HomeAdvisor screened and approved seal

HomeAdvisor Screened & Approved

This service professional has passed the HomeAdvisor screening process.

Learn about our screening process
Learn about our screening process

25 Years In Business

Company Details


  • Mon:
  • Tue:
  • Wed:
  • Thu:
  • Fri:
  • Sat:
  • Sun:
View All Details & Credentials


Service Details

    Areas of Expertise

    • Additions and Remodels
    View All Offerings and Cities Served

    Cost Information

    • Free Estimates


    44 Verified Reviews
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    Showing 1-10 of 44 results
    2.0 Anthony S. Chesterton, IN

    Hired to demo an existing deck and build new. The project took well over 3 months to complete. Some of the delay was due to the amount of rain that we had but much of it was related to the fact there was no one to do the work. Much of the work had to be done and done again because it wasn't completed correctly the first time. The final result looks nice but screws were left all over in the gaps between boards. Hoping the end product was constructed well enough to last.

    4.0 David W. Westville, IN

    Quality work Project was underestimated for time

    5.0 Steve M. Munster, IN

    Hired Chicago Renovators for a basement remodel. They did a great job on all parts of the project and were extremely competitive in the pricing aspect.

    2.5 Jean C. Saint John, IN

    (No comments provided)

    5.0 Angel T. Dyer, IN

    Bob responded to my initial request and was available to give a quote within the hour. He understood what I was wanting for my deck replacement, and he delivered on everything that he promised. It took a little while to complete the project; however, there weren't any deadlines that I needed to meet. The finished product was well worth the wait!! Bob kept me in the loop as to what was happening and the adjustments that needed to be made. I was very pleased with the finishing touches and routing of the deck. He also went above and beyond and removed the debris from the old decking -- totally not expected since we didn't discuss that as part of the project. I would happily do business with him again.

    5.0 John S. Chesterton, IN

    Good price, done quickly, kept me informed, would highly recommend.

    5.0 Bo C. Las Vegas, NV

    They have good craftsmanship. They care about their work and they did good.

    5.0 Zack C.

    He has great workers. He is very informant on what is going on. He is just a great guy all around. I was very happy with all that he had done.

    5.0 Kyle N. Rolling Prairie, IN

    These guys came in and did an excellent job they were very responsive and kept me informed. I would recommend them and plan on hiring them again next summer to rebuild my deck.

    0.50 James B. Valparaiso, IN

    Doesn't meet dates or commitments. Makes major errors when laying out and building the project. Doesn't follow codes very well at all. Did not check grades before stating to see what the elevation needs to be to keep water out of the garage. Concrete work is not acceptable but will not sub out professionals to do the work correctly. He puts some sort of product over the poor job he has done on the concrete floor to hide the flaws. He leaves the job site a mess. They do not clean up the mess until you ask them to. Then it is at best a poor effort. He leaves the earth work up to the homeowner to restore what he has torn up. Doesn't allow for drainage or elevations prior to construction start and at the end of the project. He doesn't listen to the client and will do just what he wants to do. Then you have to pay someone to tear out and you then have to pay to have what you wanted done by someone else. This project took almost 7 months and should of only took 6 to 8 weeks. When he finally decided he would not fix the things he messed up including a punch list of items left unfinished, and left part of the last draw to call it even.

    Response from Company:

    James has some valid points however his garage project was in an area that was a fish bowl. He didn't consider the water drainage he would have sent to his neighbors yard. You can't have it both ways. We have worked in the town James lives in and have many successful projects. Of course we listen to our clients and we clean up our messes. We wouldn't have got the job if he didn't think we were capable. We saw he did manage to install his asphalt parking area despite his comments above. We gave him a reduced price not because we would not fix the things, but because when we were done and he approved everything, we did that to make him happy. At the time he was.


    Chicago Renovators, LLC
    Crowel Deck

    HomeAdvisor allows Service Professionals to post information about themselves and their business on their profile. HomeAdvisor does not review or verify the information representations set forth in those profiles as they are self-reported by the Service Professional.

    HomeAdvisor verifies state-level licensing where applicable - note: some states require local or county level licensing and you should verify whether or not your pro is properly licensed.
    To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Licensing Requirements page.

    Seal of Approval

    What is the screening process that Service Professionals go through in order to become members of the HomeAdvisor network?

    1. Verify Trade License
      HomeAdvisor checks to see if the business carries the appropriate state-level license.
    2. Verify Insurance
      As a part of our screening process, we encourage professionals to carry general liability insurance. We require coverage for hundreds of services.
    3. Verification of State Business Filings
      For business types that require a Secretary of State filing, we confirm that the business is in good standing in the state in which it is located.
    4. Criminal Records Search
      HomeAdvisor uses 3rd party data sources to conduct a criminal search for any relevant criminal activity associated with the owner/principal of the business.
    5. Sex Offender Search
      We confirm that the owner/principal is not listed on the official state Sex Offender web site in the state in which the owner/principal of the company is located.
    6. Bankruptcy Search
      We use 3rd party data sources to check the history of the principal/owner of the business for bankruptcy filings by or against them.
    7. Legal Search for Civil Judgments
      We use 3rd party data sources to check the principal/owner of the business for state level civil legal judgments entered against them.
    8. Liens Search
      We use 3rd party data sources to check the principal/owner of the business for liens placed against them.
    9. Identity Verification (SSN)
      HomeAdvisor verifies the social security number(s) of the owner/principal for identity check purposes. This check applies primarily to smaller business entities.
    10. Identity Verification (Reverse Phone Lookup)
      We conduct a reverse business phone lookup to identify records matching the phone number information provided by the business.

    NOTE: Member service professional information confirmed as described above may change or expire over time; while HomeAdvisor attempts to maintain accurate and up-to-date information, and confirms changes when notified, we cannot guarantee that profile and screening information is accurate. Therefore, we recommend that before working with a service professional you verify that information presented is still current and/or acceptable to you.
    Please see HomeAdvisor's Terms and Conditions for a full description of how we screen Service Professionals

    **Only for U.S. service professionals

    Final Step - Confirm Your Appointment:

    Confirm your appointment with on , - Change


    By clicking Confirm Appointment, you affirm you have read and agree to the HomeAdvisor Terms & Conditions, and you agree and authorize HomeAdvisor and its affiliates, and their networks of Service Professionals, to deliver marketing calls or texts using automated technology to the number you provided above regarding your project and other home services offers. Consent is not a condition of purchase.