WB Dickenson

4.67 |81 Verified Ratings
Write a Review

WB Dickenson

4.67 | 81 Verified Ratings
Write a Review

860-643-4275

53 Commerce Way
South Windsor, CT 06074
 
Share
Your use of our services is governed by our Terms & Conditions

Profile
WB Dickenson


WB Dickenson, is a family-operated, full service plumbing, heating and remodeling company. We've been servicing the greater Hartford area since 1952. We specialize in residential and commercial service work and bathroom and kitchen remodeling. Our attention to detail and customer satisfaction is second to none. We will respond to you within the hour any time of day and can usually make it to your home the same day for smaller plumbing and heating jobs. Give us a call today for your free estimate on remodeling your bath or kitchen. Our in-house carpenters, tiling specialists, and plumbers do beautiful work. (See our albums for proof!)

Achievements

Learn how HomeAdvisor screens and approves their pros.

Service Area

  • West Hartford
  • Hartford
  • Manchester
  • Suffield
  • Ellington
  • South Windsor
  • Vernon Rockville
  • Tolland
  • Glastonbury
  • Broad Brook
  • South Glastonbury
  • Bolton
  • See All >

Services Offered

Additions & Remodeling
  • Basement Remodel
  • Bathroom Remodel
  • Kitchen Remodel
Designers & Decorators
  • Bathroom Designer
  • Kitchen Designer
Disability Services
  • Disability Remodel
Heating & Furnace Systems
Plumbing
  • Faucets, Fixtures and Pipe Repair
  • Water Heater Install
  • Water Heater Repair
  • Gas Piping
  • Bathtub Install or Replace
  • Shower Install or Replace
  • Walk In Bathtub Install or Replace
  • Water Main Install or Repair

Areas of Expertise

  • Boiler or Radiator Heating System - Install or Replace
  • Drain Clog or Blockage - Clear
  • Faucets, Fixtures and Pipes - Repair or Replace
  • Water Heater - Install or Replace
  • Water Main - Install, Replace or Repair

Product Brands Used

  • American Standard
  • Bradford White
  • Delta
  • Grohe
  • Kohler
  • Moen
  • Sterling
  • TOTO
  • Wolverine Brass, Inc.
  • A.O. Smith, Crown Boiler, Gerber
  • See All >

Quick Facts

Business Hours
Monday:
8:00 AM to 5:00 PM
Tuesday:
8:00 AM to 5:00 PM
Wednesday:
8:00 AM to 5:00 PM
Thursday:
8:00 AM to 5:00 PM
Friday:
8:00 AM to 5:00 PM
(Please call to confirm)
  • Small Jobs Welcome
  • Warranty Offered
  • Free Estimates
  • Warranty Description: 90 day warranty on service work, 1 year on remodeling work
  • Credit Cards Accepted

Credentials

In Business Since: 1952
State Licensing
Trade: S-03 Heating, Piping, Cooling
License #: HTG.0385603-S3
Expiration: 08-31-2019
Trade: Home Improvement
License #: HIC.0558702
Expiration: 11-30-2019
Trade: P-01 Plumbing
License #: PLM.0204770-P1
Expiration: 10-31-2019
Insurance
Type: General Liability
Amount: $0
Expiration: 09-07-2019
Screening
HomeAdvisor Screened. View Details

HomeAdvisor allows Service Professionals to post information about themselves and their business on their profile. HomeAdvisor does not review or verify the information or representations set forth in those profiles, as they are self-reported by the Service Professional.

HomeAdvisor verifies state-level licensing where applicable - note: some states require local or county level licensing and you should verify whether or not your pro is properly licensed.
 

Photos
WB Dickenson


My Work
5 Projects
Free Offer! Get 1 Comfort-Height Toilet free when contracting W.B. Dickenson for a full bathroom remodeling project valued over $8,000 Free Offer!
HomeAdvisor: The nation's largest network of screened and rated pros.

