Do Right Builders Remodeling, Inc.

3.69 | 19 Verified Ratings
Write a Review


38708 East Hudson Road
Oak Grove , MO 64075
Your use of our services is governed by our Terms & Conditions

Do Right Builders Remodeling, Inc.

We do people right

Hello my name is Mike McCartney. I'm the owner of Do Right Builders Remodeling, Inc. I have been in business since 2002, and look forward to helping you out.


Learn how HomeAdvisor screens and approves their pros.

Service Area

  • Overland Park
  • Independence
  • Lees Summit
  • Kansas City
  • Mission
  • Leawood
  • Blue Springs
  • Lenexa
  • Liberty
  • Belton
  • Grandview
  • Greenwood
  • Lone Jack
  • Pleasant Hill
  • Raymore
  • See All >

Services Offered

Additions & Remodeling

Areas of Expertise

  • Addition to Existing Structure - Build
  • Major Renovation - Multiple Rooms
  • Bathroom - Remodel

Quick Facts

Business Hours
(Please call to confirm)
  • Free Estimates
  • Credit Cards Accepted


In Business Since: 2002
Memberships & Affiliations
  • National Association of Home Builders
  • Certificate of Good Standing with the State of Missouri
HomeAdvisor Screened. View Details

HomeAdvisor allows Service Professionals to post information about themselves and their business on their profile. HomeAdvisor does not review or verify the information or representations set forth in those profiles, as they are self-reported by the Service Professional.

HomeAdvisor verifies state-level licensing where applicable - note: some states require local or county level licensing and you should verify whether or not your pro is properly licensed.

To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Licensing Requirements page.

Business Overview

How We Got Started

I chose to work in this industry because Its all I've ever done.

I love working in Missouri & Kansas because been around here all my life, its where I've always worked and people in this area to be very friendly.

We started in this industry in 1971.

We describe our business as Family owned and operated

HomeAdvisor: The nation's largest network of screened and rated pros.

Ratings & Reviews
Do Right Builders Remodeling, Inc.

Real feedback from real homeowners.
Learn more about this pro by reading the ratings and reviews below.
Write a Review
Showing 1-10 of 19
  Page 1 of 2
Sort by newest   Date ▼   Rating  
0.5   |  08-13-2019
Review by Nancy F. in Lees Summit, MO
I CANNOT EVEN RATE THEM BECAUSE THERE IS NO NEGATIVE STAR RATINGS! IT IS A TRAP... DO NOT and I repeat DO NOT even waste your time! They do not even know the difference between a corner trim piece and an edge trim piece. I FIRED THEM! One of the workers brought his 12 year old son over while he was working - he told me because Mom had to do something. I am not a DAYCARE - I did no hire you to babysit your kid in MY home! I am now 6 weeks into a s*** quality project and everything has to be torn down and started over!!! What a mess... I Have a list 50+ negative items. The so called owner Mike he is a REAL salesman - we will fix that, I will do that, I will have my men supervised ---NOT! His words are worthless. I have no idea how they even keep getting work? STAY AWAY - my best advice learn from me! Please! He and his workers are i***! One more thing - they moved an outlet and ended up nailing through a hot wire and burned out an outlet in my garage! There could have been a whole house fire... Do not listen to the positive ratings - Warning, Warning. They took almost $12,000.00.
Was this review helpful?  
0.5   |  06-12-2018
Review by Daniel S. in Lawson, MO
Project: Build an Addition
Worst experience ever. Mike took 13 months to finish from the time we signed a contract. Mike ran out of money and we had to pay the sub contractors directly. We have to hire another painter to come in and redo all the painting that was done. Mike kept pulling his guys off this job to go and do other jobs. These are just the highlights of this experience. I could go on and on. I have never had anything stress me out this bad like this did. The only time we heard from the owner Mike was when he wanted money from us.We went 3 months when he would not return our phone calls. We went 6 months without a kitchen. I would not wish this experience on anyone and I hope this helps out the next person. Thank you for your time.
Response by Do Right Builders Remodeling, Inc.: Do Right Builders Remodeling: When we signed the contract on the 5th, we told you it would be about 12-14 weeks before we could get you in our schedule to start, and you agreed to it. We dealt with a lot of rain and heavy wind during this project so when we couldn't work on the job it was due to the weather. Everyone knows you cant build an addition in the rain or with heavy wind. Our framer put the window where the homeowner instructed it to be installed. We don't put them where we want. The floors and ceilings in the existing home were very unlevel when we started and by the time the project was done we had them level. Our electrician had plenty of things to do which included going out multiple times to move wires out of the way from the existing addition. Drywall is a very messy part of the job, but we always make sure it is cleaned up. We don't pull our guys from one job to go to another unless there is absolutely nothing he can do on that job until something else is done. Our general workers are painters as well so they were more than qualified to paint. The reason Dan had to pay the subs directly is because he had me do 16k worth of extra work and then refused to pay, tried saying he didn't know about them, we don't just do 16k worth of work without customers permission. So we agreed to just have him pay the subs directly with the money that he owed me which was not even close to what he owes me. I never ran out of money. This job did not last 13 months, we told you it would be 12-14 weeks to get you in the schedule. We never let any homeowners go very long without a kitchen nor bath, especially not 6 months. Our guys have there own tools that they use and when they need a tool that they don't have they borrow one from me. You placed a heater out during the winter to help keep warm while we were working, we never asked for one or borrowed you tools. I visited this job many times and you wasn't always there when I visited this job. Thank you.

