Selecta Flooring, LLC

4.68 |12 Verified Ratings
Write a Review

Selecta Flooring, LLC

4.68 | 12 Verified Ratings
Write a Review

908-301-0150

269 Sheffield Street, Unit 7
Mountainside, NJ 07092
Share
Your use of our services is governed by our Terms & Conditions

Profile
Selecta Flooring, LLC


With Selecta Flooring every job is guaranteed

Selecta Flooring, LLC, is your very best pricing, excellent customer service, and superior workmanship on every job we do. We are dedicated professionals that will meet your flooring needs throughout the home and business. Call us now!

Achievements

Learn how HomeAdvisor screens and approves their pros.

Service Area

  • Morristown
  • Westfield
  • Montclair
  • Summit
  • Berkeley Heights
  • Springfield
  • Short Hills
  • Madison
  • New Providence
  • Mendham
  • Fanwood
  • Cranford
  • Plainfield
  • Bridgewater
  • Bedminster
  • Livingston
  • Mountainside
  • Scotch Plains
  • Gillette
  • Millington
  • West Orange
  • Florham Park
  • Warren
  • See All >

Services Offered

Flooring & Carpet
  • Wood Flooring Repair
  • Wood Flooring Refinish

Areas of Expertise

  • Wood Flooring
  • Sanding & Refinishing
  • Installation
  • Rubio Monocoat application
  • Floor Repair

Product Brands Used

  • Rubio Monocoat

Quick Facts

Business Hours
Monday:
7:00 AM to 8:00 PM
Tuesday:
7:00 AM to 8:00 PM
Wednesday:
7:00 AM to 8:00 PM
Thursday:
7:00 AM to 8:00 PM
Friday:
7:00 AM to 8:00 PM
Saturday:
7:00 AM to 12:00 PM
Sunday:
7:00 AM to 12:00 PM
(Please call to confirm)
  • Free Estimates

Credentials

In Business Since: 1980
State Licensing
Trade: Home Improvement Contractor
License #: 13VH07733700
Expiration: 03-31-2020
Green Certifications
  • Energy Auditors - RESNET Accredited Rater Training Provider
  • NWFA Green Standard
Insurance
Type: Worker's Compensation
Amount: $0
Expiration: 08-09-2019
Awards
  • Home Advisor Elite Service
  • Home Advisor Top Rated
  • Home Advisor Certified Approved
  • Home Advisor 3 years of Service
Screening
HomeAdvisor Screened. View Details

HomeAdvisor allows Service Professionals to post information about themselves and their business on their profile. HomeAdvisor does not review or verify the information or representations set forth in those profiles, as they are self-reported by the Service Professional.

HomeAdvisor verifies state-level licensing where applicable - note: some states require local or county level licensing and you should verify whether or not your pro is properly licensed.

Business Overview

Community Involvement

Presentations for the Westfield Y preschool class

Participated in Forked River school career day

How We Got Started

I chose to work in this industry because the enjoyment I get from working with all types of different wood and making floors look there absolute best .

We started in this industry in 2007.

We describe our business as Rooted in the community

 

Photos
Selecta Flooring, LLC


My Work
18 Projects
HomeAdvisor: The nation's largest network of screened and rated pros.

