HomeAdvisor screened and approved seal

HomeAdvisor Screened & Approved

This service professional has passed the HomeAdvisor screening process.

Learn about our screening process
Learn about our screening process

32 Years In Business

Company Details

  • Bilingual
  • Veteran Owned

Contact

938 West Laurel Street
San Antonio, TX 78201

Hours

  • Mon:
  • Tue:
  • Wed:
  • Thu:
  • Fri:
  • Sat:
  • Sun:
View All Details & Credentials

Achievements

Service Details

  • Residential Work
  • Commercial Work

Areas of Expertise

  • Kitchen and Bath Cabinets
  • Granite Countertops
  • Closets
  • Wall Units
View All Offerings and Cities Served

Cost Information

  • Free Estimates
  • Credit Cards Accepted

Ratings

4.6
17 Verified Reviews
  • 5
    14
  • 4
    2
  • 3
    0
  • 2
    0
  • 1
    1

Highly rated for

  • Quality
  • Value
Showing 1-10 of 17 results
5.0 Craig O. Manor, TX
6/15/2023

Mr. Ortiz is extremely kind and accommodating. I gave him a picture of a custom entertainment center and OMG, it came out more beautiful than I thought it would. His detail to specific and his craftmanship is not seen in todays time. He is very thoughtful. I would absolutely recommend him to anyone and I have.

5.0 Judith G. San Antonio, TX
12/1/2022

Update: 3/15/2024 Buyer Beware, Waited for over 2 months on repair. Owner called today said he saw my 3/12 update here and that threw a wrench in the repair, then he hung up on me. Update: 3/12/24. Trim fell off bookshelf and was informed out of warranty. Contacted numerous times to fix and he never did. This was a high cost item and I am disappointed that he did not stand behind his work. Would not use them again. Ortiz cabinet shop designed and built a custom bookshelf/cabinets for our living room. They matched the color to our other cabinets and the quality is very high. The shelf is 8 feet high and 9 feet long. Great craftsmanship. Install was very good with attention to details. We love the bookshelf. It looks like it was original to the house.

Response from Company:

Customer doesn't want to pay for service call on item beyond warranty period, we offered to do a courtesy trip when next in the area for Free...but apparently that wasn't good enough

5.0 Mary A. Devine, TX
8/1/2022

Very efficient and dependable.

5.0 Pat W. San Antonio, TX
6/3/2022

This is the second time I have submitted a review for the cabinet work done by Ortiz. Ace and MacGyver did a beautiful job. Always showed up on time. Ace always returned my calls promptly and was a pleasure to work with. I would highly recommend Ortiz Cabinets.

5.0 Pat W. San Antonio, TX
5/4/2022

Ortiz Cabinets just did a beautiful job with new cabinet doors and drawers for my kitchen. Ace and MacGyver were courteous, dependable and always on time. I would highly recommend Ortiz Cabinets.

5.0 Stephen S. San Antonio, TX
5/30/2020

Great quality work on a new built-in cabinet/bookcase for an odd space in our home. Beautiful craftsmanship. Install crew were very professional and friendly throughout. Good work costs money. Definitely not cheap but zero regrets as we got a quality product and great service. Ace was very responsive to keeping us updated. Highly recommend!

5.0 Bryan D. San Antonio, TX
5/1/2019

Ace really truly cares about customer satisfaction. He is incredibly patient and let's the project evolve with customer wishes and adaptations. The little were BIG things to us. Excellent in communication... Answers or calls/texts back quickly. Very pleased! Update: hired for a second smaller job and could not have been more disappointed...not the same experience at all. So I would say that it was a 50/50 experience for us. 1 very good experience vs 1 horrific experience. Too bad because Ace is a very capable craftsman. 3 months to get a kitchen island built and always an excuse while displacing the blame for the delay on us. If you want any sort of special paint finish (glazing or antiquing this is far from his expertise) so a botched job that we are having to fix ourselves. He needs more help and much better organization of his business. Honesty seems to be compromised when he can't remember what he said last. Get EVERYTHING in writing!

