Out of Network

Tom The Toolman Tyler, LLC

Find screened and approved pros

This professional is out of network

Let’s find you the best HomeAdvisor screened and approved professionals.

Learn more about HomeAdvisor’s screening and approval process.

11 Years In Business

Company Details

  • Verified Licenses

Is this your business? Claim it and provide customers with your most up-to-date information.

Contact

172 Nott Street
Wethersfield, CT 06109
https://tomthetoolmantyler.com/

Hours

  • Mon: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM
  • Tue: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM
  • Wed: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM
  • Thu: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM
  • Fri: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM
  • Sat: Closed
  • Sun: Closed
View All Details & Credentials

Service Details

  • Small Jobs Welcome

Areas of Expertise

  • Handyman
  • Interior and exterior remodeling
View All Offerings and Cities Served

Cost Information

  • Free Estimates

Ratings

4.2
21 Verified Reviews
  • 5
    16
  • 4
    1
  • 3
    1
  • 2
    0
  • 1
    3
Showing 1-10 of 21 results
5.0 Joe M. Wethersfield, CT
12/13/2022

I tried getting quotes from a few others to powerwash my house and the attached conservatory. Some never returned the call. Tom The Toolman got the job. His men did an excellent job. I recommend them.

0.50 Mercedes S. Wethersfield, CT
12/3/2022

I Contracted with Tom for our only bathroom. I made several mistakes including not getting a detailed quote. After a 37% down payment, they started the bathroom job on 5/23/22 it took 5 months to complete! Proper town permits were only obtained after I had to push to get them. The shower drain leaked terribly into the garage, had to be taken out replaced. Electrical work was improper had to be replaced. Wrong floor tile installed had to be taken out. Terrible inconvenience for several months. Now realize that the cost was too high. Tom has now decided that the job is done and things went nicely. I have a damaged sink he plans to place a mechanics lien on the house due to a remaining balance of $1,900 after paying him over $27,000 for a 6 ft x 9 ft bathroom. Stay away from Tom the Toolman Tyler. He does not know the business, is arrogant and is not customer orientated. Would not recommend him to anyone. Professional work expected for money spent. Not the case here. He also stated that the glass shower doors took time to get. Actually the doors by installed by another company. Door was the only project item that was on time correctly installed . Update: Mechanics lien is in favor of contractor. Tom stated that he would put a mechanics lien on our house for the remaining 19425. Paid Tom the Tyler Toolman except for unsigned change order. He responded that he would place the remaining $425 into collections. Paid the $425 just to be done with him. Stay away from doing business with him. He did not care that our only bathroom took 5 months. No apology. Not a customer orientated business nor run professionally.

5.0 John S. Wethersfield, CT
11/7/2022

Awesome walk in shower!! Tom, Matt, Jeremy, Brian and George did some great work tearing out my old steel tub and installing a new walk in shower. Looks like a a Las Vegas Spa!! Great price, service, quality and staff.

5.0 Janet G. Bloomfield, CT
8/27/2022

I am very pleased with the work that Tony and his crew did to replace the screens on my second floor porch. It was not an easy job because they had to create scaffolding to reach the third floor vaulted ceiling on the porch. Tony insisted that I was satisfied with the work they did before they left. I am extremely satisfied and Iâ d recommend then for any home repairs or improvement projects.

