HomeAdvisor screened and approved seal

HomeAdvisor Screened & Approved

This service professional has passed the HomeAdvisor screening process.

Learn about our screening process
Learn about our screening process

3 Years In Business

Company Details


109 Gatwick Court
Clayton, NC 27520


  • Mon: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
  • Tue: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
  • Wed: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
  • Thu: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
  • Fri: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
  • Sat: 8:00 AM - 2:00 PM
  • Sun: Closed
View All Details & Credentials


Service Details

  • Residential Work

Areas of Expertise

  • Appliance repair
  • Installations
  • dryer vent cleaning
View All Offerings and Cities Served

Cost Information

  • Free Estimates
  • Credit Cards Accepted


39 Verified Reviews
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1

Highly rated for

  • Quality
  • Value
  • Customer Service
Showing 1-10 of 39 results
5.0 Bennie B. Clayton, NC

on time,professional. I would recommend him 100%

4.5 Carolyn S. Smithfield, NC

Very nice young gentleman. Diagnosed the problem, ordered the part, came back and fixed the dryer on time. I will have no problems recommending his company. Although I hope NOT to have any problems with my appliances, I know who to call now. Thanks

2.0 David H. Zebulon, NC

Initial contact with GQ Appliance Repair was good. Donald was the only person I could find to come out the next day and look at my refrigerator which was not cooling. He identified the problem as a frosted-over evaporator. I paid him $350 for a new evaporator assembly and the service call. He said he would be back in a couple of days when the part came in between 10 am and 12 pm. I did not receive any communication after that until I called just before 12. He told me the part came in but had to be entered into the system at the warehouse. He had already told me the part would be delivered to his home. We then arranged for a new time between 1 pm and 2 pm. He finally showed up after 5 pm. He did not reach out to let me know he would be delayed. I again had to call him. He installed the part in a bit of a rush. We settled the rest of the bill and all seemed good. Two days later the same issue came back. by the end of the week, the evaporator was frosted over again. When I wrote him about it, he suggested the main control board may need to be replaced. I found the service manual for the fridge and did some research. What I found was the evaporator was supposed to be fully defrosted before installing the new part which he did not do. I unplugged the fridge overnight to let it defrost. I also removed the evaporator cover that he installed only to find a temp sensor that was not attached. After reinstalling everything myself per the service manual instructions everything is working great. Donald seems to be a decent guy but I believe he was over his head on this one. He cost me an extra week without my refrigerator and several hours of my time. I sent him a message about my frustration but got no response.

5.0 Kara P. Raleigh, NC

Excellent service - quick, transparent, very thorough.

5.0 Robert B. Raleigh, NC

Mr Ellison was excellent to work with. Work was completed to perfection, quickly, cleanly, expertly. Cost was very reasonable, results were exceptional, personal interaction was warm (and refreshingly so). Can't say enough good things about my experience working with GQ.

5.0 Jerry F. Cary, NC

Mr. Ellison came to install an over-the-range microwave. I wan not careful about the length of the unit I purchased, and it would not fit. However, he came up with a solution that worked, and I am grateful that he did not just give up. I should note that he honored his original quote even though I am sure the job took longer than he anticipated. I highly recommend him.

5.0 Dave M. Ashburn, VA

My ice maker was not working. Don checked in with me before coming over - I sent pictures and model # to help. He let me know when he's be there and called again on his way. He checked over the unit carefully, then showed me where a gear was worn out. He replaced it with a new unit he had with him after making sure I was good with the price. He was clean, polite, and efficient, verifying everything he did was ok before he finished. Guaranteed his work. I was very pleased with his skill and his customer- oriented service. I will use him for any future appliance repair.