Ratings & Reviews
Selecta Flooring, LLC

Real feedback from real homeowners.
Learn more about this pro by reading the ratings and reviews below.
Write a Review
Showing 1-10 of 12
  Page 1 of 2
Sort by newest   Date ▼   Rating  
5.0   |  
Review by in Metuchen, NJ
Project: Refinish Wood Flooring
Scott, Patrick and the team were great. Great customer service and pricing was competive.
Was this review helpful?  
4.0   |  
Review by in Martinsville, NJ
Project: Refinish Wood Flooring
They did an excellent job in pulling up the carpet, sanding, and varnishing the two rooms. I think their prices seem high and I didnt like their requirement that 1/3 of the price had to be paid in advance, to be followed by another 1/3 to be paid when they arrive before actually doing anything. Hence, 2/3 of the contract had to be paid before any actual work was done. Also some scheduling snafus. But on balance they did do all they were supposed to do and the scheduling snafus didn't delay the project much. I plan to hire them again but will refuse to pay them the second 1/3 until they finished at least the first day's work.
Response by Selecta Flooring, LLC: Hi Phil, I am happy you are enjoying your newly finished floors. I can explain our payment schedule as it pertained to your particular job. Typically we only ask for a 10% deposit, in your case we had to purchase moldings and the special finish that you requested. So included in your initial deposit was the cost of the materials. The remaining balance was about $2,000 which we split into the next 2 payments. Most flooring jobs are 80% completed after the first day, often times once the stain color is chosen we won't see the homeowners again until the job is complete. We implemented a payment system that we feel works for our business, on the rare occasion our customers don't agree with the payment schedule we are more than willing to compromise as we did in your situation.
Was this review helpful?  
5.0   |  
Review by in Montclair, NJ
My husband and I, just bought our first home together and we wanted to have the floors stained to our tastes before moving in. Selecta Flooring was able to give us estimates based on photos & floor plan and even came the same day as our closing for the formal walk through. They started the very next day and it only took 4 days from start to finish. We love our new floors and would definitely recommend!
Response by Selecta Flooring, LLC: Thank you for the kind review, and congratulations on your new home!
Was this review helpful?  
5.0   |  
Review by in Short Hills, NJ
Good job overall. Scott is a great guy to deal with fair and honest. Can be a little too careful sometimes.
Response by Selecta Flooring, LLC: Thank you, I am glad you are happy and look forward to working with you on your next phase. Nothing wrong with being careful LOL!
Was this review helpful?  
5.0   |  
Review by in Westfield, NJ
Scott was very responsive, his team while on-location was very respectful of the home and were extremely clean during the project. Estimate was spot on, and were available during a timeline that worked well with my availability. I will definitely use them again!
Response by Selecta Flooring, LLC: Thank you, Good Luck with your new home!!
Was this review helpful?  
3.0   |  
Hired them based on recommendations and reviews. Their price was competitive. The job was a new hardwood floor in the kitchen, and repairs and sanding/refinishing living room/dining room. Give them a B for quality. It's mostly fine, but one area they said would sand out still shows some damage. Also the color, which to be fair, they said wouldn't be exactly the same as adjacent floors that were not redone, is actually fairly different. My issue with them is communication. They fell short in a few areas. Background: I work 5 minutes from my house, so I told them to call when they're on the way/ready to leave and I'd let them in/out. Out of the four visits, they only did this once or twice. The rest of the time, they'd call once they were there and have to wait for me. The first day, they left without calling and left my front and back doors unlocked. The foreman said "We usually have a lock box." This was never discussed before and I was frankly uncomfortable, as there were different workers there every day. I was told a couple of times that we could move back in a few hours after they finished, but when they actually finished, we were told to wait until the next day. So I said I wouldn't recommend them, but actually I'm not sure. I spent $3800 in this job.
Response by Selecta Flooring, LLC: Hi Lauren, Thank you for your honest critique. I definitely agree there was a miscommunication about the lock box. I always require a lock box to avoid the exact issues you have stated above. You were very adamant about being there and letting us in as you worked 5 min. away. I didn't want to press the issue which was my fault. When matching new finish to old finish it is very difficult to get a perfect match, we made a point to explain this and provided a sample for your approval. As for any pre-existing marks, we can do our best to sand them out but sometimes they do not fully go away. We are currently in the busy season, I have 2-3 vans on the road working daily and usually 1 van dedicated to coating the floors. So yes, you may see different team members during the different phases of the project. Thank you again for your insight , we will use it to refine our process to provide better service. Good Luck selling your home!
Was this review helpful?  
5.0   |  
Review by in Cranford, NJ
I chose Selecta to refinish my hardwood floors for a few reasons. They got back to me immediately, they had a fair, competitive quote, and most importantly, they agreed to move my heavy furniture. The work was done quickly with minimal dust and the results are excellent. I had the floor refinished in anticipation of selling our house. Due in part to the beautiful wood floors, we quickly received a full price offer.
Response by Selecta Flooring, LLC: We are happy to hear the floors enhanced your home and that you were able to get a great offer! We appreciate your business.