0.50 Natalia F. Wethersfield, CT
2/3/2021

I hired Tom to assemble a shed kit and also build a foundation for this kit. The shed requires a specifically sized base. Tom made a major mistake by building the base too big and will not own up to it. His defense is to blame me for not giving him the specifications which is a lie. So disappointed to be put in this position. This is not how a professional would handle a project or treat the customer. I provided the exact dimensions of the shed and forwarded a link to the shed information and manual. He says he did not receive it. So why start the job? Why not ask me? As a matter of fact, the handyman did ask me when he arrived. I told him the exact size and that I already provided the manual. Why start the job without obtaining that manual. A manual was also included with the kit. The first page states - Important-read this first- and goes on to say the shed has to be built on a base to the exact specifications. The base should have been rebuilt before constructing the shed. I was not informed that the base was not built according to the specs. What resulted was an improperly constructed shed sitting on top of an oversized base. What contractor starts a job without knowing the exact dimensions? And then blames the customer? Can you imagine? Tom should have discussed the dimensions with me before starting the job. I have hired an attorney. Filed a complaint with the Consumer Protection agency and Better Business Bureau. The next stop is Small Claims Court. Tom has only offered to reimburse me to patch up the job. The shed needs to be rebuilt and the base resized. I will need new doors and trim since they cut them. The siding and doors and roof do not fit properly together since they are sitting on top of the base and not overlapping the edge as they were designed to do. There are large gaps in the upper corners with random pieces of wood poorly fitted together. Besides looking terrible we have a serious water problem. Instead of making this right and rebuilding the shed, Tom wants to caulk around the bottom of the shed. I am owed the shed I paid for. It looks nothing like the pictures. Tom's comment to me was, it is a shed. This shed has cost me almost $7,000. I spoke with the manufacturer and they stated that the shed base was not built to the correct specifications. The doors and trim should not be cut. I was not informed they were doing this. They took it upon themselves to cause this damage. In addition, the overall quality of the job was extremely poor. One of the supporting foundation posts was cut straight through with a shim wedged it. The trim has random cuts in many places and is placed very sloppily. The roof does not sit evenly along the edges since the siding does not match up with the frame. When the handyman did not return I called the office and was told the job was finished and they were not coming back. Tom now claims that the post was temporary after first telling me it was acceptable. He is saying that they were coming back to fix this and I did not allow it. Not true. I thought they were coming back but was left high and dry after they closed the project. He has the timing of the events wrong. I then hired an attorney who told me not to let them return. I thought Tom was going to take ownership of this debacle but he is clearly protecting his pockets. Now I am left with a dysfunctional eyesore. Tom replied to the attorney and Consumer Protection Agency blaming me saying that I gave him an approximate size and did not provide the specifications. Can you imagine? That is a blatant lie. I have proof I provided the specs and the size was never approximate. Tom stated that some sheds need a specifically sized base while others can sit on a wider base. So how can he move forward with a project not knowing the specific dimensions? It is embarrassing for him to use that as an excuse. Check out complaints at CPA and BBB with pics.

Response from Company:

Hi Natalia, We are truly sorry you feel this way. We have completed everything on our agreement as far as you have allowed us to. To address the additional $840.00 charge, the work you wanted to add to the original proposal was clearly not stated on the proposal when you had reviewed, signed, and agreed to it hence, why we provided you with a separate proposal for that work. We truly stand by our customers and do our best to remedy any issues that our customers may have in relation to the proposal. If you had given us the opportunity, we would have done everything to the best of our ability to bring the project to your satisfaction. Furthermore, we were unable to remedy the situation due to you hiring another company. Again, we are truly sorry you feel this way and that you had this experience with our company but, there is nothing we can do at this point now that another company is involved.

0.50 Difin M. Rocky Hill, CT
7/3/2020

I contacted Tom the Toolman Tyler LLC// Kitchen and bathroom Remodeling Wethersfield and West Hartford CT company after reading and researching about their website reviews, reviews on other websites, and their pictures posted on their website. But I was totally wrong. I **believe** they have a marketing team that does all these fake reviews. The contractor came into my house and gave me a free estimate. Then, after the discussion with their administrative Assistant, I decided to hire them for the Guest bathroom remodeling work and painting in the living room area for our newly bought home. I had written a contract for all the work that needed to be done and the request for a work permit from the town as well. The contractor was a handyman and he did the entire work at my house. The bathroom remodeling was not finished as per the contract and bulges are everywhere on the drywall, its texture is not aligned to the existing wall, unfinished bumps out of proportion in the garage, unfinished sheetrock work with holes It is a very poor quality job. Also, he did update the lighting fixture and added a plug and thermostat in my living room, it was unprofessionally placed. The contractor painted my wall without patching any holes in the living area. Also, he placed the bathroom sink improperly (without taking proper measurements) and added an extra layer step of hardwood wood floor panel underneath which I am totally uncomfortable with. He did not use any metal drywall beads on the corner edges and it is not straight and looks ugly. Also, they agreed and signed to contract to take the work permit from the town, but they did not. They charged me an extra amount to take the permit as well. Then, I contacted the town and they confirmed they did not receive any recent requests for the town permit for starting the work (Including electrical and plumbing work) at my place. Also, I believe the person who did this job does not have a valid plumbing and electrical license. I do have all the pictures on my mobile with the timestamps (before and after work). After the contractor finished his work, I contacted the company owner and sent all the pictures to the owner (Tom Tyler) via email and he agreed to send another contractor, who is a Sheetrock professional. He understood the problem and he said **I cannot do any repairs which would come out well**, instead he could only replace the entire thing. Then Tom asked me to pay an additional amount to this guy on top of the initially quoted amount for replacing their unfinished poor quality job. I disagreed with him and I said I cannot pay any extra amount on the top of estimated. Then he sent another person to do the repair work (the Sales Manager in his team) but his work did not make any improvements or any progress. He worked 4 days in my house every day a couple of hours and he also left the job as unfinished. Their office is just a few miles away from my house and I requested multiple times for Tom to come and take a look at the work done by his workers. But he never showed up, and instead, he and his team members argued with me via email/phone that I am sending before pictures instead of finished work. Totally unprofessional behavior. I have all the pictures with the date and timestamp to show him. Finally, his tone and way of talking changed and they threatened me to pay the remaining (huge) balance amount. Now, I am going to file the complaints against them. They worked 25 days and it is a shoddy, poor, and ugly job. I have documented all their written emails with pictures. It was a very bad experience with Tom and his team. Beware, they are running this business with inexperienced people. Thoroughly unprofessional and perhaps, even fraudulent. (I believe).