1.0 Nagendra H. Matthews, NC

We hired him to repair our tenants refrigerator, first day he fixed defrost timer and charged $250.43 and told us that he has checked everything else and it is looking good. At the same time, he told our tenants that the appliance is old and had to be replaced. The very next day the refrigerator failed to keep the food cold (tenants followed all his instructions). He came to inspect on the 2nd day and told to keep hot water and wait for 24 hours, the tenants did that too, it didn't fix the issue, later he stopped talking to us and never return the call that my husband placed and left a message. He knew he cheated us and didn't want to call us back. Ultimately, we had to replace the refrigerator with a new one, Never hire or recommend this guy to anyone,

Response from Company:

I am sorry you are satisfied with the service provided to you. I explained everything to you step by step and also before doing any repair I recommended for you to replace the fridge and you did not want to. If you would have called and told me that it still was not working I would have refunded all your money minus a trip charge.

5.0 Peggy R. Garner, NC

donald ellison of GQ appliance repair came on time, diagnosed problem- bad shock absorbers in washing machine caused it to go out of balance and stop working. he verified that he could get them the next day,so i paid parts and diagnosis. returned next day , installed shocks and washer is working with good spin and no out of balance. excellent worker and former army vet. I am delighted with his work and gladly recommend him. [additionally paid installation cost and now have a 90 day quarantee,

5.0 Patrick K. Cary, NC

Excellent service-same day repair and everything was explained in detail. I am very happy and very pleased with the job done and Donald was a pleasure to work with.


GQ Appliance Repair, LLC
Install fan motor on GE

HomeAdvisor allows Service Professionals to post information about themselves and their business on their profile. HomeAdvisor does not review or verify the information representations set forth in those profiles as they are self-reported by the Service Professional.

HomeAdvisor verifies state-level licensing where applicable - note: some states require local or county level licensing and you should verify whether or not your pro is properly licensed.
To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Licensing Requirements page.

Seal of Approval

What is the screening process that Service Professionals go through in order to become members of the HomeAdvisor network?

  1. Verify Trade License
    HomeAdvisor checks to see if the business carries the appropriate state-level license.
  2. Verify Insurance
    As a part of our screening process, we encourage professionals to carry general liability insurance. We require coverage for hundreds of services.
  3. Verification of State Business Filings
    For business types that require a Secretary of State filing, we confirm that the business is in good standing in the state in which it is located.
  4. Criminal Records Search
    HomeAdvisor uses 3rd party data sources to conduct a criminal search for any relevant criminal activity associated with the owner/principal of the business.
  5. Sex Offender Search
    We confirm that the owner/principal is not listed on the official state Sex Offender web site in the state in which the owner/principal of the company is located.
  6. Bankruptcy Search
    We use 3rd party data sources to check the history of the principal/owner of the business for bankruptcy filings by or against them.
  7. Legal Search for Civil Judgments
    We use 3rd party data sources to check the principal/owner of the business for state level civil legal judgments entered against them.
  8. Liens Search
    We use 3rd party data sources to check the principal/owner of the business for liens placed against them.
  9. Identity Verification (SSN)
    HomeAdvisor verifies the social security number(s) of the owner/principal for identity check purposes. This check applies primarily to smaller business entities.
  10. Identity Verification (Reverse Phone Lookup)
    We conduct a reverse business phone lookup to identify records matching the phone number information provided by the business.

NOTE: Member service professional information confirmed as described above may change or expire over time; while HomeAdvisor attempts to maintain accurate and up-to-date information, and confirms changes when notified, we cannot guarantee that profile and screening information is accurate. Therefore, we recommend that before working with a service professional you verify that information presented is still current and/or acceptable to you.
Please see HomeAdvisor's Terms and Conditions for a full description of how we screen Service Professionals

**Only for U.S. service professionals

Final Step - Confirm Your Appointment:

Confirm your appointment with on , - Change


By clicking Confirm Appointment, you affirm you have read and agree to the HomeAdvisor Terms & Conditions, and you agree and authorize HomeAdvisor and its affiliates, and their networks of Service Professionals, to deliver marketing calls or texts using automated technology to the number you provided above regarding your project and other home services offers. Consent is not a condition of purchase.