Generations Painting and Construction

HomeAdvisor screened and approved seal

HomeAdvisor Screened & Approved

This service professional has passed the HomeAdvisor screening process.

Learn about our screening process
Learn about our screening process

16 Years In Business

Company Details


  • Mon: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM
  • Tue: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM
  • Wed: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM
  • Thu: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM
  • Fri: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM
  • Sat: Closed
  • Sun: Closed
View All Details & Credentials


Service Details

  • Residential Work
  • Commercial Work
  • Small Jobs Welcome

Areas of Expertise

  • Painting
  • Remodeling
  • Custom Home Building
View All Offerings and Cities Served

Cost Information

  • Free Estimates
  • Warranty Offered
  • Trip Charge May Apply
  • Credit Cards Accepted


6 Verified Reviews*
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
*Reviews imported from Google have not been individually verified by HomeAdvisor.
Showing 1-6 of 6 results
5.0 Jennifer Wales Google Review

I own a property management company and cannot recommend a contracting company as fantastic as Generations Construction. I hired Ricky and his crew to work on a high-end residential property installing a difficult and large custom window in a challenging space. Covid caused numerous complications ordering the window, having it made, and delivering it. Ricky kept me informed every step of the way. His communication is prompt, kind, and always helpful. As a woman, I have had my fair share of contractor’s dumbing projects down to me and Ricky was nothing but respectful and clear in his communication. When the window arrived earlier than we were quoted, Ricky was able to shift his crew and showed up the next day to begin installation. His crew was polite, helpful and gave me lots of great advice regarding another property repair issue I was having. They kept the property very clean during their work and upon their departure. All in all, Generations is just what you want in a construction company: organized and forthcoming, clear and timely communication, and a polite and respectful crew. And of course, it goes without saying that their actual construction work is top notch. I use many local contractors and always put Ricky at the top of my list.

5.0 Jeff Curtis Google Review

Ricky and his team did a major renovation of one of our Bar Harbor buildings, replacing windows and siding. They worked with us through Covid delays and on-the-fly changes to the specs and came in on schedule and on budget. Highly recommend them!

2.0 Steve F. Prospect Harbor, ME

Terrible experience for the beginning. The cost was 30% higher than the quote. Once they were paid, I never saw them again to complete the job.

Response from Company:

Hi Steve, I apologize for your concerns brought up In this negative review. I feel your comments are unfair and unwarranted. The project went great and you were satisfied with everything all the up until your framers didn?t leave a gap in the framing where you wanted ridge vent. We added ridge vent where you had an air gap. We competed your project to the very best of our abilities and it is not our fault that your framers made the mistake they did. There was no leader or GC present on site and you were not around to direct anyone on these particular details. Finally, the price I charged was exactly the same as what I estimated. I am unsure why you think it was 30% more than estimated. Because that is not accurate. I sincerely apologize you feel left unsatisfied and if you have brought up concerns directly instead of in this review section, I could have and would have addressed them to the best of my ability.

4.0 Scott S. Bucksport, ME

Plan on using them for future projects

2.0 James J. Verona Island, ME

Not sure where to begin. First off I will say that the scheduling was not accurate at all. Weeks behind schedule and unable to provide timeline. Requested pieces installed above the door to prevent ice from falling in the winter never got done. Called them in the spring time for them to say they can schedule it in a few months and it will cost more money, despite that being my initial request. My yard became littered with cigarettes and even had to ask them not to smoke near my house windows. They left large pieces of scrap metal that ended up getting snowed on and buried from plowing. I reached out in the spring requesting to have it taken care of. It's now October and it is still out in my yard just sitting there. You get what you pay for with these guys and cheaper isn't always better.

Response from Company:

Dear Mr. J. [Consumer name withheld at their request], I sincerely apologize that you are unsatisfied with the services offered by my company. I was unaware of the issues you brought up in your review as you never communicated any issues for the duration of the project. I am only learning of your concerns for the first time here in this negative review. I always make a point to my crew to maintain a clean professional job site and to dispose of cigarette butts properly. As far as scheduling, we did our very best to complete your project when our schedule and the weather allowed. I was in direct communication with you about any delays that took place due to inclement weather and over runs on other projects. I did my best to schedule your project and communicate an expected timeline and commencement date, and stayed In direct communication when the schedule changed. You understood we were busy and doing our best. I feel it was a mutual understanding that with construction, expected timelines aren?t always exact and things can change. I feel the only thing I can be expected to do is to reasonably communicate when schedules change and I feel I did that to the very best of my ability. The snow stops were an add on and we were not able to add them at the time we completed your project due to weather. I gave you a price to come back and add them when we could and when weather allowed and you declined. I also told you I would remove leftover debris and you told me to not worry about it. Once again, I apologize you feel unsatisfied with our services, however I feel this review is unfair and I encourage you to edit this. I would have addressed any and all concerns directly if you have brought them up to me instead of leaving your concerns in this review section.


Generations Painting and Construction
Lords Beach Rd
Highview House
Nature's Way
Lamoine House

HomeAdvisor allows Service Professionals to post information about themselves and their business on their profile. HomeAdvisor does not review or verify the information representations set forth in those profiles as they are self-reported by the Service Professional.

To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Licensing Requirements page. Note that some states require local or county level licensing and you should verify whether or not your pro is properly licensed.

Seal of Approval

What is the screening process that Service Professionals go through in order to become members of the HomeAdvisor network?

  1. Verify Trade License
    HomeAdvisor checks to see if the business carries the appropriate state-level license.
  2. Verify Insurance
    As a part of our screening process, we encourage professionals to carry general liability insurance. We require coverage for hundreds of services.
  3. Verification of State Business Filings
    For business types that require a Secretary of State filing, we confirm that the business is in good standing in the state in which it is located.
  4. Criminal Records Search
    HomeAdvisor uses 3rd party data sources to conduct a criminal search for any relevant criminal activity associated with the owner/principal of the business.
  5. Sex Offender Search
    We confirm that the owner/principal is not listed on the official state Sex Offender web site in the state in which the owner/principal of the company is located.
  6. Bankruptcy Search
    We use 3rd party data sources to check the history of the principal/owner of the business for bankruptcy filings by or against them.
  7. Legal Search for Civil Judgments
    We use 3rd party data sources to check the principal/owner of the business for state level civil legal judgments entered against them.
  8. Liens Search
    We use 3rd party data sources to check the principal/owner of the business for liens placed against them.
  9. Identity Verification (SSN)
    HomeAdvisor verifies the social security number(s) of the owner/principal for identity check purposes. This check applies primarily to smaller business entities.
  10. Identity Verification (Reverse Phone Lookup)
    We conduct a reverse business phone lookup to identify records matching the phone number information provided by the business.

NOTE: Member service professional information confirmed as described above may change or expire over time; while HomeAdvisor attempts to maintain accurate and up-to-date information, and confirms changes when notified, we cannot guarantee that profile and screening information is accurate. Therefore, we recommend that before working with a service professional you verify that information presented is still current and/or acceptable to you.
Please see HomeAdvisor's Terms and Conditions for a full description of how we screen Service Professionals

**Only for U.S. service professionals

Final Step - Confirm Your Appointment:

Confirm your appointment with on , - Change


By clicking Confirm Appointment, you affirm you have read and agree to the HomeAdvisor Terms & Conditions, and you agree and authorize HomeAdvisor and its affiliates, and their networks of Service Professionals, to deliver marketing calls or texts using automated technology to the number you provided above regarding your project and other home services offers. Consent is not a condition of purchase.