Northern Continental Heating and Cooling, Inc.

HomeAdvisor screened and approved seal

HomeAdvisor Screened & Approved

This service professional has passed the HomeAdvisor screening process.

Learn about our screening process
Learn about our screening process

43 Years In Business

Company Details


  • Mon:
  • Tue:
  • Wed:
  • Thu:
  • Fri:
  • Sat:
  • Sun:
View All Details & Credentials


Service Details

    Areas of Expertise

    • Heating - Boilers, Water Heaters, Electric Heaters
    • Cooling - Swamp Coolers, A/C Units
    • Controls
    • Indoor Air Quality - Air Cleaners and Filters
    View All Offerings and Cities Served

    Cost Information

    • Free Estimates
    • Trip Charge May Apply
    • Credit Cards Accepted


    19 Verified Reviews
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1

    Highly rated for

    • Quality
    • Value
    • Customer Service
    Showing 1-10 of 19 results
    1.5 Dan T. Woodstock, IL

    They overcharge. They do not tell you up front that they will charge $89 just to come out (that does not get applied to your bill as most other companies do). The guy took a 30 minute job and stalled around our house for 2 hours because he bills by the hour even though the problem was diagnosed within 2 minutes of his arrival. He was having my wife do his job (bring him buckets, bring him water etc) as if she was his little helper. Then he overcharged us. The company acknowledged this and refunded some money. It was still too much so then they told us we could email them the expired coupon from their website and they'd give us $25. This job should have been about $100-$125 but they more than doubled the national standard charge (over $300!!) to replace the drain tube. He says he cleaned the furnace too, but it's still dirty. I have before and after pictures. He also left the furnace with the pilot light out and the thermal coupler smashed in. I will definitely not use this company again. Dissatisfied with them and with HomeAdvisor. Wish I would've done this job myself. I could have done it for about $10 and in 10 minutes. That's no exaggeration and the technician knows it.

    Response from Company:

    As a company that has been in business over 30 years, we do have a strict list of terms and regulations. One of these being that it is mandatory for us to let you know the initial $89.00 service fee. When you call any service based business, it should be expected to have a labor fee for our technicians. After checking our records, you did in fact receive a discount and a coupon. HomeAdvisor ensures professionalism and legitimacy.

    5.0 Cindy Z. Crystal Lake, IL

    A+ from start to finish.

    5.0 Bridgett P. Ingleside, IL

    Dan was incredibly helpful every step of the way. He broke our estimate down for us, separating the cost to just replace the boiler and to add a radiator to one of our rooms. He also had a plan to be able to do the projects separately, if we wanted. We ended up doing everything together. It was very quick, the techs were super polite and knowledgeable. Would HIGHLY recommend.

    5.0 Wauconda, IL

    They were quick even though it was in the evening; very efficient and affordable

    5.0 Pam W. Mchenry, IL

    Was on time and quick. Had a maintenance check up only. Answered all my questions.

    5.0 Harold L. Ingleside, IL

    knew what he was doing. v ery easy to meet.

    4.0 Barrington, IL

    Professional service

    5.0 Linda C. Crystal Lake, IL

    We were very pleased with our experience with Northern Continental. Dave, the owner, was nice to deal with and answered our questions and concerns. The installation of our new AC and furnace unit was done promptly and professionally. We received quality service and a great product from Northern Continental.

    5.0 Vincent Z. South Barrington, IL

    On time, very competent, very user friendly. highly recommend.

    5.0 Michael S. Wonder Lake, IL

    On time quick diagnosis had all parts on hand. Good job no mess very professional


    Northern Continental Heating and Cooling, Inc.
    HVAC Services

    HomeAdvisor allows Service Professionals to post information about themselves and their business on their profile. HomeAdvisor does not review or verify the information representations set forth in those profiles as they are self-reported by the Service Professional.

    HomeAdvisor verifies state-level licensing where applicable - note: some states require local or county level licensing and you should verify whether or not your pro is properly licensed.
    To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Licensing Requirements page.

    Seal of Approval

    What is the screening process that Service Professionals go through in order to become members of the HomeAdvisor network?

    1. Verify Trade License
      HomeAdvisor checks to see if the business carries the appropriate state-level license.
    2. Verify Insurance
      As a part of our screening process, we encourage professionals to carry general liability insurance. We require coverage for hundreds of services.
    3. Verification of State Business Filings
      For business types that require a Secretary of State filing, we confirm that the business is in good standing in the state in which it is located.
    4. Criminal Records Search
      HomeAdvisor uses 3rd party data sources to conduct a criminal search for any relevant criminal activity associated with the owner/principal of the business.
    5. Sex Offender Search
      We confirm that the owner/principal is not listed on the official state Sex Offender web site in the state in which the owner/principal of the company is located.
    6. Bankruptcy Search
      We use 3rd party data sources to check the history of the principal/owner of the business for bankruptcy filings by or against them.
    7. Legal Search for Civil Judgments
      We use 3rd party data sources to check the principal/owner of the business for state level civil legal judgments entered against them.
    8. Liens Search
      We use 3rd party data sources to check the principal/owner of the business for liens placed against them.
    9. Identity Verification (SSN)
      HomeAdvisor verifies the social security number(s) of the owner/principal for identity check purposes. This check applies primarily to smaller business entities.
    10. Identity Verification (Reverse Phone Lookup)
      We conduct a reverse business phone lookup to identify records matching the phone number information provided by the business.

    NOTE: Member service professional information confirmed as described above may change or expire over time; while HomeAdvisor attempts to maintain accurate and up-to-date information, and confirms changes when notified, we cannot guarantee that profile and screening information is accurate. Therefore, we recommend that before working with a service professional you verify that information presented is still current and/or acceptable to you.
    Please see HomeAdvisor's Terms and Conditions for a full description of how we screen Service Professionals

    **Only for U.S. service professionals

    Final Step - Confirm Your Appointment:

    Confirm your appointment with on , - Change


    By clicking Confirm Appointment, you affirm you have read and agree to the HomeAdvisor Terms & Conditions, and you agree and authorize HomeAdvisor and its affiliates, and their networks of Service Professionals, to deliver marketing calls or texts using automated technology to the number you provided above regarding your project and other home services offers. Consent is not a condition of purchase.