HomeAdvisor screened and approved seal

HomeAdvisor Screened & Approved

This service professional has passed the HomeAdvisor screening process.

Learn about our screening process
Learn about our screening process

98% Recommended

36 Years In Business

Company Details

Contact

5611 North Woodland Drive
McHenry, IL 60051
ammservicegroup.com

Hours

  • Mon: Open 24 Hours
  • Tue: Open 24 Hours
  • Wed: Open 24 Hours
  • Thu: Open 24 Hours
  • Fri: Open 24 Hours
  • Sat: Open 24 Hours
  • Sun: Open 24 Hours
View All Details & Credentials

Achievements

Service Details

  • Small Jobs Welcome

Areas of Expertise

  • Expert Troubleshooting Skills
  • Ceiling Fan and Recessed Lighting Installations
  • Emergency Backup Generator Installations
  • Electrical Service Upgrades
  • Lightning/Surge Protection Installations
View All Offerings and Cities Served

Cost Information

  • Free Estimates
  • Warranty Offered
  • Credit Cards Accepted

Ratings

4.8
149 Verified Reviews
  • 5
    136
  • 4
    10
  • 3
    0
  • 2
    1
  • 1
    2

Highly rated for

  • Quality
  • Value
  • Customer Service
Showing 1-10 of 149 reviews Showing 0 reviews
5.0 Gary O. Island Lake, IL
2/5/2021

Mike and his apprentice A.J. were fantastic. They were friendly and personable and very relatable. They put down drop cloths to protect our floor surfaces. We had them put in a new electric breaker box and they did a great job. I had a family member who wants to be an electrician and Mike gave us some good tips to lead him in the right direction. They even helped us by moving a medium sized refrigerator from our garage to the basement after installing a new circuit and outlet for it. Above and beyond. I would highly recommend them and if we ever need more electrical work done they will get a call from me.

5.0 Julie W. Crystal Lake, IL
12/27/2020

Excellent work! We had some new lighting installed in the kitchen of our log cabin and it turned out great!

1.0 Elena G. Wauconda, IL
12/9/2020

Mike was very nice, came, and I show him the stove and the bathroom ventilator that needed to install. He said he can do the job, and I got the estimate 1 week later. So far so good. The problems started when they come to my house. They walk all over with dirty shoes, did not use shoe covers, in and out of the house a dozen times. I asked them to be careful with the floor, they put some covers, not enough, drop some instruments on the wood floor. Apparently, the job was more difficult than anticipated, asked for opening the hole in the sealing, I give them OK for one, they opened 2 holes, 10-15 inch each, and not in the place we talk about. Every wall and everything they workaround was with scratches. In the end, the stove could not be connected, because I needed a plumber. The fan works well, but the outside vent was not put in the place that we agree on, the other side of the house, and is random. The plumber came, need 5 minutes to put the connector and the stove work, but the outlet installed by Mike is too high and the range can not go all the way to the wall. I forgot to say that he asked me for 200 dollars extra on top of that *for extra work*. This is my worst experience ever! UPDATE: He came back and fixed the outlet. Now I can put the range all the way to the wall. But everything else is the same way, all the scratches, and the damage to my property.

Response from Company:

Wow Elena, that is a lot of unfounded negativity. First, we put drop cloths down in every area we worked in and walked on. We did not need to use shoe coverings. I do not see how we could have scratched your walls when we did not work on anything on the walls. Sometimes a screwdriver or something falls on the floor. If we dented the floor, let me know personally, I can easily fix that. The floors were cleaner when we left than when we got there. We even vacuumed. Sometimes it requires a few trips to the truck to bring in materials and equipment. The drywall ceiling in your basement was installed by an amateur, as I stated to you and there were multiple obstructions in the way for us to fish the raceway. I explained what would need to be done as far as making access holes. The steel raceway for the 50 Amp feed is not very flexible and sometimes the access holes need to be somewhat large. Your gable wall in your attic has no support for the vinyl siding other than a two-by-four vertical in the center and a random one-by close to the bottom. The old siding was probably Masonite or wood, which is self-supporting. I could not cut through what meager support you have without damaging the structure and leaving the siding unsupported even further, as I explained. This is why the vent is off center. I could not just screw the vent cap to the unsupported siding and so I found the closest framing available to fasten the vent to. You may want to look further into why your new siding job was done in this fashion. The next big storm is going to rip it off. I am not a plumbing contractor and it is unfortunate that you needed to hire a plumber to work on the gas line, but I do not see why this is my fault or why it should be mentioned here. The *extra work* was to rework the amateur 120 Volt wiring job your husband did in the attic for a receptacle to power your security cameras that would have eventually burned your house down. We found this while we were in the attic doing the bath exhaust fan. I notified you of what I had found and asked you if you wanted us to rework the wiring. We all had a laugh when you mentioned that your husband went to school for electrical engineering and you agreed that it should be fixed. I explained that it would add a slight increase to cost of the job and you said that you understood. We did come back and lower the receptacle at no cost to you. You were quite bitter from the start of the job because you did not understand why the manufacturer of the range did not tell you that the unit needed a 50 Amp 240 Volt electrical feed along with the existing gas feed. I do not know that there is any way possible to have made this a better experience for you. Mike

12/26/2019

Done an excellent job with installation of range hood. Thanks Mike!

