HomeAdvisor screened and approved seal

HomeAdvisor Screened & Approved

This service professional has passed the HomeAdvisor screening process.

Learn about our screening process
Learn about our screening process

100% Recommended

4 Years In Business

Company Details

Hours

  • Mon: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
  • Tue: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
  • Wed: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
  • Thu: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
  • Fri: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
  • Sat: Closed
  • Sun: Closed
View All Details & Credentials

Achievements

Service Details

  • Residential Work

Areas of Expertise

  • Remodels
  • Decks
  • Porches
  • Basement finishes
  • New Constrcuction
View All Offerings and Cities Served

Cost Information

  • Warranty Offered

Ratings

4.9
9 Verified Reviews
  • 5
    8
  • 4
    1
  • 3
    0
  • 2
    0
  • 1
    0

Highly rated for

  • Quality
  • Value
  • Customer Service
Showing 1-9 of 9 reviews Showing 0 reviews
5.0 David B. Cincinnati, OH
3/3/2021

Prather Construction did a great job. Helped me along the way, understand all they were doing and why. Great customer service, and professional. I would recommend this company.ð ¤ Thanks Jacob!

5.0 Dale L. Cincinnati, OH
2/6/2021

Jacob and his crew went out of their way to work with us on this deck and it turned out to be a great addition to our home. I would highly recommend Prather Construction to anyone and we already have future plans for them to do on our home.

5.0 Karen Y. West Harrison, IN
1/30/2021

Jacob was on the ball. Always early & ready to work. We made changes to plan - he was always willing to accommodate us. Job well done!! Thank you.

Response from Company:

Thank you Karen! This garage build was an amazing opportunity and you two made it amazing. Thank you for allowing Prather Construction to build your new garage! Thanks, Jacob.

5.0 Janet R. West Harrison, IN
1/30/2021

Prather Construction ( Jacob) was professional and friendly. All work was completed as scheduled and the quality of the build is excellent. The team cleaned up and disposed of all demolition materials. I found Jacob to be helpful and honest. He follows up on all messages and upon completion will review the completed work with you to ensure you are satisfied. I would recommend Jacob Prather for any of your construction needs. I have already asked him to look into my next home improvement job.

Response from Company:

Thank you Janet! There?s not too many decks being built in the winter. But if you need it done you know we will be there. Thanks Jacob

5.0 Patrisha H. Moores Hill, IN
8/18/2019

Mr Prather replaced 12 joist under our home as well as subfloor in our entry, dining and front room that had rotted due to poor installation when the home was built. He was very knowledgeable and did a fantastic job !! There was no category that covered this job.

Response from Company:

Thank you Patrisha! I hope all is well you two. I enjoyed the work and know we will do more. Thanks, Jacob

4.0 Colleen H. Cincinnati, OH
8/8/2019

A couple of issues with a popped board, curved on the deck. Other than that, the work was completed in a timely manner. The start up was a bit slow due to rain and prior job which was also held up by the rain.

Response from Company:

Thank you Colleen! However, I wish I had known you had an issue before the review. But thank you for the work it was a pleasure! Thanks, Jacob.

5.0 Adam G. Hebron, KY
12/7/2017

Prather Construction did a great job on my project. All work was very high quality and completed on time and everything cleaned up when finished. I highly recommend Prather Construction. I will personally be using them exclusively from now on. Thank you!

Response from Company:

Thank you for the review Adam! I hope all is well with you and your family. Thanks, Jacob

