HomeAdvisor screened and approved seal

HomeAdvisor Screened & Approved

This service professional has passed the HomeAdvisor screening process.

Learn about our screening process
Learn about our screening process

85% Recommended

34 Years In Business

Company Details

Contact

4N663 Wood Dale Road
Wood Dale, IL 60191

Hours

  • Mon:
  • Tue:
  • Wed:
  • Thu:
  • Fri:
  • Sat:
  • Sun:
View All Details & Credentials

Achievements

Service Details

  • Residential Work
  • Commercial Work

Areas of Expertise

  • Door Installation, Replacement and Repair
  • New Window Installation
  • Window Replacement
  • Siding Repair or Replacement
  • Kitchen and Bath Remodeling
View All Offerings and Cities Served

Cost Information

  • Free Estimates
  • Credit Cards Accepted

Ratings

4.3
20 Verified Reviews
  • 5
    17
  • 4
    0
  • 3
    0
  • 2
    0
  • 1
    3

Highly rated for

Showing 1-10 of 20 reviews Showing 0 reviews
0.50 Renee C.
9/18/2020

The Home Improvement Guyz are not honest and they do very poor workmanship. When I contacted the owner Wayne he did talk to me, but after sending him the pictures of what the work looked like, I have not heard from him since.

Response from Company:

Renee, you called us on 9/17/20 and said you had missing shingles on your grandmother's building that we contracted with her in 2015 to do her roof (who has since passed, my condolences) while I was in the midst of working with some contractors. So I put you on speakerphone so I could work with these contractors and speak to you at the same time. I asked for the address of the property and you gave me a Chicago address. I told you that your 2-year warranty expired because we had not done any roofing in Chicago in the past 5 years but I agreed to pull the file and double-check anyway.

5.0 Robert B. Lombard, IL
1/28/2020

I could not be more pleased with the quality of the work HIGuyz have done for me: jacking up the main floor and adding sleeper joists in the basement, ripping out ratty stairs and replacing them with hardwood (dark walnut treads with white risers and stringers), building a beautiful oak banister for one of the staircases, building a landing and steps in the garage, laying ceramic tile in the kitchen and laminate in the living room. They can do it all, and it is done to the highest quality and with a fine sense of detail and attention to quality craftsmanship. Over and over again I heard â The people who built this were cutting corners. This is how it should be done and thatâ s how weâ re going to build it.â I like that attitude. I will use HIGuyz again and not think twice about it. You should too!

Response from Company:

Mr Braband, it was our pleasure to work with you and your family on the projects for your home, and we look forward to helping you on others in the future. We also appreciate your comments about our craftsmanship and for noticing our attention to detail, and we look forward to working with you again in the future. Also, thank you for taking the time to share your experience with our company.

5.0 Sal G. Elmhurst, IL
8/9/2019

Wayne and Michael were prompt and professional. I was also impressed with the landscaping.

6/15/2019

I was in grave need to have my window repaired from several years of leakage. I called Home Advisor for a referral and I got a call from a fantastic guy. Wayne came to my home, on time, to give me an estimate, not only did he give me an estimate he taught me things about my window that no one has ever done. When he and his assistance, Mike arrived to do the work, they were very professional, clean and very knowledgeable. I am a single woman, and I felt so comfortable with them in my home. I would recommend them to anyone. Once my work was done, it looked so good. They went the extra mile to clean up and make must all my concerns were met. Thank You for the work â Karon Jamison

5.0 Julie R. Lockport, IL
5/25/2019

Home Improvement Guyz, Inc. Replaced my Roof, Furnace and Central Air unit. We are very happy with the work and couldnâ t be happier with the end result! They did an amazing job and were very reasonably priced for high end quality equipment and craftsmanship! Finally a company that delivers what they promise!

5.0 Michael J. Hoffman Estates, IL
4/23/2019

Wayne and his partner Mike do quality work at a fair price. They were on time, friendly, finished quickly and neatly and had the experience and knowledge to handle multiple jobs. For example, my heavy solid Oak sliding master closet doors would not roll and kept coming off slide. The first handyman I interviewed said no problem, just slap new wheels on we will be good. Wrong. Wayne took both doors to my garage and shaved a small portion off the bottom to accommodate height of new flooring I had installed previously. He rehung my sons closet doors by flipping them, reinstalling hardware on other side! Wayne also re-squared heavy glass storm door and replaced shock absorbers to close properly. I was so impressed with his work and attention to detail I hired him to install a new water heater which he did perfectly, even moving electric to a position to remove easier if necessary. I have been having trouble selling my house but if I need anything else done, Wayne and Mike will be first I call. Thanx Guys. MvJ

5.0 Thomas K. Schaumburg, IL
4/10/2019

I like that they are approachable and provided the opportunity to make changes and that gives me assurance that will do a good job which is what they did.

