HomeAdvisor screened and approved seal

HomeAdvisor Screened & Approved

This service professional has passed the HomeAdvisor screening process.

Learn about our screening process
Learn about our screening process

14 Years In Business

Company Details


  • Mon:
  • Tue:
  • Wed:
  • Thu:
  • Fri:
  • Sat:
  • Sun:
View All Details & Credentials


Service Details

  • Residential Work
  • Commercial Work

Areas of Expertise

  • Flat concrete
  • Decorative concrete patios, sidewalks, driveways.
  • Stamped, stained, colored concrete.
  • Tear out and replace concrete driveways.
View All Offerings and Cities Served

Cost Information

  • Free Estimates
  • Credit Cards Accepted


36 Verified Reviews
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1

Highly rated for

  • Quality
  • Value
  • Customer Service
Showing 1-10 of 36 results
5.0 Beth S. Overland Park, KS

Polite and hardworking. Good communication throughout the process.

5.0 John S. Overland Park, KS

These people showed up when they said they would and did exactly what we agreed for them to do. They understood my budget and did not push like the others for things outside of what we wanted done. I'm not sure what I expected for cleanup but they left the area spotless. Next time I need concrete work done, I'll know who to call! Thanks you!!!

5.0 Mike G. Olathe, KS

Did the job the way I wanted, when they said they would. Great work ethic!

5.0 Albert B. Gardner, KS

Very professional, started and finished when he said he would. I even had him do some extra work and he still completed the project in the same time frame.

1.0 Katrina M. Olathe, KS

A young man came out to give us a quote, and he seemed to be very knowledgeable. He informed us that the company was changing names from Dickie Construction to Elite Decorative Construction. We decided to go with this company and mailed the initial payment to the address on the invoice (which corresponds to the same address as Dickie Construction). They cashed our check and never performed any work. We tried to contact them on several occasions via phone and email over four months with absolutely no response. Ghosting a client is UNACCEPTABLE behavior from any company. We eventually received a full refund from the company. after reaching out to Home Advisor.

Response from Company:

This customer was on our schedule, the job was scheduled for about one week from when we issued the refund. I don?t understand where the miscommunication happened, but I refunded the full down payment within 2 days of the customers request for refund. My son initially met with this customer, bid the job, and I scheduled the work.

0.50 Charles J. Leawood, KS

I hired them in March of 2022 to replace my driveway, sidewalk and front stoop. It was a $18,000-$20,000 project. Shortly after the work was completed, I notified them about a crack that had formed on my front stoop. I was told repeatedly that they would return the next week to correct the issue. I followed up weekly but continued to be told they would return the "next week". I have a huge crack that runs across my entire front porch and it's now pulling away from my house. It's been 9 months and the poor work has not been corrected but the company was paid in full. Following up on a review I left in November. I was sent a text from James Dickie on 11/7/22. He told me that his son was now responsible for the business and he would contact me early in 2023 to correct the issue with our front stoop (shortly after the work was completed, a sizable crack ran from one side of my front porch to the other). As of 2/27/23, I have had no contact from James or his son and have had to move forward with getting the poor workmanship corrected. James Dickie was paid in full for the job so the cost of the remedy will be on top of what I have already paid to him.

5.0 Dean B. Olathe, KS

Great work, like most construction the owner is old school so response to texts (his preference) goes unanswered or misinterpreted to the work crew. Best to connect to office for information on scheduling and followup. Actual install good but some agreements dropped unless you are very proactive.

4.0 Bob H. Lenexa, KS

The replacing garage floor, driveway and sidewalk was done well. Had issues with backfill and several areas of yard damage to my yard. Talked to Josh about them and he said he would come by, he did not come by or call me back. His lack of concern does not say much for total customer concerns.

5.0 Ken B. Olathe, KS

Highly recommend James Dickie Construction. They did a great job in removing and replacing driveway, garage floor and front sidewalk. Everyone was very professional and friendly. Great communication that was personalized to our situation. Good value for the cost. Very pleased on the final outcome of job.

5.0 Paul C. Olathe, KS

They did a great job. Removed my old driveway and installed a beautiful new one in one day! They made sure the concrete mix was exactly what I ordered. The crew was professional, friendly and cleaned up after themselves. I would highly recommend them.


James Dickie Construction
Decorative concrete

HomeAdvisor allows Service Professionals to post information about themselves and their business on their profile. HomeAdvisor does not review or verify the information representations set forth in those profiles as they are self-reported by the Service Professional.

To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Licensing Requirements page. Note that some states require local or county level licensing and you should verify whether or not your pro is properly licensed.

Seal of Approval

What is the screening process that Service Professionals go through in order to become members of the HomeAdvisor network?

  1. Verify Trade License
    HomeAdvisor checks to see if the business carries the appropriate state-level license.
  2. Verify Insurance
    As a part of our screening process, we encourage professionals to carry general liability insurance. We require coverage for hundreds of services.
  3. Verification of State Business Filings
    For business types that require a Secretary of State filing, we confirm that the business is in good standing in the state in which it is located.
  4. Criminal Records Search
    HomeAdvisor uses 3rd party data sources to conduct a criminal search for any relevant criminal activity associated with the owner/principal of the business.
  5. Sex Offender Search
    We confirm that the owner/principal is not listed on the official state Sex Offender web site in the state in which the owner/principal of the company is located.
  6. Bankruptcy Search
    We use 3rd party data sources to check the history of the principal/owner of the business for bankruptcy filings by or against them.
  7. Legal Search for Civil Judgments
    We use 3rd party data sources to check the principal/owner of the business for state level civil legal judgments entered against them.
  8. Liens Search
    We use 3rd party data sources to check the principal/owner of the business for liens placed against them.
  9. Identity Verification (SSN)
    HomeAdvisor verifies the social security number(s) of the owner/principal for identity check purposes. This check applies primarily to smaller business entities.
  10. Identity Verification (Reverse Phone Lookup)
    We conduct a reverse business phone lookup to identify records matching the phone number information provided by the business.

NOTE: Member service professional information confirmed as described above may change or expire over time; while HomeAdvisor attempts to maintain accurate and up-to-date information, and confirms changes when notified, we cannot guarantee that profile and screening information is accurate. Therefore, we recommend that before working with a service professional you verify that information presented is still current and/or acceptable to you.
Please see HomeAdvisor's Terms and Conditions for a full description of how we screen Service Professionals

**Only for U.S. service professionals

Final Step - Confirm Your Appointment:

Confirm your appointment with on , - Change


By clicking Confirm Appointment, you affirm you have read and agree to the HomeAdvisor Terms & Conditions, and you agree and authorize HomeAdvisor and its affiliates, and their networks of Service Professionals, to deliver marketing calls or texts using automated technology to the number you provided above regarding your project and other home services offers. Consent is not a condition of purchase.