HomeAdvisor screened and approved seal

HomeAdvisor Screened & Approved

This service professional has passed the HomeAdvisor screening process.

Learn about our screening process
Learn about our screening process

44 Years In Business

Company Details

  • Verified Licenses

Contact

269 Sheffield Street, Unit 7
Mountainside, NJ 07092
http://selectaflooring.com

Hours

  • Mon: 7:00 AM - 8:00 PM
  • Tue: 7:00 AM - 8:00 PM
  • Wed: 7:00 AM - 8:00 PM
  • Thu: 7:00 AM - 8:00 PM
  • Fri: 7:00 AM - 8:00 PM
  • Sat: 7:00 AM - 12:00 PM
  • Sun: 7:00 AM - 12:00 PM
View All Details & Credentials

Achievements

Service Details

    Areas of Expertise

    • Wood Flooring
    • Sanding & Refinishing
    • Installation
    • Rubio Monocoat application
    • Floor Repair
    View All Offerings and Cities Served

    Cost Information

    • Free Estimates

    Ratings

    4.6
    16 Verified Reviews
    • 5
      12
    • 4
      3
    • 3
      1
    • 2
      0
    • 1
      0

    Highly rated for

    • Quality
    • Value
    • Customer Service
    Showing 1-10 of 16 results
    4.5 Brandon B. Westfield, NJ
    11/1/2022

    Strongly recommend - Patrick was incredible in helping select the right stain and poly. There was very minimal dust because they worked so clean. The end result is spectacular.

    4.0 Richard S. West Orange, NJ
    4/24/2021

    Slow on cleaning up

    5.0 Michael H. Glen Ridge, NJ
    12/27/2020

    Very professional and got it all done in a week. Floors look brand new and they’re 95 years old! Highly recommend!

    4.5 Michele C. Califon, NJ
    6/26/2019

    The team was efficient and friendly. We are happy with the refinished floors - thank you.

    5.0 Susan S. Metuchen, NJ
    6/4/2019

    Scott, Patrick and the team were great. Great customer service and pricing was competive.

    4.0 Philip L. Martinsville, NJ
    9/13/2018

    They did an excellent job in pulling up the carpet, sanding, and varnishing the two rooms. I think their prices seem high and I didnt like their requirement that 1/3 of the price had to be paid in advance, to be followed by another 1/3 to be paid when they arrive before actually doing anything. Hence, 2/3 of the contract had to be paid before any actual work was done. Also some scheduling snafus. But on balance they did do all they were supposed to do and the scheduling snafus didn't delay the project much. I plan to hire them again but will refuse to pay them the second 1/3 until they finished at least the first day's work.

    Response from Company:

    Hi Phil, I am happy you are enjoying your newly finished floors. I can explain our payment schedule as it pertained to your particular job. Typically we only ask for a 10% deposit, in your case we had to purchase moldings and the special finish that you requested. So included in your initial deposit was the cost of the materials. The remaining balance was about $2,000 which we split into the next 2 payments. Most flooring jobs are 80% completed after the first day, often times once the stain color is chosen we won't see the homeowners again until the job is complete. We implemented a payment system that we feel works for our business, on the rare occasion our customers don't agree with the payment schedule we are more than willing to compromise as we did in your situation.

    5.0 Jordan F. Montclair, NJ
    8/1/2018

    My husband and I, just bought our first home together and we wanted to have the floors stained to our tastes before moving in. Selecta Flooring was able to give us estimates based on photos & floor plan and even came the same day as our closing for the formal walk through. They started the very next day and it only took 4 days from start to finish. We love our new floors and would definitely recommend!

    Response from Company:

    Thank you for the kind review, and congratulations on your new home!

    5.0 Manish H. Short Hills, NJ
    7/14/2018

    Good job overall. Scott is a great guy to deal with fair and honest. Can be a little too careful sometimes.

    Response from Company:

    Thank you, I am glad you are happy and look forward to working with you on your next phase. Nothing wrong with being careful LOL!

    5.0 Ken M. Westfield, NJ
    7/3/2018

    Scott was very responsive, his team while on-location was very respectful of the home and were extremely clean during the project. Estimate was spot on, and were available during a timeline that worked well with my availability. I will definitely use them again!

    Response from Company:

    Thank you, Good Luck with your new home!!

