Tom McDonald Contracting

4.19 |54 Verified Ratings
Write a Review

Tom McDonald Contracting

4.19 | 54 Verified Ratings
Write a Review

302-312-1435

1148 Pulaski Highway, Suite 151
Bear, DE 19701
Share
Your use of our services is governed by our Terms & Conditions

Profile
Tom McDonald Contracting


Here at Tom McDonald Contracting we are a professional team. Ready to handle you're Asphalt Paving/Maintenance project's. You can assure we are experts in everything we do. with many year's in service (over 40!) we have plenty of knowledge & recommendation's to get you're project completed. Just how you like it! With thousands of job's done in Delaware you just can't go wrong with our company. We Guarantee it!

Achievements

Learn how HomeAdvisor screens and approves their pros.

Service Area

  • Ocean View
  • Fenwick Island
  • Bethel
  • Milton
  • Lincoln
  • Millsboro
  • Frankford
  • Dagsboro
  • Laurel
  • Bethany Beach
  • Lewes
  • Georgetown
  • Seaford
  • Milford
  • Greenwood
  • Bridgeville
  • Nassau
  • Rehoboth Beach
  • Harbeson
  • Ellendale
  • See All >

Services Offered

Paving
  • Asphalt Paving Install

Areas of Expertise

  • Asphalt Paving
  • Sealcoating Asphalt

Product Brands Used

  • ALLMET
  • Allied Construction Industries
  • CertainTeed (Bufftech)
  • Dupont
  • Duro-Last
  • GAF
  • LeafGuard
  • Owens Corning

Quick Facts

Business Hours
Monday:
6:00 AM to 8:00 PM
Tuesday:
6:00 AM to 8:00 PM
Wednesday:
6:00 AM to 8:00 PM
Thursday:
6:00 AM to 8:00 PM
Friday:
6:00 AM to 8:00 PM
Saturday:
7:00 AM to 5:00 PM
(Please call to confirm)
  • Warranty Offered
  • Free Estimates
  • Credit Cards Accepted

Credentials

In Business Since: 1970
Insurance
Type: General Liability
Amount:
Expiration: 06-25-2020
Awards
  • Consistently rated one of the best contracting company's in DE
Screening
HomeAdvisor Screened. View Details

HomeAdvisor allows Service Professionals to post information about themselves and their business on their profile. HomeAdvisor does not review or verify the information or representations set forth in those profiles, as they are self-reported by the Service Professional.

HomeAdvisor verifies state-level licensing where applicable - note: some states require local or county level licensing and you should verify whether or not your pro is properly licensed.

Business Overview

Community Involvement

Volunteer at church

Shop/Eat local because we love to give back to our local Delaware community!

How We Got Started

I chose to work in this industry because We are experts at what we do.

We started in this industry in 1970.

We describe our business as Well established

 

Photos
Tom McDonald Contracting


My Work
2 Projects
HomeAdvisor: The nation's largest network of screened and rated pros.