Response from Company:

Mr. Mathew, We earnestly apologize that the work is not to your satisfaction. Furthermore, when asking for a bargain price and then, agreeing to it, you cannot expect work that costs more. As you have said, repairs cannot be done to your new expectations. Since you have not paid for the work done already, we are currently at a standstill. We would love to make you thrilled with the result, please call to arrange this. Thank you for the feedback but, we look forward to making this a success for you. Sincerely, Tom the Toolman Tyler LLC.

5.0 Joanne B. Bristol, CT
1/24/2020

I appreciate the work and how quickly they assisted me before a rain storm the next day.

4.0 Sandra V.
12/12/2019

I hired them to animal proof the underside of my house, also had him repair my clothes line, repair plywood under the family room, My issue is he told us the animal proofing was complete and then told us there is one more opening under the deck steps that remains open and he has not completed yet, maybe due to weather so still waiting on that completion. Then I will update my Rating and Review once that job is completed. *******************Update 01/20/2020 ***********The contractor came back and completed job and his work was very satisfactory!!

Response from Company:

Sandra, Thank you for your comments. We look forward to completing your project when the weather allows, and it would be great for you to update your review. Thanks and Merry Christmas.

5.0 Holly G. Canton, CT
11/11/2019

Called set up a time to check the project. Gave us an estimate that evening. Emailed back stating wanted them to do the job for us. Came that weekend and did the job. Great job and very neat! Thank you Tony and his helper!!! Will call them again!

4.5 Jason W. Manchester, CT
8/17/2019

The team helped tremendously and in a fast time under some tight circumstances.

Photos

Tom The Toolman Tyler, LLC
10
Custom Builds
9
Kitchens
12
Bathrooms
11
Tom the Toolman Tyler
2
Our Team
21
Our Services
8
Sunroom Rebuilt

HomeAdvisor allows Service Professionals to post information about themselves and their business on their profile. HomeAdvisor does not review or verify the information representations set forth in those profiles as they are self-reported by the Service Professional.

HomeAdvisor verifies state-level licensing where applicable - note: some states require local or county level licensing and you should verify whether or not your pro is properly licensed.
To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Licensing Requirements page.

Seal of Approval

What is the screening process that Service Professionals go through in order to become members of the HomeAdvisor network?

  1. Verify Trade License
    HomeAdvisor checks to see if the business carries the appropriate state-level license.
  2. Verify Insurance
    As a part of our screening process, we encourage professionals to carry general liability insurance. We require coverage for hundreds of services.
  3. Verification of State Business Filings
    For business types that require a Secretary of State filing, we confirm that the business is in good standing in the state in which it is located.
  4. Criminal Records Search
    HomeAdvisor uses 3rd party data sources to conduct a criminal search for any relevant criminal activity associated with the owner/principal of the business.
  5. Sex Offender Search
    We confirm that the owner/principal is not listed on the official state Sex Offender web site in the state in which the owner/principal of the company is located.
  6. Bankruptcy Search
    We use 3rd party data sources to check the history of the principal/owner of the business for bankruptcy filings by or against them.
  7. Legal Search for Civil Judgments
    We use 3rd party data sources to check the principal/owner of the business for state level civil legal judgments entered against them.
  8. Liens Search
    We use 3rd party data sources to check the principal/owner of the business for liens placed against them.
  9. Identity Verification (SSN)
    HomeAdvisor verifies the social security number(s) of the owner/principal for identity check purposes. This check applies primarily to smaller business entities.
  10. Identity Verification (Reverse Phone Lookup)
    We conduct a reverse business phone lookup to identify records matching the phone number information provided by the business.



NOTE: Member service professional information confirmed as described above may change or expire over time; while HomeAdvisor attempts to maintain accurate and up-to-date information, and confirms changes when notified, we cannot guarantee that profile and screening information is accurate. Therefore, we recommend that before working with a service professional you verify that information presented is still current and/or acceptable to you.
Please see HomeAdvisor's Terms and Conditions for a full description of how we screen Service Professionals

**Only for U.S. service professionals

Final Step - Confirm Your Appointment:

Confirm your appointment with on , - Change


Required
Required
Required
Required
 
 
 

By clicking Confirm Appointment, you affirm you have read and agree to the HomeAdvisor Terms & Conditions, and you agree and authorize HomeAdvisor and its affiliates, and their networks of Service Professionals, to deliver marketing calls or texts using automated technology to the number you provided above regarding your project and other home services offers. Consent is not a condition of purchase.