Ratings & Reviews
WB Dickenson

Real feedback from real homeowners.
Learn more about this pro by reading the ratings and reviews below.
Write a Review
Showing 1-10 of 81
  Page 1 of 9
Sort by newest   Date ▼   Rating  
5.0   |  
The service technicians (plumbers in this case) were very professional, pleasant and thorough. The overall response of W.B. Dickenson was great, from first contact through HomeAdvisor to job done was ~4hrs. Considering this was an emergency hot water heater replacement I couldn't have expected any better.
Was this review helpful?  
5.0   |  
I had a great experience with Alex and Tyler. WB Dickenson was on time and able to service my home right away. They also were able to order me special parts and installed them the same day they were delivered. I will be using this company in the future.
Was this review helpful?  
5.0   |  
Review by in Manchester, CT
I was directed to this company from home advisors, on a Saturday as my water heater started leaking! Out of 4 companies I called that said they were available 24/7 WB Dickenson was only company that called me back! They told me how to turn water off, how I could drain the tank, and that they could come out on the weekend and the extra cost or wait till Monday! On Monday they contacted me and let me know they were coming arrived on time and the 2 service men were outstanding! Highly recommend this company!!
Response by WB Dickenson: Thank you Wendy, I'm happy we were able to help you and I look forward to helping you with your needs in the future. I hope you have great hot water now!! And most importantly, no leaks!
Was this review helpful?  
5.0   |  
Review by in Manchester, CT
They are very neat and professional about cleaning up the area they are working in every day before they leave. They haul away all demolition trash in their own trucks. All of their subcontractors from painter to tile installer and sheetrocker were very professional and pleasant to work with. I highly recommend them.
Response by WB Dickenson: Thank you, Monique, for your business and your continued loyalty to our firm. We pride ourselves in making our customers happy! Enjoy your bathrooms!
Was this review helpful?  
1.0   |  
Unprofessional, condescending and overall horrible experience. Our boiler was installed 1 year ago and we came home to no heat during the first snowstorm of the year. Checked the boiler and it appeared to be an electrical problem. Called their emergency service and decided to have them come out the next morning. Got a call in the morning and was told there was nothing that they could do until next week. Tom (the owner) is very unprofessional and was screaming in the background of the call, saying extremely rude and degrading comments about me , that I could hear! Extremely unpleasant experience...avoid at all costs! Will be going elsewhere to find a solution as W.B Dickenson does not respect customers and does not value their trust.
Response by WB Dickenson: Caroline, I am very sorry that you felt like you had a bad experience with our company. You originally called us on an emergency basis stating that you had no heat on a new boiler that we installed over a year ago. We discussed the emergency rates, which you didn't want to pay, so you decided to wait. After which, you called the next business day expecting "warranty service". However we checked into the history, and found out that you weren't the original owner who paid us to install the boiler. You stated that you were the new home owner. [FYI: Boiler warranties expire with a transfer of ownership no matter which boiler it is] You also mentioned that your boyfriend is a licensed electrician and did something to the control and something "popped". In response to that. I stated that we are not liable for anything that somebody else touched and shorted out, but I would try and help by calling the electrician (All Service Electric) who originally wired the boiler almost 13 months ago. I was able to get in touch with Paul (the owner) who called you, then came to your house later that morning, installed a new transformer, diagnosed the heating system finding a bad zone valve head which originally caused the "no heat" problem. Paul assisted your boyfriend, got the heat going, explained what needed to be done, and only charged $125.00. In closing, I helped you out when you weren't even a customer of ours. The zone valve that went bad was part of the original heating system, not work from the original installation. At no time did any rude or personal degrading comments occur when you were on speaker phone with my receptionist. All I said was that your boyfriend shorted something out so he owns it. I believe a Thank You is deserved rather than your negative comments all over social media. Happy Holidays
Was this review helpful?  
5.0   |  
Review by in East Hartford, CT
Timely and quick repair.
Was this review helpful?  
5.0   |  
Outstanding service!!! Received a call from W.B. Dickenson shortly after contact through home advisor about 8pm last nigh. The gentleman I spoke with really listened to my concerns and made me feel confident about having his plumber come into my home. Alex called this morning to say he was on his way, arrived early, evaluated our situation and went straight to work. Great job, fair price and quality work. Would I use this company again??? YES!! Thanks, Kelly
Was this review helpful?  
4.0   |  
Liked the service but it happened in two visits when it could have happened in one visit. Will hire them again for futures projects.
Was this review helpful?  
5.0   |  
I appreciate them coming out when temperatures were so low to verify that our furnace was working. They adjusted the bill based on my concerns around the time they spent at the house.
Was this review helpful?  
5.0   |  
Review by in Manchester, CT
I needed a plumber urgently during a kitchen renovation. Within 10 minutes of my contacting Home Advisors, W.B. Dickenson contacted me and Ed arrived within 1 1/2 hours. His service was very professional, thorough and efficient. My contractor was also impressed. Very happy with my experience.
Was this review helpful?  
Showing 1-10 of 81
  Page 1 of 9

Seal of Approval

What is the screening process that Service Professionals go through in order to become members of the HomeAdvisor network?

  1. Verify Trade License
    HomeAdvisor checks to see if the business carries the appropriate state-level license.
  2. Verify Insurance
    As a part of our screening process, we encourage professionals to carry general liability insurance. We require coverage for hundreds of services.
  3. Verification of State Business Filings
    For business types that require a Secretary of State filing, we confirm that the business is in good standing in the state in which it is located.
  4. Criminal Records Search
    HomeAdvisor uses 3rd party data sources to conduct a criminal search for any relevant criminal activity associated with the owner/principal of the business.
  5. Sex Offender Search
    We confirm that the owner/principal is not listed on the official state Sex Offender web site in the state in which the owner/principal of the company is located.
  6. Bankruptcy Search
    We use 3rd party data sources to check the history of the principal/owner of the business for bankruptcy filings by or against them.
  7. Legal Search for Civil Judgments
    We use 3rd party data sources to check the principal/owner of the business for state level civil legal judgments entered against them.
  8. Liens Search
    We use 3rd party data sources to check the principal/owner of the business for liens placed against them.
  9. Identity Verification (SSN)
    HomeAdvisor verifies the social security number(s) of the owner/principal for identity check purposes. This check applies primarily to smaller business entities.
  10. Identity Verification (Reverse Phone Lookup)
    We conduct a reverse business phone lookup to identify records matching the phone number information provided by the business.



NOTE: Member service professional information confirmed as described above may change or expire over time; while HomeAdvisor attempts to maintain accurate and up-to-date information, and confirms changes when notified, we cannot guarantee that profile and screening information is accurate. Therefore, we recommend that before working with a service professional you verify that information presented is still current and/or acceptable to you.
Please see HomeAdvisor's Terms and Conditions for a full description of how we screen Service Professionals

**Only for U.S. service professionals

Final Step - Confirm Your Appointment:

Confirm your appointment with on , - Change


Required
 
Required
Required
Required