Oesterling Chimney Sweep, LLC

HomeAdvisor screened and approved seal

HomeAdvisor Screened & Approved

This service professional has passed the HomeAdvisor screening process.

Learn about our screening process
Learn about our screening process

44 Years In Business

Company Details


209 North Walnut Street
Batesville, IN 47006


  • Mon:
  • Tue:
  • Wed:
  • Thu:
  • Fri:
  • Sat:
  • Sun:
View All Details & Credentials


Service Details

    Areas of Expertise

    • Chimney Cleaning
    • Chimney Repairs
    • Rebuilding Chimneys
    • Masonry Work
    View All Offerings and Cities Served

    Cost Information

    • Credit Cards Accepted


    25 Verified Reviews
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1

    Highly rated for

    • Quality
    • Value
    • Customer Service
    Showing 1-10 of 25 results
    4.5 Marissa M. Columbus, IN

    Great company - did an amazing job

    5.0 Toby J. Westport, IN

    Prompt, professional service!

    5.0 Ron B. Columbus, IN

    Very good , courteous, patient and Efficient

    5.0 Ann S. Columbus, IN

    They were very thorough, professional, and prompt. Appreciated seeing pictures of the inside of the chimney and some recommendations.

    5.0 Barb A. Rising Sun, IN

    On time . Scheduled me same day.

    5.0 Robert L. Columbus, IN

    They were on time and after completing the repair, they took pictures for me to show the home buyer.

    4.5 Amanda S. Rushville, IN

    Did a good job.

    5.0 Sherry E. Columbus, IN


    5.0 Kevin Q. Aurora, IN

    On time. Knowledgeable about inserts and helpful with recommendations for maintenance and care. Very clean job, went the extra mile to keep things clean.

    1.0 Doug M. Freetown, IN

    This letter is in reference to Oesterling chimney sweep in Columbus Indiana. I had a problem with my fireplace that I needed repaired, and their website said that they did chimney repair and restoration. I knew what the problem was and felt as if they would have seen this before. My first contact was by email, but I was not contacted so I called to schedule an appointment. I then sent pictures of the roof as well as a description of the problem, so that they would be prepared. Again no response so I called to make sure that the pictures had been received, and that the primary objective of this visit was to repair the problem, secondary was to clean the fireplace. The problem was that when the insert was installed, a large hole had been cut into the back of the existing fireplace so that a new flue could be installed. This area had not been sealed, nor had the chimney cap been sealed to the top of the chimney. The smell inside the house, as well as a blower door test revealed this problem. I had asked Oesterling to seal the chimney cap. What they did was to install a ¼â strip of insulation behind the fireplace surround. This did not fix the problem, so I complained. They did come out again but only proceeded to force more insulation around the surround, to the point it is visible from within the room. My next email asked if they had sealed the chimney cap to the chimney. No response. Oesterling had charged me for a level 2 inspection, which would include examination of the exterior of the chimney. Since they did not respond, it is doubtful that this was done. The problem has not been repaired, and I must now find someone else to repair.

    Response from Company:

    I do understand your concerns of us not answering. I take full responsibility for not getting back with you in a timely manner. However, at this period we were short staffed because of the quarantine from the Corona Virus. My first and foremost dedication is to the safety of my customers and my employees. Being short handed is however not an excuse. We were following up after someone else that installed the insert for you. Why did you not call the professionals that installed your insert incorrectly? Also, we were told the air leak was coming around the fireplace opening. If you wanted us to remove the insert and redo their install why did you not tell us that? We do not have the equipment to do a blower door test. We thought the air was coming from around the insert?s surround. The 1st technician arrived to do the chimney sweep. At that time he noticed there was no fireproof insulation around the surround, thinking that was indeed the problem. I will return you $20 for the insulation via check. If we were aware that you wanted the insert pulled out to insulate the liner and firebox it would have been done. Just to make you aware, the cost to do the insert pull out and insulating would have been more labor, so more money. I apologize for the miscommunication on this project. I will return the $20.00 for the cost of the insulation around the surround. Matt Oesterling, Owner Oesterling Chimney Sweep


    Oesterling Chimney Sweep, LLC
    Before and After
    Before and After
    Before and After
    Before and After
    Before and After

    HomeAdvisor allows Service Professionals to post information about themselves and their business on their profile. HomeAdvisor does not review or verify the information representations set forth in those profiles as they are self-reported by the Service Professional.

    HomeAdvisor verifies state-level licensing where applicable - note: some states require local or county level licensing and you should verify whether or not your pro is properly licensed.
    To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Licensing Requirements page.

    Seal of Approval

    What is the screening process that Service Professionals go through in order to become members of the HomeAdvisor network?

    1. Verify Trade License
      HomeAdvisor checks to see if the business carries the appropriate state-level license.
    2. Verify Insurance
      As a part of our screening process, we encourage professionals to carry general liability insurance. We require coverage for hundreds of services.
    3. Verification of State Business Filings
      For business types that require a Secretary of State filing, we confirm that the business is in good standing in the state in which it is located.
    4. Criminal Records Search
      HomeAdvisor uses 3rd party data sources to conduct a criminal search for any relevant criminal activity associated with the owner/principal of the business.
    5. Sex Offender Search
      We confirm that the owner/principal is not listed on the official state Sex Offender web site in the state in which the owner/principal of the company is located.
    6. Bankruptcy Search
      We use 3rd party data sources to check the history of the principal/owner of the business for bankruptcy filings by or against them.
    7. Legal Search for Civil Judgments
      We use 3rd party data sources to check the principal/owner of the business for state level civil legal judgments entered against them.
    8. Liens Search
      We use 3rd party data sources to check the principal/owner of the business for liens placed against them.
    9. Identity Verification (SSN)
      HomeAdvisor verifies the social security number(s) of the owner/principal for identity check purposes. This check applies primarily to smaller business entities.
    10. Identity Verification (Reverse Phone Lookup)
      We conduct a reverse business phone lookup to identify records matching the phone number information provided by the business.

    NOTE: Member service professional information confirmed as described above may change or expire over time; while HomeAdvisor attempts to maintain accurate and up-to-date information, and confirms changes when notified, we cannot guarantee that profile and screening information is accurate. Therefore, we recommend that before working with a service professional you verify that information presented is still current and/or acceptable to you.
    Please see HomeAdvisor's Terms and Conditions for a full description of how we screen Service Professionals

    **Only for U.S. service professionals

    Final Step - Confirm Your Appointment:

    Confirm your appointment with on , - Change


    By clicking Confirm Appointment, you affirm you have read and agree to the HomeAdvisor Terms & Conditions, and you agree and authorize HomeAdvisor and its affiliates, and their networks of Service Professionals, to deliver marketing calls or texts using automated technology to the number you provided above regarding your project and other home services offers. Consent is not a condition of purchase.