3 of 3 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful?  
5.0   |  
Review by in Kansas City, MO
Couldn't work with better people! Their work is excellent and are willing to please in every way! The people they deal with are all wonderful too. With one exception, the sheet rockers are no longer working for them. Not that they did a bad job but were not as good cleaning after themselves. I have only one regret thus far and that is they are not in any hurry and feel, with the exception of the weather, the basement should have been completed sooner. Other than that I am extremely pleased with both their work and wilingness to please in every way.
Was this review helpful?  
4.0   |  
Review by in Kansas City, MO
The work that this company did was very good. Mike was always on time, and very friendly, and the end result was exactly what we had asked for. The things that weren't great, but I could absolutely live with was: 1. The estimate given for the job was 2 weeks, but it took 3.5. 2. We were told a foreman would be out daily to check on things, but there wasn't. 3. Small details were missed. A door jamb was cut about 1/2 too short, and the bathroom door was cut off to short leaving a large gap between the door and the floor. Overall, they provided exactly what I asked for, and the bathroom they built from scratch is beautiful and fully functional. I would feel confident recommending them.

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful?  
2.5   |  
Review by in Blue Springs, MO
The workers are great, but the price to high

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful?  
5.0   |  
Review by in Independence, MO
Built a kitchen for my house. Tore down a wall between the old kitchen and the garage. When ever I see something I do not like 3 years later, he promptly comes out and repairs/fixes it. Excellent workers. Most value for the money

3 of 3 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful?  
3.0   |  
Review by in Kansas City, MO
The main contractor did a good job, but the sub-contractors he hired for the sheet rock work, did a terrible job.

3 of 3 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful?  
5.0   |  
Review by in Excelsior Springs, MO
Honest ,skilled, and easy to work with.

5 of 7 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful?  
5.0   |  
Review by in Independence, MO
Hired for a partial basement refinishing/remodeling. Friendly and straightforward to work with. Prices were reasonable. They answered my questions, helped me figure out what options I had available, and offered suggestions when appropriate. Quality of work met or exceeded my expectations. Very satisfied overall.

6 of 6 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful?  
5.0   |  
Review by in Belton, MO
honesty from this co. and fun people

5 of 8 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful?  
Showing 1-10 of 19
  Page 1 of 2

Seal of Approval

What is the screening process that Service Professionals go through in order to become members of the HomeAdvisor network?

  1. Verify Trade License
    HomeAdvisor checks to see if the business carries the appropriate state-level license.
  2. Verify Insurance
    As a part of our screening process, we encourage professionals to carry general liability insurance. We require coverage for hundreds of services.
  3. Verification of State Business Filings
    For business types that require a Secretary of State filing, we confirm that the business is in good standing in the state in which it is located.
  4. Criminal Records Search
    HomeAdvisor uses 3rd party data sources to conduct a criminal search for any relevant criminal activity associated with the owner/principal of the business.
  5. Sex Offender Search
    We confirm that the owner/principal is not listed on the official state Sex Offender web site in the state in which the owner/principal of the company is located.
  6. Bankruptcy Search
    We use 3rd party data sources to check the history of the principal/owner of the business for bankruptcy filings by or against them.
  7. Legal Search for Civil Judgments
    We use 3rd party data sources to check the principal/owner of the business for state level civil legal judgments entered against them.
  8. Liens Search
    We use 3rd party data sources to check the principal/owner of the business for liens placed against them.
  9. Identity Verification (SSN)
    HomeAdvisor verifies the social security number(s) of the owner/principal for identity check purposes. This check applies primarily to smaller business entities.
  10. Identity Verification (Reverse Phone Lookup)
    We conduct a reverse business phone lookup to identify records matching the phone number information provided by the business.

NOTE: Member service professional information confirmed as described above may change or expire over time; while HomeAdvisor attempts to maintain accurate and up-to-date information, and confirms changes when notified, we cannot guarantee that profile and screening information is accurate. Therefore, we recommend that before working with a service professional you verify that information presented is still current and/or acceptable to you.
Please see HomeAdvisor's Terms and Conditions for a full description of how we screen Service Professionals

**Only for U.S. service professionals

Final Step - Confirm Your Appointment:

Confirm your appointment with on , - Change


By clicking Confirm Appointment, you affirm you have read and agree to the HomeAdvisor Terms & Conditions, and you agree and authorize HomeAdvisor and its affiliates, and their networks of Service Professionals, to deliver marketing calls or texts using automated technology to the number you provided above regarding your project and other home services offers. Consent is not a condition of purchase.