Out of Network

DownRite Pool & Spa

Find screened and approved pros

This professional is out of network

Let’s find you the best HomeAdvisor screened and approved professionals.

Learn more about HomeAdvisor’s screening and approval process.

15 Years In Business

Company Details

  • Bilingual

Is this your business? Claim it and provide customers with your most up-to-date information.


101 East Okee Chobee Road
Hialeah, FL 33010


  • Mon: 7:00 AM - 4:00 PM
  • Tue: 7:00 AM - 4:00 PM
  • Wed: 7:00 AM - 4:00 PM
  • Thu: 7:00 AM - 4:00 PM
  • Fri: 7:00 AM - 4:00 PM
  • Sat: 8:00 AM - 3:00 PM
  • Sun: Closed
View All Details & Credentials

Service Details

    Areas of Expertise

    • Swimming Pool Contractor - License & Insured
    • Swimming Pool - Remodel; No Leak Evaluation/Detection
    • Swimming Pool - Clean and Maintain for new contruction
    • Swimming Pool: Concrete - Build or Install
    • Only Travertine Decks & other decks with pool construction
    View All Offerings and Cities Served

    Cost Information

    • Free Estimates
    • Credit Cards Accepted


    21 Verified Reviews
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    Showing 1-10 of 21 results
    0.50 Debra L. Pembroke Pines, FL

    I signed my contract in May 2021 for over $60k, and they finally completed it in November 2022. I was not going to write a review initially because I just wanted to be done with this company. But I recently read other reviews and thought I should also share my experience. The funniest thing to me is their responses to clearly honest reviews; they always seem to blame the customer, COVID, supply and demand, etc. So typical! They make every excuse under the moon and never acknowledge how horrible they treat people or their poor business skills! Once you sign and hand over that first payment, you are screwed, and they can treat you however they want. It is disgusting. Also, keep this in mind: payments are due BEFORE they do any work, and you are paid IN FULL BEFORE it is done, so you have ZERO leverage when the workmanship is not good. Do not be fooled by their responses blaming the customer; I was understanding of some of their responses until I lived the nightmare myself. They also have employees who post positive reviews. Roy C. from Miami Springs is Roy Cau, the salesman. Their customer service rep, Amanda, is the only good thing about the company; she is polite and helpful. God bless her; she was so patient with me. The owner, Barbara, is hit or miss as far as her professionalism. Roy, a typical salesman, disappeared after the contract was signed and followed their instructions not to answer my calls. The other owner, Onan, probably has the worst customer service skills ever. Lying, argumentative, and condescending the list goes on! During the entire project, he was seen at my house only once, and he was incredibly rude. I feel like they deliberately delayed my project because I challenged a cost issue early on. I was charged outside my contract for hauling away materials during the initial dig (March 2022), and everything went bad from there. I was home during the dig, and no one asked me or told me about this extra cost; they just did it and sent the bill. I had a coworker who signed his contract after me, and his pool was done in 4 months. BTW, he ordered his own pavers, so the excuse they gave for another bad review is BS. I hate to say this, but maybe my delays were because I am not of their culture. Who knows, but that was another suspicion of mine: I do not speak their language. ALL the work is subcontracted out; they did no actual work other than maintaining the schedule and raising your blood pressure... They were not responsive to repeated emails or phone calls for status updates, and when they did respond, it was with some excuse or something completely unrelated to the question. The quality of the work is OK. Some of the copings already have missing grout, the upgraded blue plaster has spotty white streaks all over, and the pavers are already sinking. Friends say I should call them back to fix everything, seeing as it has not even been a year. There is no way I want them anywhere near me or my property. I will gladly pay for a respectful, polite company to repair it rather than give them one more cent of my hard-earned money or my peace of mind. Here is a basic timeline of what occurred: May 2021: signed contract, November 2021: finally got architect drawings for property done (key word: properly done -- a significant challenge in itself), December 2021: permits submitted, February 2022: permits picked up, initial dig March 2022, and finally done by the end of November 2022.

    Response from Company:

    This customer has been fabricating lies from the beginning of this project. We have completed multiple pool projects with her co-worker and had no issues and have recommended other customers to us. We are a professional and well-trusted company for many years. This review is the first time we hear of all her concerns. Any normal customer would email or contact us with any issues with the pool.

    0.50 Nicolas P. Fort Lauderdale, FL

    Do not hire this company, they are unprofessional. I signed with them a contract in March 2021 and they have been missing since 2 months ago. Barbara keeps telling lies about how I am not cooperating but his team does not have the skills to perform the job. If you want to save time and headaches do not hire them,

    Response from Company:

    We have been unable to move forward for the last 2 months due to Mr Puentes lack of cooperation in removing landscape and root balls where the underground plumbing and electrical pipes will be passing through to install pool equipment. Our plumbers have been out on site numerous of times unable to proceed with the project. Mr Puentes has sorted to leave negative reviews on all sites instead of hiring a professional tree company to resolve this issue so we can move with his pool project which would have been completed by now.