5.0 Haiyang A. Cincinnati, OH
11/8/2017

Jacob helped us to install a kitchen vent hood in October 2017. The job involves drilling through an eight-inch round hole through a brick wall, and because of the location of the stove underneath the hood, the hole needs to go through a stud, which is weight-bearing in an exterior wall. Prior to hiring Jacob, I have contacted two other contractors. One ultimately declined the job after an initial walkthrough, citing reasons that the hood is commercial-grade and they simply could not do it (despite promising an easy job during the initial walkthrough and measurement). The other from a named company proposed a solution that did not involve reinforcing the stud (and joked about the house is not going to falling down because of lack of support of one stud). Jacobs solution included the reinforcement of the stud, and the quote was quite reasonable, and that's why we decided to enlist his help. He has not only built an entire frame around the shortened-stud (with headers, and multiple sister studs), but also fastened the 80-lbs vent hood to the top as well as to the back of the wall. Its so sturdy that that he put his entire weight on it, and the hood wont budge. He also helped with drywall and electric outlet installation. We are extremely happy with the quality of work, and his overall attitude in the project. Well definitely consider his service for future handyman projects.

Response from Company:

Thank you Haiyang! I was happy for the opportunity and am very glad we connected. Thanks again, Jacob Prather

5.0 Rose G.
8/14/2017

They are very honest. Extremely good quality work. A pleasure to work with.

Photos

Prather Construction
2
Deck resurface
2
Pavilion build
3
Kitchen remodel
Deck resurface
2
Deck resurface
3
Deck and Pavilion
3
Deck replacement
2
Pool Pavilion
2
Screened Porch
3
Garage Build
6
Basement Finish
4
New proch addition
6
Deck Project in Greendale
6
Deck Project from 2017
3
New deck in Lawrenceburg
3
Deck Replacement

HomeAdvisor allows Service Professionals to post information about themselves and their business on their profile. HomeAdvisor does not review or verify the information representations set forth in those profiles as they are self-reported by the Service Professional.

HomeAdvisor verifies state-level licensing where applicable - note: some states require local or county level licensing and you should verify whether or not your pro is properly licensed.
To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Licensing Requirements page.

Seal of Approval

What is the screening process that Service Professionals go through in order to become members of the HomeAdvisor network?

  1. Verify Trade License
    HomeAdvisor checks to see if the business carries the appropriate state-level license.
  2. Verify Insurance
    As a part of our screening process, we encourage professionals to carry general liability insurance. We require coverage for hundreds of services.
  3. Verification of State Business Filings
    For business types that require a Secretary of State filing, we confirm that the business is in good standing in the state in which it is located.
  4. Criminal Records Search
    HomeAdvisor uses 3rd party data sources to conduct a criminal search for any relevant criminal activity associated with the owner/principal of the business.
  5. Sex Offender Search
    We confirm that the owner/principal is not listed on the official state Sex Offender web site in the state in which the owner/principal of the company is located.
  6. Bankruptcy Search
    We use 3rd party data sources to check the history of the principal/owner of the business for bankruptcy filings by or against them.
  7. Legal Search for Civil Judgments
    We use 3rd party data sources to check the principal/owner of the business for state level civil legal judgments entered against them.
  8. Liens Search
    We use 3rd party data sources to check the principal/owner of the business for liens placed against them.
  9. Identity Verification (SSN)
    HomeAdvisor verifies the social security number(s) of the owner/principal for identity check purposes. This check applies primarily to smaller business entities.
  10. Identity Verification (Reverse Phone Lookup)
    We conduct a reverse business phone lookup to identify records matching the phone number information provided by the business.



NOTE: Member service professional information confirmed as described above may change or expire over time; while HomeAdvisor attempts to maintain accurate and up-to-date information, and confirms changes when notified, we cannot guarantee that profile and screening information is accurate. Therefore, we recommend that before working with a service professional you verify that information presented is still current and/or acceptable to you.
Please see HomeAdvisor's Terms and Conditions for a full description of how we screen Service Professionals

**Only for U.S. service professionals

Final Step - Confirm Your Appointment:

Confirm your appointment with on , - Change


Required
Required
Required
Required
 
 
 

By clicking Confirm Appointment, you affirm you have read and agree to the HomeAdvisor Terms & Conditions, and you agree and authorize HomeAdvisor and its affiliates, and their networks of Service Professionals, to deliver marketing calls or texts using automated technology to the number you provided above regarding your project and other home services offers. Consent is not a condition of purchase.