4.5 Victor I. San Antonio, TX
10/17/2018

Job might take longer than expected but the result is great. We are very happy with our big closet cabinets, bathroom cabinet and counter tops. The waiting pays off.

5.0 Ana H. San Antonio, TX
5/4/2018

Ortiz Cabinet shop did an amazing job with our custom cabinets, they are perfect! My husband decided he wanted a trim at the top after all, and he came back to add that, then came back again to install the handles as we did not have them when he came the first time, and we ordered our own. We will be using them again for future projects. Highly recommend!

0.50 Robert S. Schertz, TX
1/22/2018

I hired Ace to build customs cabinets on a rehab project I was doing late last year. The cabinets were 3 weeks late. There was little to no communication. When the cabinets were delivered they were built wrong. It took 3 more weeks to get it right. He charged me more for his mistake knowing he had me over a barrel. I have repeatedly contacted him for 1099 info and final invoice to complete my business taxes and he will not respond. Bad business I would not recommend him to build a dog house.

Response from Company:

Cabinet orders during the holidays take longer than expected as usual due to days off...homeowner happy with work...sorry but due to upgrading my phones I lost texts that I would have responded too

Photos

Ortiz's Cabinet Shop
13
Misc.

HomeAdvisor allows Service Professionals to post information about themselves and their business on their profile. HomeAdvisor does not review or verify the information representations set forth in those profiles as they are self-reported by the Service Professional.

To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Licensing Requirements page. Note that some states require local or county level licensing and you should verify whether or not your pro is properly licensed.

Seal of Approval

What is the screening process that Service Professionals go through in order to become members of the HomeAdvisor network?

  1. Verify Trade License
    HomeAdvisor checks to see if the business carries the appropriate state-level license.
  2. Verify Insurance
    As a part of our screening process, we encourage professionals to carry general liability insurance. We require coverage for hundreds of services.
  3. Verification of State Business Filings
    For business types that require a Secretary of State filing, we confirm that the business is in good standing in the state in which it is located.
  4. Criminal Records Search
    HomeAdvisor uses 3rd party data sources to conduct a criminal search for any relevant criminal activity associated with the owner/principal of the business.
  5. Sex Offender Search
    We confirm that the owner/principal is not listed on the official state Sex Offender web site in the state in which the owner/principal of the company is located.
  6. Bankruptcy Search
    We use 3rd party data sources to check the history of the principal/owner of the business for bankruptcy filings by or against them.
  7. Legal Search for Civil Judgments
    We use 3rd party data sources to check the principal/owner of the business for state level civil legal judgments entered against them.
  8. Liens Search
    We use 3rd party data sources to check the principal/owner of the business for liens placed against them.
  9. Identity Verification (SSN)
    HomeAdvisor verifies the social security number(s) of the owner/principal for identity check purposes. This check applies primarily to smaller business entities.
  10. Identity Verification (Reverse Phone Lookup)
    We conduct a reverse business phone lookup to identify records matching the phone number information provided by the business.



NOTE: Member service professional information confirmed as described above may change or expire over time; while HomeAdvisor attempts to maintain accurate and up-to-date information, and confirms changes when notified, we cannot guarantee that profile and screening information is accurate. Therefore, we recommend that before working with a service professional you verify that information presented is still current and/or acceptable to you.
Please see HomeAdvisor's Terms and Conditions for a full description of how we screen Service Professionals

**Only for U.S. service professionals

Final Step - Confirm Your Appointment:

Confirm your appointment with on , - Change


Required
Required
Required
Required
 
 
 

By clicking Confirm Appointment, you affirm you have read and agree to the HomeAdvisor Terms & Conditions, and you agree and authorize HomeAdvisor and its affiliates, and their networks of Service Professionals, to deliver marketing calls or texts using automated technology to the number you provided above regarding your project and other home services offers. Consent is not a condition of purchase.