    1.0 Gina M. Hollywood, FL

    Horrible experience, multiple mishaps along the way from wrong tiles installed to wrong magic bowl ordered, 3 months in our tiles/deck is collapsing for a second time and our heater is leaking and they are no where to be found. Does not respond to emails or calls.

    Response from Company:

    Gina Masson review on goggle and home advisor really shocked me. This customer was treated with the utmost respect in every way from the preliminary phase to the end phase. However, Gina & Alex did not return the same respect. They were constantly cursing and bad-mouthing every step of the construction process. Their pool was completed in June 2021 and now they are claiming false accusations simply we are tired of the disrespect. We do honor our warranty as per the contract. The issue with the paver was notified in writing last week and the paver crew is scheduled for repair. It is almost as if they prefer the pool paver to be sinking or any other issue with their pool. Further without hesitation, they posted this review without even troubleshooting our professional response into consideration. Proving this review is solely on basis of being spiteful, exaggeration, and falsehood like everything else they say.

    5.0 Brenda M. Miami, FL

    Downrite built my dream pool. They are very professional, reliable, informative and responsive...I can go on and on. I had a very positive experience and recommend them to anyone. Thank you Downrite.

    5.0 Roy C. Miami Springs, FL

    After receiving several estimates we choose DownRite pools. What a Great company to do business with, first the salesperson who came to our home was very knowledgeable and answered all of our questions. There price was very competitive and we are so glad we chose them. The workmanship was second to none and the workers were so polite. We now have a gorgeous pool for our family to enjoy for years to come. Thank you so much DownRite Pools!

    0.50 Christine T. Hollywood, FL

    I am extremely disappointed in the level of professionalism and integrity the owners, Onan and Barbara (Barbie) Castillo have with their work and clients. Building a pool is a big investment and selecting the right builder is an even bigger decision. Downright Pools did the job fast, however, a few months after completing the job, I noticed my brand new pool had developed 4 rust-like looking spots. Apparently, the shotcrete applied was too thin and/or too close to the rebar structure causing it to stain the surface of the pool. I immediately contacted Onan and he promised to repair it, he said that since (at that time) summer was coming, he suggested that my family enjoyed the pool now and he would repair it during the month of November when it was cooler. I trusted and believed him at that point, so we waited. Then November came and he was a no-show but continued to make false promises, which at that time I still believed. Fast forward about a year of calls, texts, and more empty promises, he does not answer my husband or my calls, and when we go see him in person he continues to say that he will take care of repairing it. Onan wife, Barbie, is even worse, treating you as if she is giving charity and outright says, we are too busy now, we will repair whenever we can... Lady, I paid you all the money as requested in good faith and we signed a contract which you broke. All I want is for Downrite Pools to comply with their part of the agreement, which is to deliver a new pool in a good condition. The sad part is that I just found out they do not even have a contractor license yet, they only have a pool cleaning license. I will do my due diligence to inform the Department of Business and Professional Regulation as well as the Better Business Bureau so that others do not go through the same horrible experience as I did. I am an avid supporter of small businesses, but in this case, if I could go back in time, I would select a reputable company that has time and a proven track record in the industry with verifiable customer reviews and the ability to deliver the services and quality discussed at the moment of signing the contract.

    Response from Company:

    DownRite Pools built this beautiful swimming pool in the City of Miramar a couple of years ago. The entire project from beginning to end was completed in under 6 weeks. Christina Tarude was so impressed she wrote an amazing review and even posted a picture of the family enjoying their swimming pool. You are welcome to see it in our review history. downright Pools provided pool service for over a year after the pool was completed and we never had an issue with staining of any kind. Unfortunately, we had to terminate the pool service for lack of payment from Mrs. Tarude. Shortly thereafter, Christina Tarude notified us of 3 tiny stains in their pool that suddenly appeared. After an in-person inspection, it was evident the stains were caused by iron ingredients found in landscape fertilizing. Not because of the pool walls being too thin. The pool was built with re-inforced 6-inch walls and floors. This surpasses the typical 4-inch concrete walls and floors our competitors normally do. As a result, DownRite Pool's construction warranty does not include staining caused by landscape fertilizing. DownRite Pools learned the hard way not to do any type of future business with the Tarudes because they simply do not pay. The only reason we were finally paid was that Mrs. Tarud was refinancing their home and needed a release of lien affidavit. In conclusion, we recommend the Tarudes put their efforts into contacting a local pool service company to drain the pool and address the pool staining accordingly instead of trying to discredit and defame others. That is not very professional!