Ratings & Reviews
Tom McDonald Contracting

Real feedback from real homeowners.
Learn more about this pro by reading the ratings and reviews below.
Write a Review
Showing 1-10 of 54
  Page 1 of 6
Sort by newest   Date ▼   Rating  
0.5   |  11-28-2018
Review by Stan G. in Selbyville, DE
Project: Install or Replace Seamless Metal Gutters
Home Addvisors gave this as the only company with no chance to compare bids. The roofing company who did work for me offered to do the job for 1/2 the cost (also recommended by Home Advisors). When I mentioned this to Tom McDonald, he stated that their method of installation would not work and his work was guaranteed. When the work was finished, he talked me into screens on several sides where leaves might clog the downspouts. The price was very high but I relented. Then he wanted to install all other gutters when he 1st stated I would not need screening in areas where there are no trees. He charges waaay too much for the short time it took to install the gutters and then even shorter time to install the screens. I feel taken and wonder what options to take next.
Response by Tom McDonald Contracting: Hello stan we are very sorry that you feel this way. But we feel as if that you're review is wrong. We had told you the price before hand. And waited about 1 week before we started the work. Which would have given you plenty of time to think about it. And we offered you gutter guard's because of the many tree's around your house. We have handled any issues you have contacted us about and continue to stand behind out work. As we do with all of our jobs. We was unaware that you felt this way. If there is anything we can do to help our change your mind let us know. Thanks
Was this review helpful?  
5.0   |  
Professional and courteous
Response by Tom McDonald Contracting: Thanks Ron!
Was this review helpful?  
4.5   |  
Review by in Rehoboth Beach, DE
Project: Seal Asphalt
Was this review helpful?  
5.0   |  
Review by in Millsboro, DE
Quality work. Installed lightening rod system the same day as our quote. Much cheaper than competitors.
Was this review helpful?  
3.5   |  
It was difficult to establish contact. Once I eventually did, he seemed to be prompt. I'm not convinced the cost wasn't too high.
Response by Tom McDonald Contracting: Hello Diane. We are sorry to hear that you're experience with us was not 5 star! But as we explained we do have a minimum charge for the work you wanted. And that is the price you met. And are record's show that we called you the same day you had requested us on HomeAdvisor. If there's anything we could do to make you more satisfied let us know. As we strive for complete customer satisfaction! Thanks!
Was this review helpful?  
5.0   |  
Great to work with
Was this review helpful?  
4.5   |  
very prompt in calling back and very quick to get the repairs done.
Was this review helpful?  
5.0   |  
Review by in Selbyville, DE
Project: Install or Replace Gutter Covers and Accessories
Very professional & easy to understand his installation process.
Response by Tom McDonald Contracting: Thank you! Pleasure working for you and You?re father!
Was this review helpful?  
4.0   |  
Review by in Rehoboth Beach, DE
Project: Seal Asphalt
Was VERY prompt in responding to my inquiry and in performing the work.
Was this review helpful?  
4.0   |  
Was this review helpful?  
Showing 1-10 of 54
  Page 1 of 6

Seal of Approval

What is the screening process that Service Professionals go through in order to become members of the HomeAdvisor network?

  1. Verify Trade License
    HomeAdvisor checks to see if the business carries the appropriate state-level license.
  2. Verify Insurance
    As a part of our screening process, we encourage professionals to carry general liability insurance. We require coverage for hundreds of services.
  3. Verification of State Business Filings
    For business types that require a Secretary of State filing, we confirm that the business is in good standing in the state in which it is located.
  4. Criminal Records Search
    HomeAdvisor uses 3rd party data sources to conduct a criminal search for any relevant criminal activity associated with the owner/principal of the business.
  5. Sex Offender Search
    We confirm that the owner/principal is not listed on the official state Sex Offender web site in the state in which the owner/principal of the company is located.
  6. Bankruptcy Search
    We use 3rd party data sources to check the history of the principal/owner of the business for bankruptcy filings by or against them.
  7. Legal Search for Civil Judgments
    We use 3rd party data sources to check the principal/owner of the business for state level civil legal judgments entered against them.
  8. Liens Search
    We use 3rd party data sources to check the principal/owner of the business for liens placed against them.
  9. Identity Verification (SSN)
    HomeAdvisor verifies the social security number(s) of the owner/principal for identity check purposes. This check applies primarily to smaller business entities.
  10. Identity Verification (Reverse Phone Lookup)
    We conduct a reverse business phone lookup to identify records matching the phone number information provided by the business.



NOTE: Member service professional information confirmed as described above may change or expire over time; while HomeAdvisor attempts to maintain accurate and up-to-date information, and confirms changes when notified, we cannot guarantee that profile and screening information is accurate. Therefore, we recommend that before working with a service professional you verify that information presented is still current and/or acceptable to you.
Please see HomeAdvisor's Terms and Conditions for a full description of how we screen Service Professionals

**Only for U.S. service professionals

Final Step - Confirm Your Appointment:

Confirm your appointment with on , - Change


Required
 
Required
Required
Required