Blackmon Custom Builders, Inc.

HomeAdvisor screened and approved seal

HomeAdvisor Screened & Approved

This service professional has passed the HomeAdvisor screening process.

Learn about our screening process
Learn about our screening process

17 Years In Business

Company Details

  • Verified Licenses


  • Mon:
  • Tue:
  • Wed:
  • Thu:
  • Fri:
  • Sat:
  • Sun:
View All Details & Credentials


Service Details

    Areas of Expertise

    • Build Custom Homes
    • Build Home Additions
    • Home Renovations
    • Kitchen & Bathroom Remodeling
    View All Offerings and Cities Served

    Cost Information

    • Free Estimates
    • Credit Cards Accepted


    17 Verified Reviews
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1

    Highly rated for

    • Quality
    Showing 1-10 of 17 results
    0.50 Beryl J. Huntersville, NC

    This builder is very unprofessional, he hires handymen and does not monitor quality. Multiple failed inspections. Allows unlicensed handymen to do work for which they are not licensed, including himself ( electrical) Not a high-end custom builder, but an overpriced glorified handyman with resources and unreliable subs. Lacks quality control, over-promises, and under-delivers. Promised 3-4 months. Not complete after a year. GET EVERYTHING IN WRITING! Set up payments based on work completion thresholds. Will take your money and do what he wants.

    Response from Company:

    Challenging and demanding that is how I would describe working with this homeowner. What started out on a positive footing descended into challenging and demanding. Sometimes, people simply do not jive with one another and that is just a fact of life. I get that. But what would I say about the actual project? (1) I like to finish what I start, deliver a quality product and that is what was done. (2) I provide all clients with a written contract that outlines the scope of the work, includes the agreed upon price to complete the project, and the payment schedule. This contract is signed by both the homeowner and myself. (3) All trades that require licensing, such as the electrician and plumber had their names and license numbers provided to the homeowner prior to the start of any work on the project. Other trades who are commonly not licensed (painter, floor installer, tile installer, etc.) were subcontracted under me (general contractor) and were covered under my GC license and insurances. My company (a small business) is fully licensed and bonded in the state of North Carolina. (4) It is not uncommon for inspections to be failed for a variety of reasons. This can range from non-access to the premises to work that deviates from the plan specs due to an issue encountered by the subcontractor. The point is that these issues are worked through and the inspections capture any variances and a certificate of occupancy is granted in the end. The end result in this case was the addition of a granny suite to an existing home and the finished project is a professionally designed (by an architect) space that includes a bedroom, bathroom and sunroom that can be enjoyed for years to come and adds value to the home.

    5.0 Linda O. Mooresville, NC

    Gerome was great to work with. He was very professional and personable. He provided a very professional and detailed quote/contract. He was very reachable, easy to communicate with, and kept us up to date on any delays in the process. The quality of work was excellent. We highly recommend Gerome. We wIll definitely use him for future projects.

    5.0 Sue V. Mooresville, NC

    Gerome was a pleasure to work with! He always responded to my calls and was polite and helpful. Our kitchen was totally remodeled in less than 4 weeks and we couldn't be happier!! He worked within our budget, answered all of our questions, and helped me pick out the right products. The sub-contractors were there every day working until the job was complete. I would highly recommend Gerome and look forward to him doing more remodeling for us in the future.

    5.0 Zach H. Indian Trail, NC

    Gerome was absolutely great. From start to finish, he made true to everything he said. He was very professional and very organized. He really made this whole transformation effortless. From the ease in getting a quote, to picking and designing my living space, all the way through to a flawless install. He even actually has designers and a draftsman. I highly recommended Mr. Blackmon!

    5.0 Ron R.

    Went very good! Gerome is very professional and likable, and he was knowledgeable, got me what I needed, as well as the results I was looking for. He's reliable, came as promised, price competitive, and he did everything he said he would. Even supervised his crew and cleaned up the area. The main thing for me was that he kept to his word, and that it did make a big difference in our energy usage.

    5.0 Sherri J.

    I hired the company Gerome Blackmon to do a kitchen remodel for my home. The contractor is still working on the project, but he is very professional honest and straightforward. I already have recommended his company to others in the community.

    4.0 Art G.

    Very honorable and humble contractor. Gerome was responsive to my calls and answered all my questions to my complete satisfaction. Clean and respectful of my home. I am very pleased with the work and plan to have him on my next project.

    5.0 Carlos B.

    Does great work. I highly recommend. This contractor came back after inspection and fixed an item without question or charge. Stands by there work - high integrity. Definitely recommend and already have him lined up to do some remodel on my new home.

