HomeAdvisor screened and approved seal

HomeAdvisor Screened & Approved

This service professional has passed the HomeAdvisor screening process.

Learn about our screening process
Learn about our screening process

36 Years In Business

Company Details

  • Verified Licenses

Contact

711 E Main St
Bridgewater Township, NJ 08807
http://www.skydell.com

Hours

  • Mon: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
  • Tue: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
  • Wed: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
  • Thu: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
  • Fri: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
  • Sat: Closed
  • Sun: Closed
View All Details & Credentials

Achievements

Service Details

  • Residential Work
  • Small Jobs Welcome

Areas of Expertise

  • Kitchen and Bathroom Remodeling
View All Offerings and Cities Served

Cost Information

  • Free Estimates
  • Warranty Offered

Ratings

4.5
89 Verified Reviews
  • 5
    66
  • 4
    12
  • 3
    7
  • 2
    2
  • 1
    2
Showing 1-10 of 89 results
5.0 Jay V. Cranford, NJ
1/19/2024

Everything from initial meeting with Richard and than his design team, and project manager Todd, they were on top of everything. They let us know about every detail of job, each day we knew what was done, and what will be done the next day.

5.0 Erin S. Hillsborough, NJ
12/24/2023

Our experience with Skydell Contracting for our partial kitchen renovation was excellentâ ¦ Absolutely top-notch! We needed a new sink, lower cabinets and countertop in our original 1953 kitchen, which had been custom-built and included features like unique, irreplaceable wall tiling that we wanted to retain and protect. There was no pressure to increase the scope of our project, and the Skydell team was totally understanding and accommodating of our needs. We met with Devon a few times to discuss and design the job, both at our home and in the Skydell office. She explained everything in detail and patiently answered our many questions, helping us to get the most out of our budget and offering insightful suggestions. One thing we were concerned about was the effect a lengthy renovation project might have on our senior rescue dog, Jacques, but Skydell was on top of that, too! Our project manager, Brian, was an absolute giftâ ¦ He listened to all our concerns and answered all our questions at our pre-construction meeting, and worked to ensure the fewest number of people would be in the house at any given time to reduce the stress on Jacques (and us, too!). He always made sure we knew who would be coming to the house and when, kept us apprised of any changes or developments, and worked with us whenever we needed to take our furry friend out, feed him, etc. Brian was even so thoughtful as to ask if Jacques would be upset by certain sounds, like a loud nail gun, so that we could take him outside or to another area of the house if needed. We could not have asked for a better project manager! Brian did a lot of the work himself, especially the rather delicate removal of our original bottom cabinets while protecting the original tile work. He came up with some creative solutions for our small mid-century kitchen space. Since we had decided we wanted to keep our original upper cabinets, we opted to have them refinished, and Skydellâ s painter, Adrian, did an absolutely gorgeous job. The cabinets look brand-new! Overall, the entire project was done on schedule, the work is excellent quality, and we are very, very happy! Weâ ve already recommended Skydell to a few colleagues and will absolutely continue to do so. A huge thank-you to everyone at Skydell! Erin, Kathleen and Jacques Suydam

5.0 Shekar R. Hillsborough, NJ
10/9/2023

Overall a great experience. Friendly, understanding and accommodating and high quality work and most of all timely and within budget

5.0 Al S. Belle Mead, NJ
12/11/2022

Quality project

5.0 John B. Basking Ridge, NJ
9/7/2022

Very pleased with the results

5.0 James S. Somerville, NJ
6/18/2022

This kind of work is costly but the work was top notch. The communication was excellent and it was worth the expense

5.0 Uri H. Bridgewater, NJ
11/14/2021

Excellent service, advice, and quality work. Ken was terrific and shepherded the project along as needed Thanks!!!!

5.0 Alice G. Somerville, NJ
11/1/2021

Skydell Contracting completely remodeled 3 bathrooms for me. From start to finish, they were a highly professional team and extremely easy to work with. After looking over the site, Richard helped me navigate the design process, which would have been impossible for me on my own. He talked me through the choices to make in a structured way with enough options at each step so that I was happy with the outcome. Henry, the project manager, reviewed the entire agreed-upon scope of work before the start to make sure that we had the same understanding of what was to happen. He organized the work of all of the needed sub-contractors in a smooth way, and always checked in to make sure that they had done a quality job. I always understood what was happening next. There were no headaches for me to deal with at all. The end result is just lovely. I would recommend Skydell to anyone considering this type of remodeling project.

5.0 Sangeetha G. Bridgewater, NJ
8/10/2021

It was awesome working with Richard and his team. Richard is personally available for any questions. Henry was the project manager assigned to my project, he always gave me a heads up on the work being performed and keep me updated with all the work. Any questions or concerns I had were always promptly handled. They always told me that I should be happy with the work so they made sure all my concerns were taken care of. Great company to work with. Also, had a great experience with John and Kathryn. All in all a great team and excellent work!

