal Records Search
      HomeAdvisor uses 3rd party data sources to conduct a criminal search for any relevant criminal activity associated with the owner/principal of the business.
    5. Sex Offender Search
      We confirm that the owner/principal is not listed on the official state Sex Offender web site in the state in which the owner/principal of the company is located.
    6. Bankruptcy Search
      We use 3rd party data sources to check the history of the principal/owner of the business for bankruptcy filings by or against them.
    7. Legal Search for Civil Judgments
      We use 3rd party data sources to check the principal/owner of the business for state level civil legal judgments entered against them.
    8. Liens Search
      We use 3rd party data sources to check the principal/owner of the business for liens placed against them.
    9. Identity Verification (SSN)
      HomeAdvisor verifies the social security number(s) of the owner/principal for identity check purposes. This check applies primarily to smaller business entities.
    10. Identity Verification (Reverse Phone Lookup)
      We conduct a reverse business phone lookup to identify records matching the phone number information provided by the business.



    NOTE: Member service professional information confirmed as described above may change or expire over time; while HomeAdvisor attempts to maintain accurate and up-to-date information, and confirms changes when notified, we cannot guarantee that profile and screening information is accurate. Therefore, we recommend that before working with a service professional you verify that information presented is still current and/or acceptable to you.
    Please see HomeAdvisor's Terms and Conditions for a full description of how we screen Service Professionals

    **Only for U.S. service professionals

    Final Step - Confirm Your Appointment:

    Confirm your appointment with on , - Change


    Required
    Required
    Required
    Required
     
     
     

    By clicking Confirm Appointment, you affirm you have read and agree to the HomeAdvisor Terms & Conditions, and you agree and authorize HomeAdvisor and its affiliates, and their networks of Service Professionals, to deliver marketing calls or texts using automated technology to the number you provided above regarding your project and other home services offers. Consent is not a condition of purchase.