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful?  
5.0   |  
Review by in North Brunswick, NJ
Project: Refinish Wood Flooring
Awesome!! Great experience from start to finish. On time for the estimate, very fair price, on time for the actual service and they did a terrific job. Floors look spectacular and crew was very professional and neat. Left nothing to clean up and owner even came in for a final inspection. Would use again and recommend to anyone!

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful?  
4.0   |  
Review by in Springfield, NJ
I did re-finishing and repair of my old wood floor. They also stain floor molding for me, and rail, and did nice saddles-transition between different floor. But they did not do shoe molding for me, also recommended to me. My question is if you do floor refinishing, why don't you do shoe molding also to provide full service regarding the floors to the customer?
Response by Selecta Flooring, LLC: We do install shoe moldings. However, installing shoe molding is not a part of a typical sanding service. Her contractor was supposed to install the shoe molding, he did not. Shoe molding was never discussed as part of our work order. When the contractor abandoned the project, she called us to provide an estimate to come back and install the moldings. I tried to work it out with her to just cover my costs. I felt this was a fair offer, but ultimately we could not agree on the price.
Was this review helpful?  
5.0   |  
Review by in West Orange, NJ
They where on time and went above and beyond to make sure the floorswhere done when they said. They spent time color swatchi g the floor till i found what i wanted and kept in touch via email text or calls every step of the way to keep me updated. With all the nightmares you hear when hiring ppl for a job, I was afraid that as a first timer my eexperience was wondering
Response by Selecta Flooring, LLC: Thanks so Much Anna, we truly appreciate the kind words and also are so glad we made your first experience smooth as can be ... =)

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful?  
Showing 1-10 of 12
  Page 1 of 2

Seal of Approval

What is the screening process that Service Professionals go through in order to become members of the HomeAdvisor network?

  1. Verify Trade License
    HomeAdvisor checks to see if the business carries the appropriate state-level license.
  2. Verify Insurance
    As a part of our screening process, we encourage professionals to carry general liability insurance. We require coverage for hundreds of services.
  3. Verification of State Business Filings
    For business types that require a Secretary of State filing, we confirm that the business is in good standing in the state in which it is located.
  4. Criminal Records Search
    HomeAdvisor uses 3rd party data sources to conduct a criminal search for any relevant criminal activity associated with the owner/principal of the business.
  5. Sex Offender Search
    We confirm that the owner/principal is not listed on the official state Sex Offender web site in the state in which the owner/principal of the company is located.
  6. Bankruptcy Search
    We use 3rd party data sources to check the history of the principal/owner of the business for bankruptcy filings by or against them.
  7. Legal Search for Civil Judgments
    We use 3rd party data sources to check the principal/owner of the business for state level civil legal judgments entered against them.
  8. Liens Search
    We use 3rd party data sources to check the principal/owner of the business for liens placed against them.
  9. Identity Verification (SSN)
    HomeAdvisor verifies the social security number(s) of the owner/principal for identity check purposes. This check applies primarily to smaller business entities.
  10. Identity Verification (Reverse Phone Lookup)
    We conduct a reverse business phone lookup to identify records matching the phone number information provided by the business.



NOTE: Member service professional information confirmed as described above may change or expire over time; while HomeAdvisor attempts to maintain accurate and up-to-date information, and confirms changes when notified, we cannot guarantee that profile and screening information is accurate. Therefore, we recommend that before working with a service professional you verify that information presented is still current and/or acceptable to you.
Please see HomeAdvisor's Terms and Conditions for a full description of how we screen Service Professionals

**Only for U.S. service professionals

Final Step - Confirm Your Appointment:

Confirm your appointment with on , - Change


Required
 
Required
Required
Required