HomeAdvisor screened and approved seal

HomeAdvisor Screened & Approved

This service professional has passed the HomeAdvisor screening process.

Learn about our screening process
Learn about our screening process

32 Years In Business

Company Details

Contact

17 Longridge Road
Randolph, NJ 07869
www.falkdesigns.net

Hours

  • Mon:
  • Tue:
  • Wed:
  • Thu:
  • Fri:
  • Sat:
  • Sun:
View All Details & Credentials

Achievements

Service Details

  • Residential Work
  • Commercial Work

Areas of Expertise

  • Designer - Kitchen
  • Designer - Residential (Interior Space Planner)
  • Designer - Building
  • Interior Decorator
  • Staging/ Styling/ Organization
View All Offerings and Cities Served
Deals

Cost Information

  • Credit Cards Accepted

Ratings

3.3
8 Verified Reviews
  • 5
    4
  • 4
    1
  • 3
    0
  • 2
    0
  • 1
    3

Highly rated for

Showing 1-8 of 8 reviews Showing 0 reviews
4.0 Monique D. Maplewood, NJ
1/20/2019

Advice and suggestions were not worthy.

5.0 Sharon B. Springfield, NJ
2/2/2016

Ellen is a pleasure to work with. She has great taste and vision and even though we do not always agree on style (she is contemporary and I am traditional) unlike other decorators, she is non-judgmental and goes out of her way to locate materials that express my personal design preferences. I highly recommend Ellen.

1.0 Carol H. Denville, NJ
2/2/2016

Ellen is a very talented designer. Unfortunately, there has been no closure on the project. After putting several thousand dollars "on account" I have been unable to receive any invoices or a statement of account, although I have requested more than 10 times over the past eighteen months. I am still owed a few items, as well as some funds, and the designer has failed to respond to my repeated inquiries.

1.0 Jeff D. Summit, NJ
3/4/2015

I hired Ellen to provide input into the design of my bathroom, as well as help pick out tile for my kitchen. Unfortunately, her business model is to resell product, which unfairly puts her incentives at odds with my own. The result was I was paying her to hunt for the products (that perhaps look expensive) that she could charge me a premium for. She would spend time (and my money) to find alternative products to one I was happy with in hopes of charging me a bigger spread. I was left with the feeling that she was not looking out for my interests. In the future, if I hire a designer, I would be clear upfront that I would not buy product from them.

Response from Company:

I offered you a FLAT rate design fee contract WHICH YOU DECLINED. I did the layout of your bathroom offering you NINE different options that you had not previously considered. As far as tile, I educated you with numerous home visits with a multitude of products each time at a variety of reasonable prices...The one that you ultimately picked w/out me at a much higher price at a retail location was the SAME material that I provided to you a MUCh lower price in a different size. I have no doubt that my time with you provided you both an education and insight into what is possible for your kitchen, bathroom and other areas of your house.

5.0 Ellen R. South Orange, NJ
8/1/2014

I am happy with her and the work she is doing. She is doing a great job. Work is not done.

Response from Company:

Thank you! I look forward to servicing your design and project needs. We are off to a great start,. I am sure that you will be pleased with the pending results!

3/3/2014

This woman was extremely rude and difficult to work with. She added an undisclosed amount of interest to every purchase made, and everything had to purchased through her. Every venue we worked with cringed when she walked in the door. She also highly recommended the contractor we used but found out she never used him before on any project. (He did terrible work and now we have to rip up the entire tile floor)

Response from Company:

Please review photos of this project. .Pictures speak for themselves. See the excerpt from an email this client sent on 8/27/13 "I could not have done this project without your assistance and am pleased with the venues and material you have showed me. I know it is challenging to work with different personalities and opinions and thank you for your professionalism." As per my contract, I provide estimates for EVERY item prior to purchase. I have 10 year relationships with most of my vendors. I stand behind my work. I responded to every call or email, and made every attempt to rectify any problems, as did the contractor.

0.0 Marcia B. Montclair, NJ
6/3/2013

Ellen has an abundance of talent and ideas. In addition, she is an engaging person who is easy to work with. I look forward to continuing our association and recommend her highly.

Photos

Ellen Goldman Falk Designs
10
Randolph
5
Chester home
6
East Hanover Renovation
5
Kitchen in Denville
2
Randolph Living Room
2
Wayne Kitchen Renovation
3
Randolph Master Bath
5
Edgewater Condo

HomeAdvisor allows Service Professionals to post information about themselves and their business on their profile. HomeAdvisor does not review or verify the information representations set forth in those profiles as they are self-reported by the Service Professional.

HomeAdvisor verifies state-level licensing where applicable - note: some states require local or county level licensing and you should verify whether or not your pro is properly licensed.
To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Licensing Requirements page.

Seal of Approval

What is the screening process that Service Professionals go through in order to become members of the HomeAdvisor network?

  1. Verify Trade License
    HomeAdvisor checks to see if the business carries the appropriate state-level license.
  2. Verify Insurance
    As a part of our screening process, we encourage professionals to carry general liability insurance. We require coverage for hundreds of services.
  3. Verification of State Business Filings
    For business types that require a Secretary of State filing, we confirm that the business is in good standing in the state in which it is located.
  4. Criminal Records Search
    HomeAdvisor uses 3rd party data sources to conduct a criminal search for any relevant criminal activity associated with the owner/principal of the business.
  5. Sex Offender Search
    We confirm that the owner/principal is not listed on the official state Sex Offender web site in the state in which the owner/principal of the company is located.
  6. Bankruptcy Search
    We use 3rd party data sources to check the history of the principal/owner of the business for bankruptcy filings by or against them.
  7. Legal Search for Civil Judgments
    We use 3rd party data sources to check the principal/owner of the business for state level civil legal judgments entered against them.
  8. Liens Search
    We use 3rd party data sources to check the principal/owner of the business for liens placed against them.
  9. Identity Verification (SSN)
    HomeAdvisor verifies the social security number(s) of the owner/principal for identity check purposes. This check applies primarily to smaller business entities.
  10. Identity Verification (Reverse Phone Lookup)
    We conduct a reverse business phone lookup to identify records matching the phone number information provided by the business.



NOTE: Member service professional information confirmed as described above may change or expire over time; while HomeAdvisor attempts to maintain accurate and up-to-date information, and confirms changes when notified, we cannot guarantee that profile and screening information is accurate. Therefore, we recommend that before working with a service professional you verify that information presented is still current and/or acceptable to you.
Please see HomeAdvisor's Terms and Conditions for a full description of how we screen Service Professionals

**Only for U.S. service professionals

Final Step - Confirm Your Appointment:

Confirm your appointment with on , - Change


Required
Required
Required
Required
 
 
 

By clicking Confirm Appointment, you affirm you have read and agree to the HomeAdvisor Terms & Conditions, and you agree and authorize HomeAdvisor and its affiliates, and their networks of Service Professionals, to deliver marketing calls or texts using automated technology to the number you provided above regarding your project and other home services offers. Consent is not a condition of purchase.