Mr. Handyman of Ft. Washington and Clinton

HomeAdvisor screened and approved seal

HomeAdvisor Screened & Approved

This service professional has passed the HomeAdvisor screening process.

Learn about our screening process
Learn about our screening process

84% Recommended

7 Years In Business

Company Details

  • Verified Licenses

Hours

  • Mon: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
  • Tue: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
  • Wed: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
  • Thu: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
  • Fri: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
  • Sat: Closed
  • Sun: Closed
View All Details & Credentials

Achievements

Service Details

  • Small Jobs Welcome

Areas of Expertise

  • Handyman for Multiple Small Projects for a Home or Business
  • High Quality, Consistent Work
  • Minor Home Repairs in a Quick, Efficient Manner
  • Making Your "To Do" List Manageable
  • Certified Aging in Place Specialist
View All Offerings and Cities Served

Cost Information

  • Warranty Offered
  • Trip Charge May Apply
  • Credit Cards Accepted

Ratings

4.0
38 Verified Reviews
  • 5
    22
  • 4
    9
  • 3
    2
  • 2
    1
  • 1
    4

Highly rated for

Showing 1-10 of 38 reviews Showing 0 reviews
0.50 Keisha R. Waldorf, MD
9/16/2020

Not recommended...I wish I could give them a Zero Stars...The company charged me $178 plus $10 for supplies and all they did was show up and take a picture of my front door. I called them 6 times to figure out why I was charged and I left numerous messages. Each time I was told someone would get back to me. It is now 2 weeks later and no one has called me back. They have given me the runaround. I was told they would give me credit to towards fixing the door, and the field supervisor would review the pictures and determine what needed to be fixed. Well, none of that has happened. They require a credit card to schedule the work... Do not give it to them because they will just charge you for work not done. I am very disappointed with their service. All the other contractors I have used with Home Advisor have been great, but this one is awful. I now have to hire another contractor because the work still needs to be done.

4.0 Esther B. Accokeek, MD
9/27/2019

Final project turned out good.

4.0 Reg G. Waldorf, MD
10/9/2018

.

1.0 Dwayne B. Waldorf, MD
5/25/2018

The handyman said the lock needed to be replaced he said that he would pick it up on Saturday and come back to fix it because his daughter lived close,but he never showed up. I had to call a locksmith on Homeadvisor to repair that repaired it.

Response from Company:

I am so sorry that happened! It is very unusual situation and we were not aware of it in the office. It was over 2 mos. ago and you apparently didn't contact us. We can give you a 1-hr. credit if you'd like. If you call in to get some work done, tell them Joyce said you have a one hour credit.

4.0 Jocelyn R. Clinton, MD
5/21/2018

I was satisfied with the outcome of the fence and the technicians were friendly and easy to work with; however, the one issue I had was with the initial estimate. The final price was significantly higher than the initial estimate because of their hourly rate structure. There were some adjustments made by the company to compensate for this; however, in retrospect I would have gone with a company that provided a fixed bid since there would not have been any surprises regarding final cost at the end. I would definitely consider using them for other projects since I was happy with the workmanship but perhaps not a large project where there is a risk that the final cost will run outside of the estimated range.

Response from Company:

Thank you for your honest critique. We are sorry for the misunderstanding about the estimate. I'm glad you like our workmanship. We look forward to serving you in the future.

2.0 Toccaro G. Brandywine, MD
2/20/2018

Hired to complete post inspection repairs to sell my home. Quality was lacking. They were hourly and took their sweet time. Had to redo work twice. Finally the manager came over and tried to justify the inexperienced job performed. After job was completed, they added me to their high roller mailing list and left it on the flyer. Do yourself a favor and skip this company. I still had to hire another company to redo the work.

Response from Company:

We were, all here at Mr. Handyman, very surprised to see this review as your house is stunningly beautiful and it was over 3 years ago we did that work. We remember the house clearly, because it was a very large house (over 4,000 sq. ft.) and had columns indoors with primarily white walls and wood work. The air had been dry which cracked all the woodwork and drywall. You were in a hurry to sell the house and we were available (I see you were successful in selling it for well over 1/2 mil, which was not bad for this area in those times). We understand that it often appears that a job should take less time and cost less. Caulking in a fine bead is a skilled job and does take time when there were so many cracks that needed to be filled. We put helpers on the job due to the high ceilings to maintain safety, but we charge far less for them. The work needed to be immaculate and we have photos that show it was. We did give you some discounts, too. I am very sorry you were not happy with the work as we try out best to make all of our customers happy. I will put the beautiful photos of your house on this site as we feel we did a great job of making it look stunning which apparently was appreciated by the buyer.