2.0 Antonio G. Middlesex, NJ
5/20/2021

Awful, it started well but finish 2 months late. They sub-contract out to who ever they can find. One guy on my project they hired using some APP. Project manager ended up getting fired and an employee quit because as he said, Im sick and tired of fixing there F ups! They damaged my refrigerator, my dishwasher, my storm door and porch railing. Parts of the job was started before other were started and completed. Spackeled the walls and ceilings after the cabinets were installed. Had to always correct parts of the project because of timing errors. They could not wait to do the cabinets they said. Dont worry we will fix it later is a term I heard a lot. Dont worry you have a warranty too. Put the the new plywood down to match the old oak flooring in the 2 rooms and they were not even flush with each other. After new plywood was down, then they decide to cut out to run the vent for under the cabinet vent and 2 more hole in the new plywood to access the ducts to seal them up. Flooring was awful. I mean did this guy forget his glasses or what. Electrician was a joke, he came back 3 times to figure out why things werent working. Project manager said he is not finished yet. Why would you want to wire your switches and receptacles and not have them work the first time? Plumbing guy took 3 visits to stop the leaking drain, they came and said its not leaking, I sent them a video they said, it wasnt leaking when we were there. I ended fixing the leak myself. Plumbing guy was like awful when they moved the gas line he didnt even have tools to shut off the gas on the floor. I gave him a gas valve. They charged me extra because the plumbing was bad originally. Yea no valve and you used my valve to fix that issue! I wouldnt use them again if you payed me. Im upset it cost so much and got this crap job out of it. Cabinets are cheap and I like Home Depot cabinets better. They wan to make money. The new project manager was a good guy!

Response from Company:

We at Skydell Contracting strive very hard to have every one of our clients thrilled with their project. We were disappointed that we did not live up to our own expectations when it came to the Goncalves project. We will not refute each detail because that would make it look like we were making excuses or that the client did not have a reason to be unhappy. But there are a few issues that do need to be pointed out. Our subcontractors are not ** whoever they can find**, we vet all our subs and most have been with us for many years and we do not use an APP to find our partners. Our cabinets are not cheap and we will put our cabinets up against anything Home Depot sells any day. The project manager on the project was not fired, he decided to open his own business so moved on to bigger and better things and was immediately replaced with a new project manager that the homeowner himself called a **good guy**. I extended an offer to the homeowners to come into our design center to give us a firsthand account of the issues they encountered so we could make sure they never happen again and even offered to compensate them for their time but they never responded. Our one-year warranty stands and we will continue to service their project if needed. They are good people and deserved a better experience than we gave them. We are human and therefore prone to error.

Photos

Skydell Contracting, Inc.
12
Full First Floor Overhaul
11
Partial Kitchen Update
3
Powder Room Refresh
5
Hall Bathroom refresh
10
Functional Primary bath
10
Kitchen Overhall
7
Primary bath Addition
9
Large primary overhaul
7
Condo modern primary
8
Condo Kitchen Reno
11
Glamorous Kitchen
9
Complete kitchen flip
8
Primary Bath Refresh
8
Powder turned half bath
10
Builder Grade Upgrade
8
Transitional Hall Bath
8
Tuscan Inspired Powder RM
12
Farmhouse Kitchen
16
Kitchen for Entertaining
12
Kitchen Blowout

HomeAdvisor allows Service Professionals to post information about themselves and their business on their profile. HomeAdvisor does not review or verify the information representations set forth in those profiles as they are self-reported by the Service Professional.

To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Licensing Requirements page. Note that some states require local or county level licensing and you should verify whether or not your pro is properly licensed.

Seal of Approval

What is the screening process that Service Professionals go through in order to become members of the HomeAdvisor network?

  1. Verify Trade License
    HomeAdvisor checks to see if the business carries the appropriate state-level license.
  2. Verify Insurance
    As a part of our screening process, we encourage professionals to carry general liability insurance. We require coverage for hundreds of services.
  3. Verification of State Business Filings
    For business types that require a Secretary of State filing, we confirm that the business is in good standing in the state in which it is located.
  4. Criminal Records Search
    HomeAdvisor uses 3rd party data sources to conduct a criminal search for any relevant criminal activity associated with the owner/principal of the business.
  5. Sex Offender Search
    We confirm that the owner/principal is not listed on the official state Sex Offender web site in the state in which the owner/principal of the company is located.
  6. Bankruptcy Search
    We use 3rd party data sources to check the history of the principal/owner of the business for bankruptcy filings by or against them.
  7. Legal Search for Civil Judgments
    We use 3rd party data sources to check the principal/owner of the business for state level civil legal judgments entered against them.
  8. Liens Search
    We use 3rd party data sources to check the principal/owner of the business for liens placed against them.
  9. Identity Verification (SSN)
    HomeAdvisor verifies the social security number(s) of the owner/principal for identity check purposes. This check applies primarily to smaller business entities.
  10. Identity Verification (Reverse Phone Lookup)
    We conduct a reverse business phone lookup to identify records matching the phone number information provided by the business.



NOTE: Member service professional information confirmed as described above may change or expire over time; while HomeAdvisor attempts to maintain accurate and up-to-date information, and confirms changes when notified, we cannot guarantee that profile and screening information is accurate. Therefore, we recommend that before working with a service professional you verify that information presented is still current and/or acceptable to you.
Please see HomeAdvisor's Terms and Conditions for a full description of how we screen Service Professionals

**Only for U.S. service professionals

Final Step - Confirm Your Appointment:

Confirm your appointment with on , - Change


Required
Required
Required
Required
 
 
 

By clicking Confirm Appointment, you affirm you have read and agree to the HomeAdvisor Terms & Conditions, and you agree and authorize HomeAdvisor and its affiliates, and their networks of Service Professionals, to deliver marketing calls or texts using automated technology to the number you provided above regarding your project and other home services offers. Consent is not a condition of purchase.