    1.0 Cynthia J. Huntersville, NC

    Gerome was not a man of his words. He never came back to finish my job. Made two payments to him totaling over $15,000 and the 3rd payment was due when completed. Work started in May 2016 not completed in Feb. 2017. Workers would not show up. He had to fire workers for not doing things right. This has been a homeowners nightmare. Very, unprofessional. Unhappy customer.

    Response from Company:

    Sometimes no matter how hard one tries to please a client, there will be those instances where it is just not possible, no matter how hard you may try. I am sorry to hear that this client is unhappy; I did strive to make every effort to correct and address her concerns. Unfortunately, on this project, I did have to fire the subcontractors who started the work on the project. However, the subs that were brought in to replace them did complete ALL of the renovation work per the contract ( removal/installation of tub, shower, vanities, countertops, faucets, floor tile, shower & wall tiles, vanity & can lighting, popcorn ceiling, window, vinyl siding, as well as painting of both bathrooms and replacement of the bathroom door ). I was made aware of 2 concerns at the end of this project which involved 3 small chips in an existing tub and an issue described by the client of hot water not feeling hot enough in one bathroom. As there was difficulty in finding resources to visit the site to look into these particular concerns, I did not request the final payment from this client with the expectation that those funds could be used to seek out their own resources to address these (2) concerns if that was their desire. I sincerely wish them the best.

    5.0 Terri D. Concord, NC

    Gerome did a complete kitchen remodel for me. Before we began the project I gave him my budget and vision for the kitchen. Gerome was able to give me the kitchen I want within my limited budget and at an accelerated time frame. He kept me apprised daily at each step, and I always knew what to expect. Gerome uses subcontractors who do excellent work and I have no complaints about the workmanship in the kitchen. He gave me the freedom to chose details that I specifically wanted and guidance when I wasn't sure what I wanted. I would highly recommend Gerome to anyone planning a remodel, and I intend to call him when I am ready to continue my home improvements.


    Blackmon Custom Builders, Inc.
    Kitchen Remodel
    New Home Construction
    Family Room Addition
    Davidson Condo Renovation

    HomeAdvisor allows Service Professionals to post information about themselves and their business on their profile. HomeAdvisor does not review or verify the information representations set forth in those profiles as they are self-reported by the Service Professional.

    To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Licensing Requirements page. Note that some states require local or county level licensing and you should verify whether or not your pro is properly licensed.

    Seal of Approval

    What is the screening process that Service Professionals go through in order to become members of the HomeAdvisor network?

    1. Verify Trade License
      HomeAdvisor checks to see if the business carries the appropriate state-level license.
    2. Verify Insurance
      As a part of our screening process, we encourage professionals to carry general liability insurance. We require coverage for hundreds of services.
    3. Verification of State Business Filings
      For business types that require a Secretary of State filing, we confirm that the business is in good standing in the state in which it is located.
    4. Criminal Records Search
      HomeAdvisor uses 3rd party data sources to conduct a criminal search for any relevant criminal activity associated with the owner/principal of the business.
    5. Sex Offender Search
      We confirm that the owner/principal is not listed on the official state Sex Offender web site in the state in which the owner/principal of the company is located.
    6. Bankruptcy Search
      We use 3rd party data sources to check the history of the principal/owner of the business for bankruptcy filings by or against them.
    7. Legal Search for Civil Judgments
      We use 3rd party data sources to check the principal/owner of the business for state level civil legal judgments entered against them.
    8. Liens Search
      We use 3rd party data sources to check the principal/owner of the business for liens placed against them.
    9. Identity Verification (SSN)
      HomeAdvisor verifies the social security number(s) of the owner/principal for identity check purposes. This check applies primarily to smaller business entities.
    10. Identity Verification (Reverse Phone Lookup)
      We conduct a reverse business phone lookup to identify records matching the phone number information provided by the business.

    NOTE: Member service professional information confirmed as described above may change or expire over time; while HomeAdvisor attempts to maintain accurate and up-to-date information, and confirms changes when notified, we cannot guarantee that profile and screening information is accurate. Therefore, we recommend that before working with a service professional you verify that information presented is still current and/or acceptable to you.
    Please see HomeAdvisor's Terms and Conditions for a full description of how we screen Service Professionals

    **Only for U.S. service professionals

    Final Step - Confirm Your Appointment:

    Confirm your appointment with on , - Change


    By clicking Confirm Appointment, you affirm you have read and agree to the HomeAdvisor Terms & Conditions, and you agree and authorize HomeAdvisor and its affiliates, and their networks of Service Professionals, to deliver marketing calls or texts using automated technology to the number you provided above regarding your project and other home services offers. Consent is not a condition of purchase.