    3.0 Lauren C. Mountainside, NJ
    7/1/2018

    Hired them based on recommendations and reviews. Their price was competitive. The job was a new hardwood floor in the kitchen, and repairs and sanding/refinishing living room/dining room. Give them a B for quality. It's mostly fine, but one area they said would sand out still shows some damage. Also the color, which to be fair, they said wouldn't be exactly the same as adjacent floors that were not redone, is actually fairly different. My issue with them is communication. They fell short in a few areas. Background: I work 5 minutes from my house, so I told them to call when they're on the way/ready to leave and I'd let them in/out. Out of the four visits, they only did this once or twice. The rest of the time, they'd call once they were there and have to wait for me. The first day, they left without calling and left my front and back doors unlocked. The foreman said "We usually have a lock box." This was never discussed before and I was frankly uncomfortable, as there were different workers there every day. I was told a couple of times that we could move back in a few hours after they finished, but when they actually finished, we were told to wait until the next day. So I said I wouldn't recommend them, but actually I'm not sure. I spent $3800 in this job.

    Response from Company:

    Hi Lauren, Thank you for your honest critique. I definitely agree there was a miscommunication about the lock box. I always require a lock box to avoid the exact issues you have stated above. You were very adamant about being there and letting us in as you worked 5 min. away. I didn't want to press the issue which was my fault. When matching new finish to old finish it is very difficult to get a perfect match, we made a point to explain this and provided a sample for your approval. As for any pre-existing marks, we can do our best to sand them out but sometimes they do not fully go away. We are currently in the busy season, I have 2-3 vans on the road working daily and usually 1 van dedicated to coating the floors. So yes, you may see different team members during the different phases of the project. Thank you again for your insight , we will use it to refine our process to provide better service. Good Luck selling your home!

    Photos

    Selecta Flooring, LLC
    5
    SuperWhite Rubio Monocoat
    3
    Modern Gray Wood Floors
    6
    Wolf Composite Deck
    5
    Rubio Aqua Precolor
    3
    Reclaimed Hickory Wood
    5
    Rubio Fume on White Oak
    6
    Mohagoney Floor Sanding
    9
    White Oak Floors, NJ
    5
    Pahoehoe Flooring
    5
    Home Floors Remodel
    6
    Smoked Oak on White Oak
    3
    Antique Wood Flooring, NJ
    5
    Açai Rubio Monocoat Wood
    7
    Red Oak Wood Flooring
    12
    Springfield NJ
    10
    Bethany Beach Deleware
    4
    Summit NJ Bar
    5
    On the side Spa

    HomeAdvisor allows Service Professionals to post information about themselves and their business on their profile. HomeAdvisor does not review or verify the information representations set forth in those profiles as they are self-reported by the Service Professional.

    HomeAdvisor verifies state-level licensing where applicable - note: some states require local or county level licensing and you should verify whether or not your pro is properly licensed.
    To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Licensing Requirements page.

    Seal of Approval

    What is the screening process that Service Professionals go through in order to become members of the HomeAdvisor network?

    1. Verify Trade License
      HomeAdvisor checks to see if the business carries the appropriate state-level license.
    2. Verify Insurance
      As a part of our screening process, we encourage professionals to carry general liability insurance. We require coverage for hundreds of services.
    3. Verification of State Business Filings
      For business types that require a Secretary of State filing, we confirm that the business is in good standing in the state in which it is located.
    4. Criminal Records Search
      HomeAdvisor uses 3rd party data sources to conduct a criminal search for any relevant criminal activity associated with the owner/principal of the business.
    5. Sex Offender Search
      We confirm that the owner/principal is not listed on the official state Sex Offender web site in the state in which the owner/principal of the company is located.
    6. Bankruptcy Search
      We use 3rd party data sources to check the history of the principal/owner of the business for bankruptcy filings by or against them.
    7. Legal Search for Civil Judgments
      We use 3rd party data sources to check the principal/owner of the business for state level civil legal judgments entered against them.
    8. Liens Search
      We use 3rd party data sources to check the principal/owner of the business for liens placed against them.
    9. Identity Verification (SSN)
      HomeAdvisor verifies the social security number(s) of the owner/principal for identity check purposes. This check applies primarily to smaller business entities.
    10. Identity Verification (Reverse Phone Lookup)
      We conduct a reverse business phone lookup to identify records matching the phone number information provided by the business.



    NOTE: Member service professional information confirmed as described above may change or expire over time; while HomeAdvisor attempts to maintain accurate and up-to-date information, and confirms changes when notified, we cannot guarantee that profile and screening information is accurate. Therefore, we recommend that before working with a service professional you verify that information presented is still current and/or acceptable to you.
    Please see HomeAdvisor's Terms and Conditions for a full description of how we screen Service Professionals

    **Only for U.S. service professionals

    Final Step - Confirm Your Appointment:

    Confirm your appointment with on , - Change


    Required
    Required
    Required
    Required
     
     
     

    By clicking Confirm Appointment, you affirm you have read and agree to the HomeAdvisor Terms & Conditions, and you agree and authorize HomeAdvisor and its affiliates, and their networks of Service Professionals, to deliver marketing calls or texts using automated technology to the number you provided above regarding your project and other home services offers. Consent is not a condition of purchase.