5.0 Michelle C. Fort Washington, MD
1/9/2018

-

Response from Company:

Thank you for your great rating. we strive for high-quality work and customer satisfaction. So glad you were happy!

1.0 George N. Huntingtown, MD
12/21/2017

And it looks horrible the company does not seem as if they are trying to work with me to resolve the issue I have asked for someone to come inspect the work however they have not done it

Response from Company:

I'm sorry you're not happy and very surprised that you gave us this review. We gave you an estimate that was a 2-part job: dry wall one day and then sand and paint the 2nd day. We often do drywall this way as it needs to dry after we patch it. Big patches take longer to dry and the quick-dry type does not work well and often falls out or cracks. We want to give you quality work. It will not seem like quality if you don't get the 2nd part done. We've already set up an appointment with you and hope you'll find it to your liking and change this rating. Our customers' satisfaction is very important. And we warranty our finished work after payment.

3.0 Brad K. O Fallon, IL
11/29/2017

They were fine. Their estimate beat the rental agent's handyman by $200 which made me happy. My only complaints were that they charged something like $75 for the first hour of work. Also, we had worked out an estimate ahead of time and when they showed up to do the actual work, they added $100 to the estimate because they had forgotten to include one of the material items to their estimate.

9/25/2017

Even though what I wanted was lost a little in translation, my concerns were taken care of a 100% & that's what matters. Their pricing is based on a hourly basis regardless if finished less than an hour (excluding materials). Even though I do not like pricing done in that manner, their reviews were awesome & I wanted it done right the 1st time, so I paid a little extra.

Response from Company:

Thank you for the very nice review! I'm glad you value quality over price. You should receive a discount coupon for your next job via mail within a month in a thank-you post card. We're flexible on the expiration date and we have other discounts coming up, too. I look forward to doing business with you again.

Showing 1-10 of 38 results Showing 0 of 0 results
Page 1 of 4

Photos

Mr. Handyman of Ft. Washington and Clinton
9
Extraordinary House
2
Railing Repair
2
Ceiling Repair & Painting
2
Floor Installation
2
Shower Tiles Replaced
2
Bathroom Repair

HomeAdvisor allows Service Professionals to post information about themselves and their business on their profile. HomeAdvisor does not review or verify the information representations set forth in those profiles as they are self-reported by the Service Professional.

HomeAdvisor verifies state-level licensing where applicable - note: some states require local or county level licensing and you should verify whether or not your pro is properly licensed.
To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Licensing Requirements page.

Seal of Approval

What is the screening process that Service Professionals go through in order to become members of the HomeAdvisor network?

  1. Verify Trade License
    HomeAdvisor checks to see if the business carries the appropriate state-level license.
  2. Verify Insurance
    As a part of our screening process, we encourage professionals to carry general liability insurance. We require coverage for hundreds of services.
  3. Verification of State Business Filings
    For business types that require a Secretary of State filing, we confirm that the business is in good standing in the state in which it is located.
  4. Criminal Records Search
    HomeAdvisor uses 3rd party data sources to conduct a criminal search for any relevant criminal activity associated with the owner/principal of the business.
  5. Sex Offender Search
    We confirm that the owner/principal is not listed on the official state Sex Offender web site in the state in which the owner/principal of the company is located.
  6. Bankruptcy Search
    We use 3rd party data sources to check the history of the principal/owner of the business for bankruptcy filings by or against them.
  7. Legal Search for Civil Judgments
    We use 3rd party data sources to check the principal/owner of the business for state level civil legal judgments entered against them.
  8. Liens Search
    We use 3rd party data sources to check the principal/owner of the business for liens placed against them.
  9. Identity Verification (SSN)
    HomeAdvisor verifies the social security number(s) of the owner/principal for identity check purposes. This check applies primarily to smaller business entities.
  10. Identity Verification (Reverse Phone Lookup)
    We conduct a reverse business phone lookup to identify records matching the phone number information provided by the business.



NOTE: Member service professional information confirmed as described above may change or expire over time; while HomeAdvisor attempts to maintain accurate and up-to-date information, and confirms changes when notified, we cannot guarantee that profile and screening information is accurate. Therefore, we recommend that before working with a service professional you verify that information presented is still current and/or acceptable to you.
Please see HomeAdvisor's Terms and Conditions for a full description of how we screen Service Professionals

**Only for U.S. service professionals

Final Step - Confirm Your Appointment:

Confirm your appointment with on , - Change


Required
Required
Required
Required
 
 
 

By clicking Confirm Appointment, you affirm you have read and agree to the HomeAdvisor Terms & Conditions, and you agree and authorize HomeAdvisor and its affiliates, and their networks of Service Professionals, to deliver marketing calls or texts using automated technology to the number you provided above regarding your project and other home services offers. Consent is not a condition of purchase.