5.0 James A. Schaumburg, IL
3/23/2019

We originally called because we had no heat and it was 20 degrees outside. Upon their arrival, they inspected my furnace and immediately figured out the problem. Since having them service our furnace it has never run better and we have noticed a reduction in gas consumption which made us very happy. We will continue to work with the company and recommend them. Thanks, GUYZ!!

1.0 Richard A. Chicago, IL
3/20/2019

Wayne Ferriera, CEO of the Home Improvement Guyz, first serviced and cleaned my boiler--that was my first mistake. I gave Wayne one star and a triple *D*: Disappointing, Derelict, and Dishonest. Here s why: DISAPPOINTING --pilot light stops working a week after Wayne serviced and cleaned the boiler --ignored and deflected my concern about falling insulation inside the boiler and never inspected or followed up DERELICT --gave boiler clean bill of health after servicing it the first time, but upon returning to address the pilot light made reference to two issues that should have been flagged the first time he service the unit --never troubleshot the pilot light issue --replaced old valve without testing to see if it was in fact faulty --was not going to replace frayed wiring even though he admitted upon questioning that it needed to be replaced DISHONEST --not up front and ambiguous about a replacement part price and labor --Wayne stated that he would replace fuse housing but never did --Wayne refused to show a receipt for the replacement part and made up a fatuous excuse for his refusal. *I do not want you to see my Visa number or my supplier,* Wayne stated. --Wayne said he would find out about the boiler year and amperage rating and never got back to me. May 9, 2019 Update The total cost for both jobs were refunded by Wayne. I want to thank Gina A. at customer solutions for handling and resolving my complaint.

9/22/2018

This summer has been WONDERFUL with our new screen door leading to our deck. The Home Improvement Guyz were prompt, professional and thorough. We are so pleased with the work they did.

Showing 1-10 of 20 results Showing 0 of 0 results
Page 1 of 2

Photos

Home Improvement Guyz
4
Chicago Exterior Door Rep
78
Ext Deck & Patio Build
5
Furnace Replacement
11
Replacement Windows
8
Bathroom Remodel

HomeAdvisor allows Service Professionals to post information about themselves and their business on their profile. HomeAdvisor does not review or verify the information representations set forth in those profiles as they are self-reported by the Service Professional.

HomeAdvisor verifies state-level licensing where applicable - note: some states require local or county level licensing and you should verify whether or not your pro is properly licensed.
To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Licensing Requirements page.

Seal of Approval

What is the screening process that Service Professionals go through in order to become members of the HomeAdvisor network?

  1. Verify Trade License
    HomeAdvisor checks to see if the business carries the appropriate state-level license.
  2. Verify Insurance
    As a part of our screening process, we encourage professionals to carry general liability insurance. We require coverage for hundreds of services.
  3. Verification of State Business Filings
    For business types that require a Secretary of State filing, we confirm that the business is in good standing in the state in which it is located.
  4. Criminal Records Search
    HomeAdvisor uses 3rd party data sources to conduct a criminal search for any relevant criminal activity associated with the owner/principal of the business.
  5. Sex Offender Search
    We confirm that the owner/principal is not listed on the official state Sex Offender web site in the state in which the owner/principal of the company is located.
  6. Bankruptcy Search
    We use 3rd party data sources to check the history of the principal/owner of the business for bankruptcy filings by or against them.
  7. Legal Search for Civil Judgments
    We use 3rd party data sources to check the principal/owner of the business for state level civil legal judgments entered against them.
  8. Liens Search
    We use 3rd party data sources to check the principal/owner of the business for liens placed against them.
  9. Identity Verification (SSN)
    HomeAdvisor verifies the social security number(s) of the owner/principal for identity check purposes. This check applies primarily to smaller business entities.
  10. Identity Verification (Reverse Phone Lookup)
    We conduct a reverse business phone lookup to identify records matching the phone number information provided by the business.



NOTE: Member service professional information confirmed as described above may change or expire over time; while HomeAdvisor attempts to maintain accurate and up-to-date information, and confirms changes when notified, we cannot guarantee that profile and screening information is accurate. Therefore, we recommend that before working with a service professional you verify that information presented is still current and/or acceptable to you.
Please see HomeAdvisor's Terms and Conditions for a full description of how we screen Service Professionals

**Only for U.S. service professionals

Final Step - Confirm Your Appointment:

Confirm your appointment with on , - Change


Required
Required
Required
Required
 
 
 

By clicking Confirm Appointment, you affirm you have read and agree to the HomeAdvisor Terms & Conditions, and you agree and authorize HomeAdvisor and its affiliates, and their networks of Service Professionals, to deliver marketing calls or texts using automated technology to the number you provided above regarding your project and other home services offers. Consent is not a condition of purchase.