5.0 Mae T. Lakemoor, IL
12/11/2019

Mike arrived on time and diagnosed and addressed the issue right away.

5.0 Deborah S. Round Lake, IL
12/4/2019

The project was top notch!!! Will hire again!!!!

5.0 Caroline J. Grayslake, IL
11/19/2019

Micheal was very professional and did the kitchen fixture in no time even help with the cabinets. Listen to me and ask me questions. Thanks

5.0 Nancy H. Round Lake, IL
10/18/2019

Mike contacted me immediately, came the next day. He was very thorough, did a great job. I ll use him again & highly recommend him.

5.0 Kathleen A. Mundelein, IL
10/3/2019

Mike arrived right on time after calling me to see if he could come early. He and his apprentice were professional, got right to work and changed out 2 bad switches in a hall bath and a bedroom for me very quickly. They asked if there were any other problems they could help me with and then went on their way. I will definitely call them again when I need electrical services.

5.0 Terry F. Mundelein, IL
9/25/2019

Mike and Kayla were great, I couldn't have chosen a better company for the job, and he gave me a 10% Veteran discount, which I truly appreciated! Two thumbs up!!!

Photos

AMM Service Group, Inc.
7
Log Cabin Kitchen Lights
4
Jackie and Mike's Siljoy
17
Mchenry Riding Arena
41
Western Mchenry Log Cabin
11
Master Label Lightning Protection 2
11
UL Master Label Certified Lightning Protection 1
5
Re-purposed parts
7
The Proper Way To Wire A Receptacle
6
Exterior Work
3
Underground Hazards
2
Swimming Pools Must Be properly Grounded
4
Emergency Standby Generator
10
Square D Electrical Panel Retrofit

HomeAdvisor allows Service Professionals to post information about themselves and their business on their profile. HomeAdvisor does not review or verify the information representations set forth in those profiles as they are self-reported by the Service Professional.

HomeAdvisor verifies state-level licensing where applicable - note: some states require local or county level licensing and you should verify whether or not your pro is properly licensed.
To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Licensing Requirements page.

Seal of Approval

What is the screening process that Service Professionals go through in order to become members of the HomeAdvisor network?

  1. Verify Trade License
    HomeAdvisor checks to see if the business carries the appropriate state-level license.
  2. Verify Insurance
    As a part of our screening process, we encourage professionals to carry general liability insurance. We require coverage for hundreds of services.
  3. Verification of State Business Filings
    For business types that require a Secretary of State filing, we confirm that the business is in good standing in the state in which it is located.
  4. Criminal Records Search
    HomeAdvisor uses 3rd party data sources to conduct a criminal search for any relevant criminal activity associated with the owner/principal of the business.
  5. Sex Offender Search
    We confirm that the owner/principal is not listed on the official state Sex Offender web site in the state in which the owner/principal of the company is located.
  6. Bankruptcy Search
    We use 3rd party data sources to check the history of the principal/owner of the business for bankruptcy filings by or against them.
  7. Legal Search for Civil Judgments
    We use 3rd party data sources to check the principal/owner of the business for state level civil legal judgments entered against them.
  8. Liens Search
    We use 3rd party data sources to check the principal/owner of the business for liens placed against them.
  9. Identity Verification (SSN)
    HomeAdvisor verifies the social security number(s) of the owner/principal for identity check purposes. This check applies primarily to smaller business entities.
  10. Identity Verification (Reverse Phone Lookup)
    We conduct a reverse business phone lookup to identify records matching the phone number information provided by the business.



NOTE: Member service professional information confirmed as described above may change or expire over time; while HomeAdvisor attempts to maintain accurate and up-to-date information, and confirms changes when notified, we cannot guarantee that profile and screening information is accurate. Therefore, we recommend that before working with a service professional you verify that information presented is still current and/or acceptable to you.
Please see HomeAdvisor's Terms and Conditions for a full description of how we screen Service Professionals

**Only for U.S. service professionals

Final Step - Confirm Your Appointment:

Confirm your appointment with on , - Change


Required
Required
Required
Required
 
 
 

By clicking Confirm Appointment, you affirm you have read and agree to the HomeAdvisor Terms & Conditions, and you agree and authorize HomeAdvisor and its affiliates, and their networks of Service Professionals, to deliver marketing calls or texts using automated technology to the number you provided above regarding your project and other home services offers. Consent is not a condition of purchase.