    5.0 David G. Fort Lauderdale, FL

    Onan, the owner, took acre of every aspect of the project. By the end the outcome was outstanding. Very happy about my new Pool/Patio

    0.50 Al K. Ashburn, VA

    Stay away from this company. Pay more and get a real quality job. This family is fake my wife warned me, they invited us to church took our money made us pay in full before the job was complete never came back to finish issues with decking collapsing. Please I strongly advise you to go with another company this guy and his wife are liars for 10 months and finally fixed the bad skimmer part never showed us how to use equipment travertine collapsed all around the pool and cracked tiles in the pool never fixed had to report to the state. Please we are real customers with a real problem with this liar we have to pay to repair a problem they caused by doing a horrible job.

    Response from Company:

    We built an outstanding pool & spa combo in the Town of Miami Lakes for Mr. Alan Kahn and finalized all building inspections in record time. Mr. Kahn has been trying to blackmail Downrite Pool & Spa to repairing damages suffered to his travertine deck last November by Tropical Storm ETA. He wants it done for free or else. The problem is Mr. Kahn's pool project is no longer under warranty. So now he has resorted to defamation of character out of spite. This type of childish bullying behavior is embarrassing and speaks volumes about Mr. Kahn's character. This is a symptom of a much deeper problem which he has expressed his personal problems. We even invited him to church. Unfortunately when true colors were revealed. We learned Mr. Kahn is only playing the victim in an effort to manipulate us into having his way which s a behavior pattern he clearly uses to this today.

    0.50 Rey V. Fort Lauderdale, FL

    DownRite built our new pool in Weston Fl and what a horrible experience. They subcontract everything out with NO supervision and good luck getting them to answer your calls. (owners) Onan Cxxxxxxx and Barbie Castillo refuse to setup appointment to go over punch out list. Botched construction and finish include 21 chipped glass tiles, deck is caving in and finish is really bad! They are demanding twice the amount I owe them per our contract via email. Really bad and shady people! Needless to say my attorney is involved in this most likely will end up in litigation.... STAY AWAY FROM Downrite Pool and Spa ! For a more personal review and pictures of botched work pls feel free to contact me. xxx-xxx-xxx

    Response from Company:

    In response to Mr. Valls review, Downrite Pool & Spa completed the construction of his swimming pool in 4 weeks. Mr. Valls has done everything in his power to avoid paying Downrite Pool & Spa the final balance he owes. Downrite Pool & Spa is forced to record a lien in Broward County and obtain an attorney for litigation.

    5.0 Ramiro M. Miami, FL


    DownRite Pool & Spa
    Swimming Pools
    New Construction

    HomeAdvisor allows Service Professionals to post information about themselves and their business on their profile. HomeAdvisor does not review or verify the information representations set forth in those profiles as they are self-reported by the Service Professional.

    To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Licensing Requirements page. Note that some states require local or county level licensing and you should verify whether or not your pro is properly licensed.

    Seal of Approval

    What is the screening process that Service Professionals go through in order to become members of the HomeAdvisor network?

    1. Verify Trade License
      HomeAdvisor checks to see if the business carries the appropriate state-level license.
    2. Verify Insurance
      As a part of our screening process, we encourage professionals to carry general liability insurance. We require coverage for hundreds of services.
    3. Verification of State Business Filings
      For business types that require a Secretary of State filing, we confirm that the business is in good standing in the state in which it is located.
    4. Criminal Records Search
      HomeAdvisor uses 3rd party data sources to conduct a criminal search for any relevant criminal activity associated with the owner/principal of the business.
    5. Sex Offender Search
      We confirm that the owner/principal is not listed on the official state Sex Offender web site in the state in which the owner/principal of the company is located.
    6. Bankruptcy Search
      We use 3rd party data sources to check the history of the principal/owner of the business for bankruptcy filings by or against them.
    7. Legal Search for Civil Judgments
      We use 3rd party data sources to check the principal/owner of the business for state level civil legal judgments entered against them.
    8. Liens Search
      We use 3rd party data sources to check the principal/owner of the business for liens placed against them.
    9. Identity Verification (SSN)
      HomeAdvisor verifies the social security number(s) of the owner/principal for identity check purposes. This check applies primarily to smaller business entities.
    10. Identity Verification (Reverse Phone Lookup)
      We conduct a reverse business phone lookup to identify records matching the phone number information provided by the business.

    NOTE: Member service professional information confirmed as described above may change or expire over time; while HomeAdvisor attempts to maintain accurate and up-to-date information, and confirms changes when notified, we cannot guarantee that profile and screening information is accurate. Therefore, we recommend that before working with a service professional you verify that information presented is still current and/or acceptable to you.
    Please see HomeAdvisor's Terms and Conditions for a full description of how we screen Service Professionals

    **Only for U.S. service professionals

    Final Step - Confirm Your Appointment:

    Confirm your appointment with on , - Change


    By clicking Confirm Appointment, you affirm you have read and agree to the HomeAdvisor Terms & Conditions, and you agree and authorize HomeAdvisor and its affiliates, and their networks of Service Professionals, to deliver marketing calls or texts using automated technology to the number you provided above regarding your project and other home services offers. Consent is not a condition of purchase.